SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2926 (Dress)

Viewed 627 times 
Reviewed by:Kit2334
photo

 
 
About Kit2334
ON CANADA
Member since: 1/3/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 6:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Beautiful dress! I wish I could see the fabric up close!
12/2/08 6:59 PM
mars418 said...
Really nice and flattering dress. Welcome to PR!
12/2/08 8:00 PM
moushka said...
So glad to see a review of this dress. It looks lovely. Could you lighten the photos a bit so we could see the details better? What a great party dress!
12/2/08 8:12 PM
onehipgrammy said...
Great review, and the dress looks beautiful on you,it sounds a bit above my sewing level but.. I will have to check out the pattern anyway,thanks for the review.
12/2/08 9:24 PM
Christas said...
Congrats on your first review! Your dress is very pretty! You did a wonderful job on it.
12/2/08 9:48 PM
rozzybabe said...
Not an easy dress to sew! I'm not sure how you'd be able to shorten the length 6 inches, just by altering the bodice, but I have no knowledge of the pattern pieces! Perhaps changing the angle/placement of the asymmetrical bodice at the side seam might help. Just a thought! Still a great attempt, & congratulations on your first review!!
12/2/08 9:49 PM
jillnjosh said...
Thank you so much for posting the review. I had just put in a request! How did the ruching on the bodice work out? Did it cup your bodice the way the line drawing shows? E.g. was there enough fabric to go over all the curves? lol Do you think using a knit would change the fit any, versus using a woven? Your sleeves hit at about the same place as they do on the model, so I'd say the pattern understated the length of the sleeves. The dress looks really nice on you. Enjoy wearing it for the holidays.
12/3/08 3:38 AM
mchick said...
Delighted to see a review of this dress, I keep looking at it in the catalogue and wondering what it really looks like, and it looks lovely on you!
12/3/08 5:42 AM
Kit2334 said...
Thank you for all the lovely comments. If I can figure out how to post a better picture, I will. Just a note to let you know that I was happy with the pleating over the bust - but for the sake of those evaluting the pattern, I would say that the pleating leans to "plentiful" - it is not sparce by any means. I would hesitate to use a knit on this project because most of the bodice is cut on the bias - combined with the weight of the skirt - I think a knit fabric would stretch for miles. I also suspect that the bodic would stretch down, pulling the neckline - and you would need more than a slip to keep you covered! Please keep in mind, I haven't been working with knits for very long! JillnJosh - Hope this answers your question - HTH
12/3/08 8:54 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice job and great first review! Expecting many more from you.
12/3/08 9:21 AM
ButtonFaith said...
Thanks for this review and also for the comments above! I was happy to see this made up and I was even happier to find out that pleats in the bodice give ample room....an important fact for the lesser endowed such as myself!. Thanks again for the review!
12/3/08 11:20 AM
DorothyK said...
Congratulations on your first review. I've been contemplating making this dress, and your review will be very helpful as a reference. I think the dress looks great on you.
12/3/08 3:31 PM
fryman said...
Your dress is lovely and is flattering on you. Nice job! Did you take the 6" from the hem? Is there an indicator on the pattern pieces for length adjustment? I really like the length you decided upon and would not want to forego the "flair". I anticipate your response. Thanks!
12/4/08 9:40 AM
Kit2334 said...
Thank you for your comments. Regarding the length, I had the dress pinned up just below my knee - I serged the raw edge, folded and top-stitched. It worked great. If I was to try to shorten the torso of the pattern piece - I think I would level mark the waitline across the front and back pieces (both are cut on the bias) and shorten at that point. By shortening at the waistline by two inches, I could shorten from the bottom by only a few inches and save some of the flair. Might have to rework the curve of the hip since the curve of the hip would rise if you shorten in the waist area - maybe not. Hmmm..deserves some pondering before I'd go down that route.
12/4/08 2:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for this review. It's very timely as I pulled this pattern out of my stash this morning. I'd love to see a larger photo of your dress but unfortunately I need to login to do so. It looks lovely from the thumbnail though.
12/6/08 7:32 PM
Yvonski said...
Have just bought this pattern, am now looking forward to making it. Great review.
2/5/09 9:58 PM
peggyanna said...
I'm thinking of making this dress and couldn't access the picture on Shutterfly. Would love to see it!
5/14/09 11:40 AM
peggyanna said...
I'm really interested in this dress and am thinking of making it. Somehow I can't get your picture to go fullsize when I click on it. Can you provide any help so I can see how it looks on a real person up close! Thanks.
6/16/09 11:56 AM
wendalia said...
needs a pic you can acccess
5/14/10 1:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-123

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now