SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-110B (Blouson Jacket)

Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/08 11:47 PM
Last Updated:11/23/08 11:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I love, love, love it Markie! And I really do think the band is the right width. It looks good. This looks really cute on you and your fabric is perfect. Hmmm.... I have some plaid in my stash that might work for this - Hah! Good job!
11/24/08 0:02 AM
Immelu said...
That is an absolutely fantastic jacket!
11/24/08 0:20 AM
Sadlesor said...
What a great looking jacket. Perfect with jeans.
11/24/08 0:35 AM
CynthiaSue said...
omigosh, I just about died when I saw the thumbnail and knew EXACTLY which pattern this was! Do you know how long I've looked at this pattern. I just pulled it out again and wanted to make it so BADLY. You are the adorable petite person to wear it. It looks impeccable. I will be contacting you to find out more!
11/24/08 1:00 AM
SusiM said...
Very cute! I love the bold check and the playful layout. Great job! Thanks for pointing out this style.
11/24/08 1:27 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL job on this jacket! Your plaid-matching skills are UNSURPASSED. I'd suggest you edit out that part about you not having enough fabric to match the outer sleeve, because WE WOULD NEVER NOTICE IT OTHERWISE! You look so cute in this jacket! I REALLY like the back! :o)
11/24/08 1:30 AM
Vonnevo said...
Markie love your version of this fabulous jacket ! Thanks for sharing :)
11/24/08 4:00 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! it looks great on you and you did a fantastic job matching up all those checks!
11/24/08 6:15 AM
MissCelie said...
That man was so NOT excited like we were. I love that place. I love this jacket! I love the bold plaid which I'm seeing everywhere this winter. Nice jacket!
11/24/08 7:12 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, such a cute style and you look great.
11/24/08 7:15 AM
mamalobb said...
I like the contrast of the yoke on straight grain and the body on the bias. There is a similar jacket also in 11-2008-119 BWOF and I'm on the hunt for a big plaid to duplicate one of these. It looks great.
11/24/08 7:45 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute jacket! I love the plaid. Great job on matching it.
11/24/08 8:08 AM
Elke said...
Looks very cute on you and I love it with the jeans!
11/24/08 8:44 AM
Fran G said...
A perfect description,"A piece you are happy to find in your closet!"...your jacket is wonderful! Love Burda jackets! Thanks for your review and helpful tips.
11/24/08 8:53 AM
halleyscomet said...
So cute on you! Fantastic job!
11/24/08 8:55 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a cute jacket and soooo worth the effort!
11/24/08 9:18 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I"ve recently been burned with Burda instructions - when they give you dimension to cut, they give you the finished dimensions, leaving you to double them and add seam allowances on your own. Beware everyone :-)! Love your results though, and you're right about the pockets being adorable. But do they really hold enough?? Your enitre hand? No wallet sticking out?
11/24/08 9:29 AM
Marji said...
That is so cute on you! Great match on the plaid - not easy on the bias I know.
11/24/08 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, I love checks! Great work, Markie. It looks fantastic on you.
11/24/08 9:41 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this jacket! It's so chic and classic! You look marvelous in it; great job!
11/24/08 9:53 AM
Diane E said...
Markie, this is a great jacket! You did a beautiful job and you look terrific in it. That WOF issue has some really fabulous patterns.
11/24/08 10:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what a great looking jacket. Your choice of fabric just makes this seem so comfy and warm, too.
11/24/08 10:52 AM
nancy2001 said...
Eye catching jacket, beautifully made with a great fit. For anyone who's interested, I recently saw a similar bold check fabric in black and white wool/wool blend at my local Hancock's.
11/24/08 11:06 AM
senaSews said...
Cute jacket. Congrats on managing the plaids so well!
11/24/08 11:09 AM
piffle said...
OOOOOooooh. It's reviews liek this that make me wish I had signed up for BWOF earlier!
11/24/08 1:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute jacket! I absolutely love your plaid! Great fit and great job at matching!
11/24/08 2:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job with this jacket.
11/24/08 3:25 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW, what an awesome jacket! I LOVE it - beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
11/26/08 0:27 AM
inkstain said...
I'm late to the party, but if I were still living in LA, I'd whip you out for a snack to show off this jacket. Do people still gawk at Hamburger Hamlet or do they still go to that Farmer's Market place down Sunset? Makes me homesick! Great job on the matching plaids, and a good choice for LA winters, bright and warm but not too heavy.
11/27/08 10:05 AM
Erin Sooit said...
Love your jacket, I so glad you posted the review! It looks great on you.
12/2/08 7:28 PM
Christina Sonja said...
(How did I miss this before?) Very stylish! That huge check/plaid is so in right now.
12/9/08 2:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6408

photo
by: globalgran

Review
StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now