Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2008-133 (Men's hoodie) - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 354 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/08 9:28 PM
Last Updated:12/8/08 9:21 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
I agree--the facings on this one were ridiculously bulky. I'm planning to make up the other sweatshirt/jacket out of this issue this winter, and I may follow your lead to find a workaround for the overzealous facingness with that one.
12/1/08 10:53 PM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, that is a lot of facings. Thanks for the review on this!
12/1/08 11:11 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, you did a fantastic job!!
12/1/08 11:15 PM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
Great job! I like your jacket very much!
12/2/08 3:14 AM
Fran G said...
This looks wonderful, Kay! Actually, it looks perfect! Great solution to the extra bulky facings. Thanks for the review. I am too selfish with my time to sew anything for my husband but I love to sew for my daughter!!!
12/2/08 7:28 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, Kay! That is one awesome jacket! Great tip on the facings!!!
12/2/08 7:48 AM
Johanna Lu said...
The jacket looks great and thank you for the great review. I plan to make this for my BF in the future, and your advice on eliminating the bulky facings was very helpful. I think this is a pretty common fault with Burda, they love adding huge facings to their their stuff.
12/2/08 8:07 AM
Mahler said...
Oh la la, sounds like I would get mixed up assembling this ! The result is excellent though. All those facings gave you trouble but the final results is nice and sleek inside and outside.
12/2/08 10:33 AM
kellyt said...
WOW! That is a very stylish looking hoodie! I love the detailing on this, it really takes the hoodie concept up a notch! Your tips are great too. Thanks for the review. Sew on!
12/2/08 12:07 PM
Christas said...
Wow! You did a great job on this ... looks so nice!
12/2/08 5:49 PM
MichelleE said...
Your result looks great!! I think all the facings would be uncomfortable to wear, which defeats the purpose of a sweatshirt! Great workaround! Why does BWOF tend to complicate things, anyway? I mean seriously, who wants that much facing in a hoodie?!?
12/2/08 9:23 PM
Seaspur said...
What a fabulous looking hoodie!. Do you thing it would be possible to do away with the facings altogether?
12/7/08 3:40 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous
12/8/08 9:27 AM
MissCelie said...
It's VERY nice looking. Great jacket!
12/8/08 11:12 AM
crisford said...
I was about to go to work on this jacket! Thanks for the tips on all those facings! I think the main problem with facings is when you put the garment on, you then have to spend some time tucking the facings in place. Guys do not do that--half the time, they forget to check their collars. But you did very nice work on this. Your jacket looks beautiful.
12/8/08 11:40 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks so warm! He looks so thrilled to be wearing it!
12/8/08 11:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great looking jacket. The details make all the difference, and you worked out some of the problems for us.
12/9/08 7:21 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice work Kay! Good idea on the facings to reduce bulk.
12/9/08 9:55 AM
Sandil said...
Looks great!! He'll love it, it was such cozy fabric... very stylish!
12/10/08 8:42 PM
kerrynw said...
Lovely jacket! I'm sure your son will LOVE it.
12/31/08 5:42 AM
Hilary said...
That is a really nice looking jacket! thanks for the detailed photos~very helpful!
10/5/09 3:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7514
photo
Review by divabuddha on 5/10/12
Read Review

New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3334 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by waikikimum on 7/4/11
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us