Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: Retro cardigan (Retro cardigan) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 377 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 5:28 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shesflipped said...
You've created such a beautiful, elegant cardigan! The embellishment is lovely~it really does look vintage. I also enjoyed your review and found your steps in making a cardigan very helpful. Thank you for sharing your instructions, and your beautiful work of art!
12/2/08 6:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is great, and very timely since I was thinking of what to do with my old tops and sweaters. Thank you so much for the review.
12/2/08 7:02 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty cardigan. The embellishment is perfect. Great job.
12/2/08 7:05 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Very nice! I love the colour, the embellishments, everything! And your new haircut really suits you, too. :)
12/2/08 8:13 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow that is a really nice cardigan - you have achieved the perfect vintage fit too. I also love your new haircut.
12/2/08 8:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
I love your cardigan. It fits you perfectly, and the appliques are very eye catching.
12/2/08 8:50 AM
mastdenman said...
Great looking sweaters. I've looked at sweater sets and they are always super expensive. You are inspiring me to try this.
12/2/08 10:22 AM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! I really love the embellishment. The wool jersey is so classy, too. Great job. It looks wonderful on you.
12/2/08 10:23 AM
nglalala said...
That's so cute~! Thanks for the tips as well!
12/2/08 10:27 AM
Luckylibbet said...
So pretty! And thanks for showing how you used the twill tape, I've seen lots of cardigans with that detail. What source did you use to draft your fitted knit block? You're such an inspiration to me!
12/2/08 11:51 AM
kellyt said...
I think your cardagin came out great!! I am going to try that with my TNT top pattern. The appliqués make the sweater! Thanks for sharing your creativity!
12/2/08 12:02 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! And Luckylibbet, the instructions for the knit top draft is from a pattern making class I took last year. So no book I am afraid. But the end result is similar to Burda's knit top patterns, such as 7941 but with a slightly lower sleeve cap. I tried the draft for close fitting knit tops in Winifred Aldrich book, but that didn't come out very well at all, at least not on me.
12/2/08 12:58 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous!
12/2/08 1:34 PM
loohoo44 said...
this is so adorable!!! Lovely!!!
12/2/08 1:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Great looking cardigan. I am making one right now from my tnt t shirt. Love your new haircut, tres chic!
12/2/08 5:15 PM
sewtime said...
Love you cardigan! Very elegant.
12/2/08 7:00 PM
solosmocker said...
Very attractive top.
12/2/08 8:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is stunning. Well done and beautiful.
12/4/08 10:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us