Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2680 (Women's City Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 620 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 1:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A very nice looking coat. Thanks for all the tips in the review.
11/24/08 1:15 AM
Lori V said...
A very wonderful coat, I can see why Daisy likes it so much.
11/24/08 7:58 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Don't you just love finishing projects like this? You did a a great job. I can see why Daisy loves it!
11/24/08 8:09 AM
fuzzygalore said...
It's called stretch because if you read the fine print it's designed for mildly stretchy technical fabrics like the softshell Power Stretch from Malden Mills. You must have made it a size or 2 larger than what the pattern calls for, or the combination of woven fabric and adding a bulky underlining would have made it terminally too small.. People often forget that any extra thickness goes to the -inside- of a coat, so that extra thickness must be compensated for by a larger size. While I'm sorry to hear about the endless tweaking, the results look very good. I'm sure your daughter will be both one of the warmest and most stylish on campus! Good luck to both of you during these big changes..
11/24/08 9:27 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely coat! Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I think I need to add it to my stash. ;)
11/24/08 9:35 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty coat front and back! Great job on the bound buttonhole too.
11/24/08 9:35 AM
MissCelie said...
Awesome buttonholes. Yeah, those handsewing techniques are a beast but make a world of difference. How cool that your daughter likes you to sew for her. Plus, it's frigid out east. I know she must be loving it!
11/24/08 12:01 PM
michellep74 said...
Mmmmm...cashmere! Very cute fall coat! I love that vintage button that you used!
11/24/08 2:19 PM
Diane E said...
Markie, this is gorgeous, and you are one fabulous mom. Cashmere. Yum. What else needs be said?
11/24/08 2:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
All your hard work and "never say die" attitude proved to be worthwhile. Great great coat. Daisy is a lucky girl to have that coat. I have this pattern and need to break it out and make one for myself. I want a hooded one since it always rains in Washington.
11/26/08 0:15 AM
Deepika said...
Wow, Jalie has a coat pattern? I did not realize. While my end result is not as stunning as yours, I can totally relate to the coat sewing frustration. Your daughter is lucky!!! I think this will make a great trench coat too.
11/26/08 10:36 AM
Woolygal said...
Thanks for a great review.
12/2/08 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 3672
photo
Review by Katharine ... on 1/7/10
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at CopyShop)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Tiki Val on 8/24/10
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4967 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us