Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 125011-1000 (Equestrian Foxhunt Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 237 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/08 1:29 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
It looks great !!! I hope DD is suitably grateful .. sounds like a lot of work .. the fit on the model looks pretty good to me .. perhaps you've got a case of "I'm so over it 'cause I made it."
12/3/08 1:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I think the tailoring here is impeccable - perhaps you're being too hard on yourself? I love the yellow colour, too - I always think of bright red when I think of hunts so she's going to be a standout STAR in canary!
12/3/08 6:50 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
The vest is beautiful and not just because I love canary! I hope your DD gets to wear this.
12/3/08 7:41 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Bravo Bravo ! Beautiful. Step back and take a look, a little distance (time, energy, space) from an intense project always improves my opinion of the results. Vest looks fabulous! As for Dart Rotation, hustle off to the library and check for Peggy Sager's basic pattern drafting DVD. Thorough! and a very visual style of teaching. If it grabs you then buy it. You might also have quicker success with draping a bodice to get the fit on the DD. Lovely vest... love the color. Lucky Daughter!
12/3/08 8:30 AM
jewelsfashions said...
When I pulled up the gallery page I went right to yours immediately because the garment caught my eyes. Not only is it done beautifully but I love the yellow! I agree with others you are being way to hard on yourself. Job well done!!
12/3/08 8:41 AM
Christas said...
Beautifully sewn! Very nice!
12/3/08 8:55 AM
Peacock Chic said...
wow that is gorgeous!!! Love the color!
12/3/08 9:07 AM
LindsayT said...
I agree with Squirrellypoo, I think you are being hard on yourself. This vest is splendid!
12/3/08 9:17 AM
marec said...
Perfectly correct :-). Your DD will be wearing correct attire and knowing that her mom loves her! So nice!
12/3/08 9:19 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Welcome!! and this is amazing and probably so much better sewn than the catalog one!! look forward to seeing more of your stuff!!
12/3/08 10:28 AM
Teri said...
This is such an eye catching vest. I love the color and your tailoring looks great in the picture. I hope you are not being to hard on yourself. I know how expensive equestrian apparel is, I bet you saved a fortune!
12/3/08 11:23 AM
piffle said...
I know how it is to fuss and fuss with a pattern and still not have it turn out quite the way you wanted, but I have to say that this is very fetching. I'm sure your DD will be proud to wear it.
12/3/08 1:27 PM
bananaoil said...
Can't wait to see the frock coat! The vest looks good to me and I bet it will look good on your daughter when she's riding around on a horse!
12/3/08 11:17 PM
ChristineBR said...
Everything said previously and then some.
12/4/08 9:37 AM
Bernadette W said...
Your vest is amazing, just impeccable. You are way beyond your self-reported sewing level of Intermediate!!!! Same goes for your critique of this wonderful vest!
12/4/08 10:33 AM
Beek said...
This is gorgeous. Your daughter will look smashing while riding her horse!
12/4/08 4:27 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! Your vest looks AWESOME!! It is SOOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!
12/4/08 8:40 PM
nancy2001 said...
I think the vest looks terrific. Your daughter will be the belle of the hunt.
12/5/08 6:43 PM
Elle D said...
Wow, this is beyond gorgeous. Makes me want to take up hunting. Riding clothes are so beautifully tailored, this would be nice for work also. Did you blog this? I'd like to find out more about how you combined the patterns. I've got the Suitability vest, but not the others. Will have to look into them.
12/16/08 6:00 PM
SewClare said...
From the photo, it seems to me you're far too critical of your own work. It looks beautiful, and your daughter is very lucky to have such a talented and determined mother. My grandmother used to draft patterns for my mother and her sisters after going to high end dept. stores and seeing them! Such a talent.
1/26/09 9:08 AM
clothwear said...
looks gorgeous!
1/28/09 6:32 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh aren't you the clever girl! Well done!
3/21/12 3:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 2925 Vogue Wardrobe
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 6/14/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6704 Misses Shirts
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/2/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8311 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1323 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us