Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2007-110B (Blouson Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 466 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/08 11:47 PM
Last Updated:11/23/08 11:47 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I love, love, love it Markie! And I really do think the band is the right width. It looks good. This looks really cute on you and your fabric is perfect. Hmmm.... I have some plaid in my stash that might work for this - Hah! Good job!
11/24/08 0:02 AM
Immelu said...
That is an absolutely fantastic jacket!
11/24/08 0:20 AM
Sadlesor said...
What a great looking jacket. Perfect with jeans.
11/24/08 0:35 AM
CynthiaSue said...
omigosh, I just about died when I saw the thumbnail and knew EXACTLY which pattern this was! Do you know how long I've looked at this pattern. I just pulled it out again and wanted to make it so BADLY. You are the adorable petite person to wear it. It looks impeccable. I will be contacting you to find out more!
11/24/08 1:00 AM
SusiM said...
Very cute! I love the bold check and the playful layout. Great job! Thanks for pointing out this style.
11/24/08 1:27 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL job on this jacket! Your plaid-matching skills are UNSURPASSED. I'd suggest you edit out that part about you not having enough fabric to match the outer sleeve, because WE WOULD NEVER NOTICE IT OTHERWISE! You look so cute in this jacket! I REALLY like the back! :o)
11/24/08 1:30 AM
Vonnevo said...
Markie love your version of this fabulous jacket ! Thanks for sharing :)
11/24/08 4:00 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! it looks great on you and you did a fantastic job matching up all those checks!
11/24/08 6:15 AM
MissCelie said...
That man was so NOT excited like we were. I love that place. I love this jacket! I love the bold plaid which I'm seeing everywhere this winter. Nice jacket!
11/24/08 7:12 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, such a cute style and you look great.
11/24/08 7:15 AM
mamalobb said...
I like the contrast of the yoke on straight grain and the body on the bias. There is a similar jacket also in 11-2008-119 BWOF and I'm on the hunt for a big plaid to duplicate one of these. It looks great.
11/24/08 7:45 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute jacket! I love the plaid. Great job on matching it.
11/24/08 8:08 AM
Elke said...
Looks very cute on you and I love it with the jeans!
11/24/08 8:44 AM
Fran G said...
A perfect description,"A piece you are happy to find in your closet!"...your jacket is wonderful! Love Burda jackets! Thanks for your review and helpful tips.
11/24/08 8:53 AM
halleyscomet said...
So cute on you! Fantastic job!
11/24/08 8:55 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a cute jacket and soooo worth the effort!
11/24/08 9:18 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I"ve recently been burned with Burda instructions - when they give you dimension to cut, they give you the finished dimensions, leaving you to double them and add seam allowances on your own. Beware everyone :-)! Love your results though, and you're right about the pockets being adorable. But do they really hold enough?? Your enitre hand? No wallet sticking out?
11/24/08 9:29 AM
Marji said...
That is so cute on you! Great match on the plaid - not easy on the bias I know.
11/24/08 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
Ooooh, I love checks! Great work, Markie. It looks fantastic on you.
11/24/08 9:41 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love this jacket! It's so chic and classic! You look marvelous in it; great job!
11/24/08 9:53 AM
Diane E said...
Markie, this is a great jacket! You did a beautiful job and you look terrific in it. That WOF issue has some really fabulous patterns.
11/24/08 10:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what a great looking jacket. Your choice of fabric just makes this seem so comfy and warm, too.
11/24/08 10:52 AM
nancy2001 said...
Eye catching jacket, beautifully made with a great fit. For anyone who's interested, I recently saw a similar bold check fabric in black and white wool/wool blend at my local Hancock's.
11/24/08 11:06 AM
senaSews said...
Cute jacket. Congrats on managing the plaids so well!
11/24/08 11:09 AM
piffle said...
OOOOOooooh. It's reviews liek this that make me wish I had signed up for BWOF earlier!
11/24/08 1:09 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute jacket! I absolutely love your plaid! Great fit and great job at matching!
11/24/08 2:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You did a great job with this jacket.
11/24/08 3:25 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW, what an awesome jacket! I LOVE it - beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
11/26/08 0:27 AM
inkstain said...
I'm late to the party, but if I were still living in LA, I'd whip you out for a snack to show off this jacket. Do people still gawk at Hamburger Hamlet or do they still go to that Farmer's Market place down Sunset? Makes me homesick! Great job on the matching plaids, and a good choice for LA winters, bright and warm but not too heavy.
11/27/08 10:05 AM
Erin Sooit said...
Love your jacket, I so glad you posted the review! It looks great on you.
12/2/08 7:28 PM
Christina Sonja said...
(How did I miss this before?) Very stylish! That huge check/plaid is so in right now.
12/9/08 2:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

McCall's 5527
photo
Review by SueV on 5/25/08
Read Review

Burda 6972 Pattern
Burda 6972 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5153 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 5153 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2006-111B coat #111b
photo
Review by LMH on 4/16/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us