SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2801 (Figure skating dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 509 times 
Reviewed by:Skittl1321
photo

 
 
About Skittl1321star
IA USA
Member since: 9/9/07
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/08 10:40 AM
Last Updated:12/13/08 9:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rhoda bicycle said...
Great job! Was the metallic fabric difficult to work with? Did it curl up at the edges while you were trying to sew it?
11/24/08 10:48 AM
Skittl1321 said...
The metallic fabric wasn't too bad. It did curl a little bit, but it didn't roll up on itself- if that makes sense. We had the whole bolt, so cutting wasn't too bad, because we weren't trying to wrangle just a few yards. That might have made it more difficult, because when it was uncut it did want to roll at the ends. I did learn a lesson though- my "fabric" scissors do not extend to metallic fabric. I had to go get a new pair! (And the purple has some foiling on it- and we decided to leave it unhemmed, so it doesn't curl)
11/24/08 10:56 AM
JEF said...
Thanks for the review! This is next up for daughter. I just did Jalie 2674 and still need to write up the review. On this one, do you plan to finish the sleeves in anyway. Also, can you tell me, did you use the "natural" color sheer mesh from SpandexHouse? How does it look? I'm always trying to find a nude color for my daughter that actually looks nude and not too brown. She's Caucasian with a tanned look. Do you have any pictures of the dress on someone?
11/24/08 11:29 AM
Skittl1321 said...
We are not going to do any hemming on the sleeves- as you can't see it from the ice. Before our competition we will add elastic to the bottom of the sleeves to loop it around the finger, and possibly a row of sequins on the edge of the sleeve. I hope that the elastic loop will be added before Christmas show- but that's not my department! I only handled the dresses, hand sewing is someone else's job! (I did some of the hooks and eyes, but it hurt my hands so much I gave up). This was the natural mesh from Spandex house, and it's very sheer. I wouldn't want to use it on a stomach for the "bare midriff" look as you can see right through it. However, on sleeves, that means that the natural skin tone comes through pretty well. The fabric is actually pretty pale however. I don't have a picture of it on anyone just yet, but will post one as soon as I get them (probably mid December, once we wear them)
11/24/08 11:40 AM
JEF said...
Go for the sequins at the bottom of the sleeve!! I really think that will give a nice look. I'd probably also do them on the bottom of the skirt or hem with a rolled hem using a silver thread - that would be pretty subtle but I think tie in very nicely. I think I'll just order a yard of that natural mesh and see how it goes! Thanks for answering back. I am really looking forward to seeing a photo of them on. I'm going to add you as a favorite reviewer just so I remember to come back and check!
11/24/08 12:09 PM
SewLil said...
Wow. I love the metallic around the neck.
11/24/08 1:43 PM
j222b said...
Pretty. Too bad about all the problems with the pattern-sound like something that would happen to me.
11/24/08 7:22 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What an undertaking. I'm glad you had some help with this. I'm sure the girls all appreciate your dedication and creativity.
11/24/08 8:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW!!! It's amazing to see everything all in one pic! The two of you accomplished so much and did a great job!
12/13/08 9:31 PM
Sandi S said...
These came out beautiful!
12/14/08 0:15 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I'm not sure I quite understand the back problem - the back bodice was smaller than the skirt? That'd be good - add a slight bit of ease where the skirt joins in, a built-in sway back adjustment which most women need (and probably skaters have more 'athletic butts' than the general population). Contrarily to popular belief on patternreview, seams that fit exactly don't necessarily mean good patternmaking :-). In fact, in patterns for knits they'd denote lazy, bad patternmaking, since so much can be added with a bit extra on one side or another. I'd be appaled if my back shoulder seam wasn't 1/2" long than my front one, for instance. So as always it's a good idea to try things the pattern's way first, before taking off on tedious time-consuming adjustments. That said, making 11 costumes was a whale of a job, and your results are totally smashing! Congratulations.
12/14/08 5:45 AM
JEF said...
Really pretty! I love the addition of the shiny belt - it really pulls it together. One for my daughter is all cut out - plan to sew it over the next few days. I think I must have been subconsciously influence by your pretty dresses - on Friday I made my daughter a leotard of purple with a silver collar and belt! Again - good job, these look great on your skaters.
12/14/08 8:13 AM
Skittl1321 said...
Fuzzygalore- the issue with the pattern back is that my muslin wasn't like that (in a different fabric), and the pattern pieces weren't like that. It was only when we cut on the purple fabric. Three different people did the cutting, and we all had the same result with the purple fabric. I have NO idea what happened, because SOME of them should have been right.
12/14/08 9:36 AM
sweetjam said...
Beautiful! I actually love the metallic fabric on the ice- it looks great! My only issue with the metallic fabric is the black backing that comes on some of it- it can be a bear to work with. Power mesh can sometimes be a challenge to because of how sheer it is. great job!
3/22/09 7:37 PM
ajorinscay said...
I am having an issue with the collar. It seems too long. I'm not sure what i did. I cut all the collar pieces on the fold so the back pieces have two double notches. I am not sure which one should line up with the back bodice. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
6/30/13 5:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now