SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Won Ton Blouse (Won Ton Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1758 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/03 2:11 AM
Last Updated:9/27/03 2:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Ann you did it again, another great outfit. Beautiful fabric for the won ton blouse.
9/26/03 2:22 AM
jlg said...
Ann, that looks beautiful on you. You did a much better job than I was able to do with this pattern.
9/26/03 5:33 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very pretty! Great fabric for the pattern, even if it was !!! to sew!
9/26/03 7:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, when I saw that the WonTon had been reviewed I knew it would be by you! Another fabulous garment - I have been looking at this pattern for awhile.
9/26/03 7:24 AM
Skymom said...
Gorgeous, Ann. This is an interesting pattern--the neckline in particular (though obviously not a straightforward application) is really flattering.
9/26/03 7:30 AM
Georgene said...
Ann, I saw this pattern in an ad in Threads. It looks much better on you than their line drawing! Looks like it could be a very versatile pattern for you.
9/27/03 2:40 PM
KarmenG said...
Ann - Does the blouse feel good on? Sometimes those type of sleeves reduce arm movement; or the garment doesn't stay put on the shoulders - is you comfortable to wear?
9/27/03 6:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Karmeng, very comfortable. The sleeves are quite wide but are long enough so one's undergarments aren't exposed. I think because it is slightly fitted at the high hip/waist area it stays put nicely.
9/27/03 7:09 PM
Tee Jay said...
I am allergic to zippers at this time, do you think lapping the band over and closing with a button , maybe with snaps up higher would do?
9/27/03 11:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
Tee Jay: definitely. I was wishing I had done that after the fussing over the zipper. I can almost get it off with opening the zipper...it just hangs up a bit on my bosum so you might try it before doing anything. Just pin, maybe it will go over your head. I would also change the order slightly and attach the band before sewing the right side seam. That way you can try on before topstitching and adjust both sides equally for size.
9/28/03 0:28 AM
Ann Smith said...
Tee Jay: that is.... without opening the zipper.
9/28/03 0:31 AM
LaVonne Schulze said...
I am going to make this blouse from beautiful hand-dyed silk. Comments most useful.
10/8/03 3:52 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Ann, Really enjoyed looking at your beautiful projects. I loved the Won Ton blouse. I am wondering if the horizontal just below waistline of this blouse will accentuate my ample hips.
10/17/03 10:16 AM
Ann Smith said...
Leslie: If you use a fabric that is low in contrast with your skirt or pants it should look great. Because the blouse "blouses" it softens the line.
10/18/03 11:17 AM
kathi s said...
Ann, I have just bought a beautiful piece of Japanese shantung-like light cotton at a quilt show with the aim of making it into the Won Ton blouse. I have only just enough for the blouse (I hope!) and so am trying to avoid problems. You mentioned that the zipper was hard to put in and that perhaps it would be better to use a shorter zipper. About how long would you recommend? I am 5'4" and full bust measurement is 38" grading out to 26+" at waist. Any other pitfalls other than the ones you mentioned? Thanks so much for all your excellent reviews!
2/7/04 6:12 PM
Edina said...
I have made this top too. It is quite becoming. I agree the v-neck was more difficult than I anticipated and the pattern was marked incorrectly at the neck. It is a very comfortable top but you need to wear a camisol underneath because you can see in the arm holes!
4/7/04 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
McCall's 6278

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review