SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> Retro cardigan (Retro cardigan)

Viewed 381 times 
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 5:28 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This is stunning. Well done and beautiful.
12/4/08 10:05 AM
solosmocker said...
Very attractive top.
12/2/08 8:10 PM
sewtime said...
Love you cardigan! Very elegant.
12/2/08 7:00 PM
Nancy K said...
Great looking cardigan. I am making one right now from my tnt t shirt. Love your new haircut, tres chic!
12/2/08 5:15 PM
loohoo44 said...
this is so adorable!!! Lovely!!!
12/2/08 1:38 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous!
12/2/08 1:34 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! And Luckylibbet, the instructions for the knit top draft is from a pattern making class I took last year. So no book I am afraid. But the end result is similar to Burda's knit top patterns, such as 7941 but with a slightly lower sleeve cap. I tried the draft for close fitting knit tops in Winifred Aldrich book, but that didn't come out very well at all, at least not on me.
12/2/08 12:58 PM
kellyt said...
I think your cardagin came out great!! I am going to try that with my TNT top pattern. The appliqués make the sweater! Thanks for sharing your creativity!
12/2/08 12:02 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So pretty! And thanks for showing how you used the twill tape, I've seen lots of cardigans with that detail. What source did you use to draft your fitted knit block? You're such an inspiration to me!
12/2/08 11:51 AM
nglalala said...
That's so cute~! Thanks for the tips as well!
12/2/08 10:27 AM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! I really love the embellishment. The wool jersey is so classy, too. Great job. It looks wonderful on you.
12/2/08 10:23 AM
mastdenman said...
Great looking sweaters. I've looked at sweater sets and they are always super expensive. You are inspiring me to try this.
12/2/08 10:22 AM
nancy2001 said...
I love your cardigan. It fits you perfectly, and the appliques are very eye catching.
12/2/08 8:50 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow that is a really nice cardigan - you have achieved the perfect vintage fit too. I also love your new haircut.
12/2/08 8:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Very nice! I love the colour, the embellishments, everything! And your new haircut really suits you, too. :)
12/2/08 8:13 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty cardigan. The embellishment is perfect. Great job.
12/2/08 7:05 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is great, and very timely since I was thinking of what to do with my old tops and sweaters. Thank you so much for the review.
12/2/08 7:02 AM
shesflipped said...
You've created such a beautiful, elegant cardigan! The embellishment is lovely~it really does look vintage. I also enjoyed your review and found your steps in making a cardigan very helpful. Thank you for sharing your instructions, and your beautiful work of art!
12/2/08 6:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 9885 from 1980

photo
by: cowgirlcre...

Review
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

More Info