Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4059 (Wrap Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2932 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/03 11:37 AM
Last Updated:6/6/04 7:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
So, did it only take one hour? Love to see photos of your skirt, this looks like a good version of a wrap skirt.
9/22/03 3:33 PM
Barbara J said...
I have been thinking about a wrap skirt and this pattern solves problems I might have had, thanks for the good review.
9/23/03 5:07 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Georgene, I am a slow sewer so I always take way longer than the pattern says it should take. But this is so easy that anyone who knows what they're doing should get the skirt all zipped up and ready to wear in one hour, absolutely. I will get photos posted, just need batteries for the digital camera!
9/23/03 8:20 PM
Kim Winson said...
Hey Debtro, I have this pattern because I love wrap skirts too. Can you describe how you did the hidden ties? Thanks!
9/23/03 11:05 PM
cindyann said...
Debtro, Nice looking skirt. I love the design and the way you put the ties inside. Your skirt looks just like the pattern pic. Thanks for posting the pics.
1/18/04 12:49 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the safari print.What a lovely job you have made of it.
1/18/04 3:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice skirt and like the idea of hiding the ites. Neat that the fabric and pattern are alike
1/18/04 4:25 PM
Barbara J said...
Love your skirts and photos with ties, I have the pattern and bought great aqua/fuschia weave chambray with pieces of material stitched to the bottom, reads flowers. I'm one project behind and then will make it. Thanks for your recommendation too.
1/19/04 4:58 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Barbara, I hope you post your skirt too! I can't wait to see what that fabric will look like made up. It sounds fabulous.
1/19/04 1:37 PM
Barbara J said...
When it's made I'll post it but have to finish this tee and then alter skirt pattern as I discussed with Gigi.
1/20/04 5:18 AM
VROOM VROOM said...
You did an excellent job with the skirt. I don't really like wearing linings in skirts, but the wrap skirt really does benefit from having the lining. this is a wonderful idea!! I love the fabric that you selected, and the skirt looks well sewn.
1/21/04 7:35 AM
busy91 said...
I just made a wrap skirt (different pattern). I love the way yours came out, very classy. I love the fabric pattern too!
4/19/04 9:30 AM
Hilary said...
What a great review! Thats a great idea about snaps instead of ties. Somehow I missed this review the first time, and I like the twill tape ties as well. I have that exact same black embroidered linen in my stash (I think, or almost the same anyway :oP ). All of the skirts you made are very pretty. Thanks for reviewing!
6/7/04 8:24 AM
KitnRose said...
Your skirt looks lovely. Congrats on finding such a great pattern (and using it!). Thanks for the helpful tips you scattered throughout your review.
6/7/04 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8927 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by spankachut... on 2/9/14
Read Review

Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Hooded Dress Hooded Dress
photo
Review by spottedroo on 5/17/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us