SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7743 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TOP)

2 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:CShelley
photo

 
 
About CShelleystar
CT USA
Member since: 1/10/08
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/08 8:21 PM
Last Updated:11/28/08 6:07 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beginagain said...
Nice top. I love those colors. I made this some years ago in microsuede and the neckline fell open on both sides. I liked that look better. Finally decided that the bell sleeves were too much trouble to wear and gave it away.
11/27/08 8:29 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Very nice, I love the colors on you. You can't tell from the pic that it gave you so much trouble :)
11/27/08 8:37 PM
Lori V said...
Nice top, the color is fantastic on you.
11/27/08 8:51 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is beautiful! Very flattering, and I love your fabric.
11/27/08 8:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! I love the style and colour on you. I even like how the neckline flips open. :)
11/27/08 10:25 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Beautiful! I think your version is much better than the pattern photos. You look marvelous! Great job.
11/27/08 10:33 PM
Timmithea said...
I love this picture-it is so fallish! We haven't had much of a fall here in CA. Too hot. I think the fabric looks great on you and the top is fun.
11/28/08 10:23 AM
leapyfrog said...
You look terrific in this! Great job!
11/28/08 12:33 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Those colors are fabulous on you, and the trim is PERFECT with it. The fit looks OK to me, although I do see what you mean about the armhole being too low, and the shoulders a bit wide. I generally start with an 8 (or even a 6, if available) for those reasons, and move out to a 12 at bust and below. Keep at it - you're more than halfway there, and the style is good on you.
11/28/08 1:13 PM
Christas said...
Oh sooo cute! Love it! The fabrics look beautiful together. I would never know the pattern gave you any trouble, it looks so nice!
11/28/08 4:22 PM
sewtime said...
Very pretty top! Looks beautiful on you!
11/28/08 5:14 PM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that came out great!! love it
11/28/08 6:19 PM
TC Sew What said...
Try taking a tuck thru the upper bodice. This will raise the bottom of the armhole up higher and can eliminate a gaping neckline in front. I am petite and I do this on most everything now. I have also had problems with a huge back neckline and done the same add a seam to fix it. Do the pattern companies think we are really that big in the back? Despite your problems it looks great. The 2nd one will fit perfect.
11/28/08 6:35 PM
quathy said...
Really nice top! if you haven't read Fit For Real People, it offers a lot of help for fitting the patterns as you sew. I have to alter almost every part of a pattern to get it to fit the way I like - the patterns might fit with just a few alterations, but I am very picky about the way clothing feels as i wear it. I love what you said about remembering where and when you purchase fabric. I can even forget my own birthday, but I can read every one of my fabrics like a time capsule :)
11/28/08 7:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
For a shirt that gave you so much trouble it really is cute, but I see what you mean about the left side flopping over. Can you just fold the other side down and make it look intentional?
11/28/08 7:32 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty - and I agree with the others that you cannot tell that you had issues with it. Great job.
11/29/08 12:57 PM
Sigrid. said...
Though all the trouble you had, this is to me a very wearable muslin. Looks very good on you.
11/29/08 3:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I think this looks wonderful on you. Well done. The color is perfect.
11/30/08 12:58 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love your top - the colors are fabulous on you! What a way to use that fabric that is 25 years old .... it is just wonderful. Don't give up on this pattern, it's a great fit for you and your current top is much better than anything you could find in RTW.
12/1/08 11:54 AM
HLT said...
Fab colors on you! Maybe you could add a back tie to help with the fitting. The is a must wear!
12/1/08 12:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now