SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2008-133 (Men's hoodie)

2 more reviews
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/08 9:28 PM
Last Updated:12/8/08 9:21 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
That is a really nice looking jacket! thanks for the detailed photos~very helpful!
10/5/09 3:14 PM
kerrynw said...
Lovely jacket! I'm sure your son will LOVE it.
12/31/08 5:42 AM
Sandil said...
Looks great!! He'll love it, it was such cozy fabric... very stylish!
12/10/08 8:42 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice work Kay! Good idea on the facings to reduce bulk.
12/9/08 9:55 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great looking jacket. The details make all the difference, and you worked out some of the problems for us.
12/9/08 7:21 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks so warm! He looks so thrilled to be wearing it!
12/8/08 11:34 PM
crisford said...
I was about to go to work on this jacket! Thanks for the tips on all those facings! I think the main problem with facings is when you put the garment on, you then have to spend some time tucking the facings in place. Guys do not do that--half the time, they forget to check their collars. But you did very nice work on this. Your jacket looks beautiful.
12/8/08 11:40 AM
MissCelie said...
It's VERY nice looking. Great jacket!
12/8/08 11:12 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous
12/8/08 9:27 AM
Seaspur said...
What a fabulous looking hoodie!. Do you thing it would be possible to do away with the facings altogether?
12/7/08 3:40 PM
MichelleE said...
Your result looks great!! I think all the facings would be uncomfortable to wear, which defeats the purpose of a sweatshirt! Great workaround! Why does BWOF tend to complicate things, anyway? I mean seriously, who wants that much facing in a hoodie?!?
12/2/08 9:23 PM
Christas said...
Wow! You did a great job on this ... looks so nice!
12/2/08 5:49 PM
kellyt said...
WOW! That is a very stylish looking hoodie! I love the detailing on this, it really takes the hoodie concept up a notch! Your tips are great too. Thanks for the review. Sew on!
12/2/08 12:07 PM
Mahler said...
Oh la la, sounds like I would get mixed up assembling this ! The result is excellent though. All those facings gave you trouble but the final results is nice and sleek inside and outside.
12/2/08 10:33 AM
Johanna Lu said...
The jacket looks great and thank you for the great review. I plan to make this for my BF in the future, and your advice on eliminating the bulky facings was very helpful. I think this is a pretty common fault with Burda, they love adding huge facings to their their stuff.
12/2/08 8:07 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, Kay! That is one awesome jacket! Great tip on the facings!!!
12/2/08 7:48 AM
Fran G said...
This looks wonderful, Kay! Actually, it looks perfect! Great solution to the extra bulky facings. Thanks for the review. I am too selfish with my time to sew anything for my husband but I love to sew for my daughter!!!
12/2/08 7:28 AM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great job! I like your jacket very much!
12/2/08 3:14 AM
sewtime said...
Wow, you did a fantastic job!!
12/1/08 11:15 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, that is a lot of facings. Thanks for the review on this!
12/1/08 11:11 PM
michellep74 said...
I agree--the facings on this one were ridiculously bulky. I'm planning to make up the other sweatshirt/jacket out of this issue this winter, and I may follow your lead to find a workaround for the overzealous facingness with that one.
12/1/08 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
McCall's 8678

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review