SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-106 (white tuxedo pin-tucked shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 7:32 AM
Last Updated:11/24/08 7:36 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sigrid. said...
Great result, love your version with the contrast collar band.
11/24/08 8:23 AM
JustTrina said...
excellent shirt, looks great on you, fabric is great! just around fabulous! I think this is the right white top you have been needing.
11/24/08 8:51 AM
Christas said...
Your blouse looks awesome! I enjoyed reading your blog and seeing the construction pics. The contrast inside the sleeves and neckband are a very nice touch!
11/24/08 8:58 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great shirt - I really like the contrast details.
11/24/08 9:01 AM
Amanda S. said...
I LOVE this blouse! You did a super job with the pleats, with everything.
11/24/08 9:21 AM
cindyann said...
Perfection!
11/24/08 9:23 AM
Nancywin said...
Looks great. I think Sigrid just made this same shirt as well.
11/24/08 9:35 AM
Kellie R. said...
Just lovely! There is nothing like a beautiful, crisp white shirt and this fits the bill perfectly!
11/24/08 9:47 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is spectacular. Wonderful job!!
11/24/08 10:04 AM
Catbird said...
You're going to turn me into a white shirt fan with this. It's never been my style but you look fantastic in your crisp white blouse. Great work!
11/24/08 10:21 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fabulous top. You've done it again.
11/24/08 10:27 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful shirt. Great work on those tucks! Fit is superb. Love it!
11/24/08 10:28 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You can't beat a great fitting, fabulous feeling white shirt. I love the contrast cuffs and inside collar along with the tucks. Enjoy!
11/24/08 10:56 AM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, beautiful job!!
11/24/08 10:57 AM
janet said...
Beautiful shirt--and you look beautiful in it!!
11/24/08 11:03 AM
persevering said...
Beautiful shirt - the style, fit & workmanship is great! White cotton is my favorite - yes it looks dirty unless it is immaculately clean & you need to iron, starch it & it wrinkles - but it is comfortable, lasts & lasts & is timeless. Hope you enjoy wearing it.
11/24/08 11:28 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Totally gorgeous! EVERYONE needs at least one, and yours is so beautiful. Exquisite! Love the contrast details....
11/24/08 12:17 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell-A brilliant blouse! I made this last year, but I am going to make it again JUST LIKE YOURS with the contrast on the collar stand and cuffs. I have never heard of Shirt Tailor, but am going to look into it. How many people can say they got Egyptian cotton from Egypt? Beautiful.
11/24/08 12:21 PM
mastdenman said...
Great looking shirt.
11/24/08 1:44 PM
michellep74 said...
Such a pretty blouse! I, too, avoid plain white blouses. This one got lost in all of the great blouses in this issue, but I may need to make one of these.
11/24/08 1:47 PM
Leora said...
Your contrast collar stand is brilliant!
11/24/08 3:14 PM
Lori V said...
This is so imcredible, great job.
11/24/08 3:16 PM
maggy said...
The shirt you made is beautiful. I love the cuffs, and you did a super job! Maggy
11/25/08 7:11 AM
emo said...
I love this. I think I might need to go buy the Jan 2008 issue, which happened before I started subscribing!
11/25/08 8:29 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - everyone should own a white blouse as lovely as this
11/25/08 8:45 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty shirt...especially like the tucks & contrast collar band. Fits you perfectly! I need to make one.
11/25/08 9:31 AM
Deepika said...
Renee you are the Blouse queen. Seriously you have convinced me to try out a white shirt this year! This is so much better than anything I've seen in the stores. The fit is impeccable and so is the sewing. Like I said "Queen"!
11/25/08 11:39 AM
LindsayT said...
The last time I made a white blouse with this kind of detailing was in college. You inspire me, Cidell. Well done.
11/25/08 2:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Look what you did! This is absolutely gorgeous, and I applaud your patience for all those pintucks. Love the contrast cuffs, too.
11/25/08 5:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful shirt! Superb style and fit on you!
11/26/08 8:09 PM
cindy-lou said...
OMG. This is a must-have. Yours is spectacular. Yet another thing to cue up on my list... no wonder everyone wants your closet!
12/3/08 2:06 PM
Robin Denning said...
nice! This caught my eye because I made this shirt, too and I am wearing it today. I like you idea for the contrasting collar. Yep, white shirts are a bit boring to sew, but get lots of wear. I used a poly/cotton blend and it stays pretty wrinkle-free. Cute!!!
12/15/08 12:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

New Look 6069

photo
by: ericasisme

Review
Simplicity 8457

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now