SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5244 (Muse)

11 more reviews
Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:im2melo4u
photo

 
 
About im2melo4ustar
NC USA
Member since: 9/30/07
Reviews: 62 (patterns: 60)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/29/08 3:09 PM
Last Updated:11/29/08 3:13 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
michellep74 said... (11/30/08 11:54 AM) Reply
I loved the collar on this pattern, too. It's always a bummer when you put so much time into something and end up not liking it. Thanks for such an informative review/warning about this pattern!
Ellenatlga said... (11/30/08 10:08 AM) Reply
I'm scratching my head over this pattern also: hmmmm...if I use lighter weight fabric to cut down on bulk in the collar, will it be too flimsy as a dress? I had almost cut this out and then got "analysis paralysis" and put it away. You've inspired me to revisit this one though. It's a cute dress and yours is really nice.
whirrclunk said... (11/30/08 9:00 AM) Reply
The dress looks good in the picture! I've just made it too, also had problems with the bulk in the collar. Yours looks far better than mine!!
CynthiaSue said... (11/30/08 2:06 AM) Reply
but it looks so cute from what i can tell! so sorry you don't like it. i've been eyeing this pattern and i appreciate your review!
bananaoil said... (11/29/08 11:33 PM) Reply
I think the style is good, the neckline is attractive on you but the fabric might not have enough drape. The back of the collar I can't explain, wrong size?
Heatherrique said... (11/29/08 9:56 PM) Reply
Actually, this top looks really nice on you! It has that designer/cutting edge look to it! Keep it!
sewtime said... (11/29/08 5:16 PM) Reply
Sorry you didn't like the end result, it looks cute from the pictures!
denisedh said... (11/29/08 4:37 PM) Reply
I am also working on this same pattern finding it to be a pill! I also wanted to make it for the same reasons - cute collar and seemingly flattering style! Thanks so much for this review - I will not stress too much more as I finish it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Japanese Pattern Books Dress A

photo
by: ElizabethA...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Cape D Elegance Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Cape D Elegance Paper Pattern

Pattern Details