SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5244 (Muse)

10 more reviews
Viewed 442 times 
Reviewed by:im2melo4u
photo

 
 
About im2melo4ustar
NC USA
Member since: 9/30/07
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/08 3:09 PM
Last Updated:11/29/08 3:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
denisedh said...
I am also working on this same pattern finding it to be a pill! I also wanted to make it for the same reasons - cute collar and seemingly flattering style! Thanks so much for this review - I will not stress too much more as I finish it!
11/29/08 4:37 PM
sewtime said...
Sorry you didn't like the end result, it looks cute from the pictures!
11/29/08 5:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Actually, this top looks really nice on you! It has that designer/cutting edge look to it! Keep it!
11/29/08 9:56 PM
bananaoil said...
I think the style is good, the neckline is attractive on you but the fabric might not have enough drape. The back of the collar I can't explain, wrong size?
11/29/08 11:33 PM
CynthiaSue said...
but it looks so cute from what i can tell! so sorry you don't like it. i've been eyeing this pattern and i appreciate your review!
11/30/08 2:06 AM
whirrclunk said...
The dress looks good in the picture! I've just made it too, also had problems with the bulk in the collar. Yours looks far better than mine!!
11/30/08 9:00 AM
Ellenatlga said...
I'm scratching my head over this pattern also: hmmmm...if I use lighter weight fabric to cut down on bulk in the collar, will it be too flimsy as a dress? I had almost cut this out and then got "analysis paralysis" and put it away. You've inspired me to revisit this one though. It's a cute dress and yours is really nice.
11/30/08 10:08 AM
michellep74 said...
I loved the collar on this pattern, too. It's always a bummer when you put so much time into something and end up not liking it. Thanks for such an informative review/warning about this pattern!
11/30/08 11:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now