SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> Retro cardigan (Retro cardigan)

Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:Johanna Lu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Johanna Lustarstar
SWEDEN
Member since: 11/3/03
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/08 5:28 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shesflipped said...
You've created such a beautiful, elegant cardigan! The embellishment is lovely~it really does look vintage. I also enjoyed your review and found your steps in making a cardigan very helpful. Thank you for sharing your instructions, and your beautiful work of art!
12/2/08 6:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is great, and very timely since I was thinking of what to do with my old tops and sweaters. Thank you so much for the review.
12/2/08 7:02 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty cardigan. The embellishment is perfect. Great job.
12/2/08 7:05 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Very nice! I love the colour, the embellishments, everything! And your new haircut really suits you, too. :)
12/2/08 8:13 AM
Kay Y said...
Wow that is a really nice cardigan - you have achieved the perfect vintage fit too. I also love your new haircut.
12/2/08 8:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
I love your cardigan. It fits you perfectly, and the appliques are very eye catching.
12/2/08 8:50 AM
mastdenman said...
Great looking sweaters. I've looked at sweater sets and they are always super expensive. You are inspiring me to try this.
12/2/08 10:22 AM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! I really love the embellishment. The wool jersey is so classy, too. Great job. It looks wonderful on you.
12/2/08 10:23 AM
nglalala said...
That's so cute~! Thanks for the tips as well!
12/2/08 10:27 AM
Luckylibbet said...
So pretty! And thanks for showing how you used the twill tape, I've seen lots of cardigans with that detail. What source did you use to draft your fitted knit block? You're such an inspiration to me!
12/2/08 11:51 AM
kellyt said...
I think your cardagin came out great!! I am going to try that with my TNT top pattern. The appliqués make the sweater! Thanks for sharing your creativity!
12/2/08 12:02 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Thank you all for the nice comments! And Luckylibbet, the instructions for the knit top draft is from a pattern making class I took last year. So no book I am afraid. But the end result is similar to Burda's knit top patterns, such as 7941 but with a slightly lower sleeve cap. I tried the draft for close fitting knit tops in Winifred Aldrich book, but that didn't come out very well at all, at least not on me.
12/2/08 12:58 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous!
12/2/08 1:34 PM
loohoo44 said...
this is so adorable!!! Lovely!!!
12/2/08 1:38 PM
Nancy K said...
Great looking cardigan. I am making one right now from my tnt t shirt. Love your new haircut, tres chic!
12/2/08 5:15 PM
sewtime said...
Love you cardigan! Very elegant.
12/2/08 7:00 PM
solosmocker said...
Very attractive top.
12/2/08 8:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is stunning. Well done and beautiful.
12/4/08 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6628

photo
by: LGC

Review
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now