SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-110B (Blouson Jacket)

Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/08 11:47 PM
Last Updated:11/23/08 11:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina Sonja said...
(How did I miss this before?) Very stylish! That huge check/plaid is so in right now.
12/9/08 2:20 AM
Erin Sooit said...
Love your jacket, I so glad you posted the review! It looks great on you.
12/2/08 7:28 PM
inkstain said...
I'm late to the party, but if I were still living in LA, I'd whip you out for a snack to show off this jacket. Do people still gawk at Hamburger Hamlet or do they still go to that Farmer's Market place down Sunset? Makes me homesick! Great job on the matching plaids, and a good choice for LA winters, bright and warm but not too heavy.
11/27/08 10:05 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW, what an awesome jacket! I LOVE it - beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
11/26/08 0:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job with this jacket.
11/24/08 3:25 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute jacket! I absolutely love your plaid! Great fit and great job at matching!
11/24/08 2:15 PM
piffle said...
OOOOOooooh. It's reviews liek this that make me wish I had signed up for BWOF earlier!
11/24/08 1:09 PM
senaSews said...
Cute jacket. Congrats on managing the plaids so well!
11/24/08 11:09 AM
nancy2001 said...
Eye catching jacket, beautifully made with a great fit. For anyone who's interested, I recently saw a similar bold check fabric in black and white wool/wool blend at my local Hancock's.
11/24/08 11:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what a great looking jacket. Your choice of fabric just makes this seem so comfy and warm, too.
11/24/08 10:52 AM
Diane E said...
Markie, this is a great jacket! You did a beautiful job and you look terrific in it. That WOF issue has some really fabulous patterns.
11/24/08 10:25 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this jacket! It's so chic and classic! You look marvelous in it; great job!
11/24/08 9:53 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, I love checks! Great work, Markie. It looks fantastic on you.
11/24/08 9:41 AM
Marji said...
That is so cute on you! Great match on the plaid - not easy on the bias I know.
11/24/08 9:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I"ve recently been burned with Burda instructions - when they give you dimension to cut, they give you the finished dimensions, leaving you to double them and add seam allowances on your own. Beware everyone :-)! Love your results though, and you're right about the pockets being adorable. But do they really hold enough?? Your enitre hand? No wallet sticking out?
11/24/08 9:29 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a cute jacket and soooo worth the effort!
11/24/08 9:18 AM
halleyscomet said...
So cute on you! Fantastic job!
11/24/08 8:55 AM
Fran G said...
A perfect description,"A piece you are happy to find in your closet!"...your jacket is wonderful! Love Burda jackets! Thanks for your review and helpful tips.
11/24/08 8:53 AM
Elke said...
Looks very cute on you and I love it with the jeans!
11/24/08 8:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute jacket! I love the plaid. Great job on matching it.
11/24/08 8:08 AM
mamalobb said...
I like the contrast of the yoke on straight grain and the body on the bias. There is a similar jacket also in 11-2008-119 BWOF and I'm on the hunt for a big plaid to duplicate one of these. It looks great.
11/24/08 7:45 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, such a cute style and you look great.
11/24/08 7:15 AM
MissCelie said...
That man was so NOT excited like we were. I love that place. I love this jacket! I love the bold plaid which I'm seeing everywhere this winter. Nice jacket!
11/24/08 7:12 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! it looks great on you and you did a fantastic job matching up all those checks!
11/24/08 6:15 AM
Vonnevo said...
Markie love your version of this fabulous jacket ! Thanks for sharing :)
11/24/08 4:00 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL job on this jacket! Your plaid-matching skills are UNSURPASSED. I'd suggest you edit out that part about you not having enough fabric to match the outer sleeve, because WE WOULD NEVER NOTICE IT OTHERWISE! You look so cute in this jacket! I REALLY like the back! :o)
11/24/08 1:30 AM
SusiM said...
Very cute! I love the bold check and the playful layout. Great job! Thanks for pointing out this style.
11/24/08 1:27 AM
CynthiaSue said...
omigosh, I just about died when I saw the thumbnail and knew EXACTLY which pattern this was! Do you know how long I've looked at this pattern. I just pulled it out again and wanted to make it so BADLY. You are the adorable petite person to wear it. It looks impeccable. I will be contacting you to find out more!
11/24/08 1:00 AM
Sadlesor said...
What a great looking jacket. Perfect with jeans.
11/24/08 0:35 AM
Immelu said...
That is an absolutely fantastic jacket!
11/24/08 0:20 AM
Nancywin said...
I love, love, love it Markie! And I really do think the band is the right width. It looks good. This looks really cute on you and your fabric is perfect. Hmmm.... I have some plaid in my stash that might work for this - Hah! Good job!
11/24/08 0:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

brerrabbit.com Vera Venus 1930s PJ Top

photo
by: sati5000

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info