SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2680 (Women's City Coat)

19 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 1:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A very nice looking coat. Thanks for all the tips in the review.
11/24/08 1:15 AM
Lori V said...
A very wonderful coat, I can see why Daisy likes it so much.
11/24/08 7:58 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Don't you just love finishing projects like this? You did a a great job. I can see why Daisy loves it!
11/24/08 8:09 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It's called stretch because if you read the fine print it's designed for mildly stretchy technical fabrics like the softshell Power Stretch from Malden Mills. You must have made it a size or 2 larger than what the pattern calls for, or the combination of woven fabric and adding a bulky underlining would have made it terminally too small.. People often forget that any extra thickness goes to the -inside- of a coat, so that extra thickness must be compensated for by a larger size. While I'm sorry to hear about the endless tweaking, the results look very good. I'm sure your daughter will be both one of the warmest and most stylish on campus! Good luck to both of you during these big changes..
11/24/08 9:27 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely coat! Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I think I need to add it to my stash. ;)
11/24/08 9:35 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty coat front and back! Great job on the bound buttonhole too.
11/24/08 9:35 AM
MissCelie said...
Awesome buttonholes. Yeah, those handsewing techniques are a beast but make a world of difference. How cool that your daughter likes you to sew for her. Plus, it's frigid out east. I know she must be loving it!
11/24/08 12:01 PM
michellep74 said...
Mmmmm...cashmere! Very cute fall coat! I love that vintage button that you used!
11/24/08 2:19 PM
Diane E said...
Markie, this is gorgeous, and you are one fabulous mom. Cashmere. Yum. What else needs be said?
11/24/08 2:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
All your hard work and "never say die" attitude proved to be worthwhile. Great great coat. Daisy is a lucky girl to have that coat. I have this pattern and need to break it out and make one for myself. I want a hooded one since it always rains in Washington.
11/26/08 0:15 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, Jalie has a coat pattern? I did not realize. While my end result is not as stunning as yours, I can totally relate to the coat sewing frustration. Your daughter is lucky!!! I think this will make a great trench coat too.
11/26/08 10:36 AM
Woolygal said...
Thanks for a great review.
12/2/08 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now