Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2801 (Figure skating dress) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 503 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Skittl1321
photo
About Skittl1321star
IA USA
Member since: 9/9/07
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 10:40 AM
Last Updated:12/13/08 9:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rhoda bicycle said...
Great job! Was the metallic fabric difficult to work with? Did it curl up at the edges while you were trying to sew it?
11/24/08 10:48 AM
Skittl1321 said...
The metallic fabric wasn't too bad. It did curl a little bit, but it didn't roll up on itself- if that makes sense. We had the whole bolt, so cutting wasn't too bad, because we weren't trying to wrangle just a few yards. That might have made it more difficult, because when it was uncut it did want to roll at the ends. I did learn a lesson though- my "fabric" scissors do not extend to metallic fabric. I had to go get a new pair! (And the purple has some foiling on it- and we decided to leave it unhemmed, so it doesn't curl)
11/24/08 10:56 AM
JEF said...
Thanks for the review! This is next up for daughter. I just did Jalie 2674 and still need to write up the review. On this one, do you plan to finish the sleeves in anyway. Also, can you tell me, did you use the "natural" color sheer mesh from SpandexHouse? How does it look? I'm always trying to find a nude color for my daughter that actually looks nude and not too brown. She's Caucasian with a tanned look. Do you have any pictures of the dress on someone?
11/24/08 11:29 AM
Skittl1321 said...
We are not going to do any hemming on the sleeves- as you can't see it from the ice. Before our competition we will add elastic to the bottom of the sleeves to loop it around the finger, and possibly a row of sequins on the edge of the sleeve. I hope that the elastic loop will be added before Christmas show- but that's not my department! I only handled the dresses, hand sewing is someone else's job! (I did some of the hooks and eyes, but it hurt my hands so much I gave up). This was the natural mesh from Spandex house, and it's very sheer. I wouldn't want to use it on a stomach for the "bare midriff" look as you can see right through it. However, on sleeves, that means that the natural skin tone comes through pretty well. The fabric is actually pretty pale however. I don't have a picture of it on anyone just yet, but will post one as soon as I get them (probably mid December, once we wear them)
11/24/08 11:40 AM
JEF said...
Go for the sequins at the bottom of the sleeve!! I really think that will give a nice look. I'd probably also do them on the bottom of the skirt or hem with a rolled hem using a silver thread - that would be pretty subtle but I think tie in very nicely. I think I'll just order a yard of that natural mesh and see how it goes! Thanks for answering back. I am really looking forward to seeing a photo of them on. I'm going to add you as a favorite reviewer just so I remember to come back and check!
11/24/08 12:09 PM
SewLil said...
Wow. I love the metallic around the neck.
11/24/08 1:43 PM
j222b said...
Pretty. Too bad about all the problems with the pattern-sound like something that would happen to me.
11/24/08 7:22 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an undertaking. I'm glad you had some help with this. I'm sure the girls all appreciate your dedication and creativity.
11/24/08 8:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW!!! It's amazing to see everything all in one pic! The two of you accomplished so much and did a great job!
12/13/08 9:31 PM
Sandi S said...
These came out beautiful!
12/14/08 0:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I'm not sure I quite understand the back problem - the back bodice was smaller than the skirt? That'd be good - add a slight bit of ease where the skirt joins in, a built-in sway back adjustment which most women need (and probably skaters have more 'athletic butts' than the general population). Contrarily to popular belief on patternreview, seams that fit exactly don't necessarily mean good patternmaking :-). In fact, in patterns for knits they'd denote lazy, bad patternmaking, since so much can be added with a bit extra on one side or another. I'd be appaled if my back shoulder seam wasn't 1/2" long than my front one, for instance. So as always it's a good idea to try things the pattern's way first, before taking off on tedious time-consuming adjustments. That said, making 11 costumes was a whale of a job, and your results are totally smashing! Congratulations.
12/14/08 5:45 AM
JEF said...
Really pretty! I love the addition of the shiny belt - it really pulls it together. One for my daughter is all cut out - plan to sew it over the next few days. I think I must have been subconsciously influence by your pretty dresses - on Friday I made my daughter a leotard of purple with a silver collar and belt! Again - good job, these look great on your skaters.
12/14/08 8:13 AM
Skittl1321 said...
Fuzzygalore- the issue with the pattern back is that my muslin wasn't like that (in a different fabric), and the pattern pieces weren't like that. It was only when we cut on the purple fabric. Three different people did the cutting, and we all had the same result with the purple fabric. I have NO idea what happened, because SOME of them should have been right.
12/14/08 9:36 AM
sweetjam said...
Beautiful! I actually love the metallic fabric on the ice- it looks great! My only issue with the metallic fabric is the black backing that comes on some of it- it can be a bear to work with. Power mesh can sometimes be a challenge to because of how sheer it is. great job!
3/22/09 7:37 PM
ajorinscay said...
I am having an issue with the collar. It seems too long. I'm not sure what i did. I cut all the collar pieces on the fold so the back pieces have two double notches. I am not sure which one should line up with the back bodice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
6/30/13 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-104 Blouse
photo
Review by starryfish on 10/22/12
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3276
photo
Review by Learn To S... on 8/7/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us