SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-106 (white tuxedo pin-tucked shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 412 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 7:32 AM
Last Updated:11/24/08 7:36 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
nice! This caught my eye because I made this shirt, too and I am wearing it today. I like you idea for the contrasting collar. Yep, white shirts are a bit boring to sew, but get lots of wear. I used a poly/cotton blend and it stays pretty wrinkle-free. Cute!!!
12/15/08 12:22 PM
cindy-lou said...
OMG. This is a must-have. Yours is spectacular. Yet another thing to cue up on my list... no wonder everyone wants your closet!
12/3/08 2:06 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful shirt! Superb style and fit on you!
11/26/08 8:09 PM
Karen6790 said...
Look what you did! This is absolutely gorgeous, and I applaud your patience for all those pintucks. Love the contrast cuffs, too.
11/25/08 5:00 PM
LindsayT said...
The last time I made a white blouse with this kind of detailing was in college. You inspire me, Cidell. Well done.
11/25/08 2:57 PM
Deepika said...
Renee you are the Blouse queen. Seriously you have convinced me to try out a white shirt this year! This is so much better than anything I've seen in the stores. The fit is impeccable and so is the sewing. Like I said "Queen"!
11/25/08 11:39 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty shirt...especially like the tucks & contrast collar band. Fits you perfectly! I need to make one.
11/25/08 9:31 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - everyone should own a white blouse as lovely as this
11/25/08 8:45 AM
emo said...
I love this. I think I might need to go buy the Jan 2008 issue, which happened before I started subscribing!
11/25/08 8:29 AM
maggy said...
The shirt you made is beautiful. I love the cuffs, and you did a super job! Maggy
11/25/08 7:11 AM
Lori V said...
This is so imcredible, great job.
11/24/08 3:16 PM
Leora said...
Your contrast collar stand is brilliant!
11/24/08 3:14 PM
michellep74 said...
Such a pretty blouse! I, too, avoid plain white blouses. This one got lost in all of the great blouses in this issue, but I may need to make one of these.
11/24/08 1:47 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking shirt.
11/24/08 1:44 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell-A brilliant blouse! I made this last year, but I am going to make it again JUST LIKE YOURS with the contrast on the collar stand and cuffs. I have never heard of Shirt Tailor, but am going to look into it. How many people can say they got Egyptian cotton from Egypt? Beautiful.
11/24/08 12:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Totally gorgeous! EVERYONE needs at least one, and yours is so beautiful. Exquisite! Love the contrast details....
11/24/08 12:17 PM
persevering said...
Beautiful shirt - the style, fit & workmanship is great! White cotton is my favorite - yes it looks dirty unless it is immaculately clean & you need to iron, starch it & it wrinkles - but it is comfortable, lasts & lasts & is timeless. Hope you enjoy wearing it.
11/24/08 11:28 AM
janet said...
Beautiful shirt--and you look beautiful in it!!
11/24/08 11:03 AM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, beautiful job!!
11/24/08 10:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You can't beat a great fitting, fabulous feeling white shirt. I love the contrast cuffs and inside collar along with the tucks. Enjoy!
11/24/08 10:56 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful shirt. Great work on those tucks! Fit is superb. Love it!
11/24/08 10:28 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fabulous top. You've done it again.
11/24/08 10:27 AM
Catbird said...
You're going to turn me into a white shirt fan with this. It's never been my style but you look fantastic in your crisp white blouse. Great work!
11/24/08 10:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is spectacular. Wonderful job!!
11/24/08 10:04 AM
Kellie R. said...
Just lovely! There is nothing like a beautiful, crisp white shirt and this fits the bill perfectly!
11/24/08 9:47 AM
Nancywin said...
Looks great. I think Sigrid just made this same shirt as well.
11/24/08 9:35 AM
cindyann said...
Perfection!
11/24/08 9:23 AM
Amanda S. said...
I LOVE this blouse! You did a super job with the pleats, with everything.
11/24/08 9:21 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great shirt - I really like the contrast details.
11/24/08 9:01 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse looks awesome! I enjoyed reading your blog and seeing the construction pics. The contrast inside the sleeves and neckband are a very nice touch!
11/24/08 8:58 AM
JustTrina said...
excellent shirt, looks great on you, fabric is great! just around fabulous! I think this is the right white top you have been needing.
11/24/08 8:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great result, love your version with the contrast collar band.
11/24/08 8:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

More Info