Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2955 (Dress altered to a top) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 415 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:KateS
photo
About KateSstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/28/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/08 9:04 PM
Last Updated:12/28/08 0:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmom3 said...
It looks like you might benefit from bringing the armhole up just a bit, especially at the innermost curve. Otherwise, it looks like you've done a great job with the FBA. Not that I would know anything about that since, if anything, I need to do a SBA!
12/2/08 11:23 AM
rozzybabe said...
Try The Sewing Divas blog for FBA adjustment. I do have some information I printed for a FBA on this style of dress, but can't put my hands on it at the moment! I'll look through & see if I can find it, then send another comment, if that's permitted. Good Luck!!
12/2/08 10:16 PM
KateS said...
Thanks have made a muslin and will post a pic soon. Am not sure if the side dart is working properly. Rozzybabe will check out sewing divas!!! Sewmom3 will have a look at the armhole, may involve me staring at it for a good while trying to work it out!. I am new to this whole FBA thing (have just tried to ignore it up to now- with mixed results ) so all advice is greatly appreciated.
12/3/08 8:00 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for your detailed review from a fellow sewer who needs FBA also. I wonder if you would do best just creating your own fabric muslin by pin-fitting until you got the shape you want with the darts in the right spot? I also use the pivot-slide method with some success.
12/27/08 10:18 PM
KateS said...
Sewing for fun the original pattern only had a dart at the bottom and I wasn't sure how to prevent any extra fullness being transferred to the skirt/waist section, so thats why I didn't use the pivot slide method, but maybe I should have ...:)
12/28/08 2:47 AM
Diane333 said...
I think the top is very cute.
12/28/08 10:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2006-109 Pants
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 5/26/07
Read Review

McCalls 6954 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6954 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Hollyburn Skirt Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Hollyburn Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8721
photo
Review by miausiau on 8/9/12
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us