SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4059 (Wrap Skirt)

Viewed 2933 times 
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo

 
 
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/03 11:37 AM
Last Updated:6/6/04 7:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
So, did it only take one hour? Love to see photos of your skirt, this looks like a good version of a wrap skirt.
9/22/03 3:33 PM
Barbara J said...
I have been thinking about a wrap skirt and this pattern solves problems I might have had, thanks for the good review.
9/23/03 5:07 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Georgene, I am a slow sewer so I always take way longer than the pattern says it should take. But this is so easy that anyone who knows what they're doing should get the skirt all zipped up and ready to wear in one hour, absolutely. I will get photos posted, just need batteries for the digital camera!
9/23/03 8:20 PM
Kim Winson said...
Hey Debtro, I have this pattern because I love wrap skirts too. Can you describe how you did the hidden ties? Thanks!
9/23/03 11:05 PM
cindyann said...
Debtro, Nice looking skirt. I love the design and the way you put the ties inside. Your skirt looks just like the pattern pic. Thanks for posting the pics.
1/18/04 12:49 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the safari print.What a lovely job you have made of it.
1/18/04 3:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice skirt and like the idea of hiding the ites. Neat that the fabric and pattern are alike
1/18/04 4:25 PM
Barbara J said...
Love your skirts and photos with ties, I have the pattern and bought great aqua/fuschia weave chambray with pieces of material stitched to the bottom, reads flowers. I'm one project behind and then will make it. Thanks for your recommendation too.
1/19/04 4:58 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Barbara, I hope you post your skirt too! I can't wait to see what that fabric will look like made up. It sounds fabulous.
1/19/04 1:37 PM
Barbara J said...
When it's made I'll post it but have to finish this tee and then alter skirt pattern as I discussed with Gigi.
1/20/04 5:18 AM
VROOM VROOM said...
You did an excellent job with the skirt. I don't really like wearing linings in skirts, but the wrap skirt really does benefit from having the lining. this is a wonderful idea!! I love the fabric that you selected, and the skirt looks well sewn.
1/21/04 7:35 AM
busy91 said...
I just made a wrap skirt (different pattern). I love the way yours came out, very classy. I love the fabric pattern too!
4/19/04 9:30 AM
Hilary said...
What a great review! Thats a great idea about snaps instead of ties. Somehow I missed this review the first time, and I like the twill tape ties as well. I have that exact same black embroidered linen in my stash (I think, or almost the same anyway :oP ). All of the skirts you made are very pretty. Thanks for reviewing!
6/7/04 8:24 AM
KitnRose said...
Your skirt looks lovely. Congrats on finding such a great pattern (and using it!). Thanks for the helpful tips you scattered throughout your review.
6/7/04 10:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6648

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review

Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now