Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5432 (Delta Burke Plus Size) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2035 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:ShereeSews
photo
About ShereeSewsstar
MI USA
Member since: 5/12/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/03 6:39 PM
Last Updated:9/26/03 7:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Great combination of fabrics. This is a really striking top.
9/25/03 7:57 PM
PatM said...
thank you for the review. I purchased the pattern in 2000, as a possible mother of the bride outfit. I hav enever made it up because my sewing teacher said I was too short to wear the shaped hem. After reading your review I am thinkin about this as a more casual top. Thank you for the helpful modifications
9/25/03 8:10 PM
Julia Graham said...
Really pretty top!
9/25/03 8:27 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty top, Sheree. I really like your fabric choices.
9/25/03 9:13 PM
Mandolin82 said...
The top is beautiful. THanks for the additional comments about rayon. Your beautiful end result, combining wonderful fabric and extra details, was making me feel inadequate until I noticed your degrees. Now you just give me something to aspire to.
9/25/03 10:00 PM
mudcat said...
What a wonderful looking top. Very eye-catching and much more attractive than the fabrics on the pattern envelope.
9/25/03 10:12 PM
Sew it seams said...
This is really very pretty. The buttons on the sides are neat also.
9/25/03 10:19 PM
Georgene said...
Love the fabric combo Sheree. What do you pair it up with? Probably looks great with casual denim as well as wearing it more dressy.
9/26/03 0:30 AM
ShereeSews said...
Georgene, I have been wearing it with khaki color dress slacks. (just added that to the review)
9/26/03 7:05 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice. I like the buttons, and love the contrasting neckband. Did you just topstitch the facing in place?
9/26/03 8:31 AM
Janie Viers said...
I have made the top and dress. I made the top and dress from the same challis fabric and used no buttons. I made no alteration to the dress, as there were "ties" in the back to give more fit and the darts saved the garment from a dreadful droopy look. I got compliments everytime I wore it, even 4 years after it was made! The dress is super flattering to big busts and tummies....which I had plenty of when I made it. I have lost some weight, but, due to the cut of the outfit, can still wear it....I get the same number of compliments on my appearance as I did 30 pounds ago (I just inserted shoulder pads to give a lift!). If you find this pattern, buy it. The dress fit me better than anything else at that time and because the skirt hung from the dress and not my tummy, there was no depressing dip in the skirt. I got the look of a skirt and top with the convenience of a dress and the added bonus of a "safetly" net (when I lifted my arms the top revealed only.....more top!) I love your two tone version, will dig out the pattern and try that when I need a special dress for myself!
9/26/03 11:33 AM
KarenP said...
I love the design changes you made to the neckline - very inspiring!
9/26/03 2:49 PM
Sherril Miller said...
What a great idea to put the facing as a contrast on top. Your top is stunning. Thank you for sharing a plus-sized pattern on PR. We need more of us fluffy women to share patterns. I love to see what the size 6 crowd sews up, but I can rarely wear it! This one, I CAN.
9/26/03 7:40 PM
Mary in FL said...
Flattering to big tummies? Yay, I have another design to copy into PMB. When I finish it, in a couple of years LOL, I will post it here.
9/27/03 9:57 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sheree - your top is absolutely beautiful. Great combination of fabrics and colors!
9/27/03 2:28 PM
Tini said...
I really like the top and your review is really good too!
9/28/03 9:41 AM
els said...
Great top with the inspirational reverse facing.I love the colors.
9/29/03 2:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-132 Girls tunic
photo
Review by sandramary on 4/11/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 7500
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 5/12/07
Read Review

Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us