SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7743 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TOP)

2 more reviews
Viewed 527 times 
Reviewed by:CShelley
photo

 
 
About CShelleystar
CT USA
Member since: 1/10/08
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/08 8:21 PM
Last Updated:11/28/08 6:07 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
Fab colors on you! Maybe you could add a back tie to help with the fitting. The is a must wear!
12/1/08 12:17 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love your top - the colors are fabulous on you! What a way to use that fabric that is 25 years old .... it is just wonderful. Don't give up on this pattern, it's a great fit for you and your current top is much better than anything you could find in RTW.
12/1/08 11:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks wonderful on you. Well done. The color is perfect.
11/30/08 12:58 PM
Sigrid. said...
Though all the trouble you had, this is to me a very wearable muslin. Looks very good on you.
11/29/08 3:14 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty - and I agree with the others that you cannot tell that you had issues with it. Great job.
11/29/08 12:57 PM
Nancy Anne said...
For a shirt that gave you so much trouble it really is cute, but I see what you mean about the left side flopping over. Can you just fold the other side down and make it look intentional?
11/28/08 7:32 PM
quathy said...
Really nice top! if you haven't read Fit For Real People, it offers a lot of help for fitting the patterns as you sew. I have to alter almost every part of a pattern to get it to fit the way I like - the patterns might fit with just a few alterations, but I am very picky about the way clothing feels as i wear it. I love what you said about remembering where and when you purchase fabric. I can even forget my own birthday, but I can read every one of my fabrics like a time capsule :)
11/28/08 7:03 PM
TC Sew What said...
Try taking a tuck thru the upper bodice. This will raise the bottom of the armhole up higher and can eliminate a gaping neckline in front. I am petite and I do this on most everything now. I have also had problems with a huge back neckline and done the same add a seam to fix it. Do the pattern companies think we are really that big in the back? Despite your problems it looks great. The 2nd one will fit perfect.
11/28/08 6:35 PM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that came out great!! love it
11/28/08 6:19 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty top! Looks beautiful on you!
11/28/08 5:14 PM
Christas said...
Oh sooo cute! Love it! The fabrics look beautiful together. I would never know the pattern gave you any trouble, it looks so nice!
11/28/08 4:22 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Those colors are fabulous on you, and the trim is PERFECT with it. The fit looks OK to me, although I do see what you mean about the armhole being too low, and the shoulders a bit wide. I generally start with an 8 (or even a 6, if available) for those reasons, and move out to a 12 at bust and below. Keep at it - you're more than halfway there, and the style is good on you.
11/28/08 1:13 PM
leapyfrog said...
You look terrific in this! Great job!
11/28/08 12:33 PM
Timmithea said...
I love this picture-it is so fallish! We haven't had much of a fall here in CA. Too hot. I think the fabric looks great on you and the top is fun.
11/28/08 10:23 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Beautiful! I think your version is much better than the pattern photos. You look marvelous! Great job.
11/27/08 10:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! I love the style and colour on you. I even like how the neckline flips open. :)
11/27/08 10:25 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is beautiful! Very flattering, and I love your fabric.
11/27/08 8:58 PM
Lori V said...
Nice top, the color is fantastic on you.
11/27/08 8:51 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Very nice, I love the colors on you. You can't tell from the pic that it gave you so much trouble :)
11/27/08 8:37 PM
beginagain said...
Nice top. I love those colors. I made this some years ago in microsuede and the neckline fell open on both sides. I liked that look better. Finally decided that the bell sleeves were too much trouble to wear and gave it away.
11/27/08 8:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now