Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Threads Magazine: #137 (Five-Rectangle Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 790 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Teri
photo
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/08 9:51 AM
Last Updated:12/6/08 6:21 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Physics Girl said...
Maybe because it's really cold here (and wearing a blanket sounds FABULOUS)... but I'm really finding your jacket one of the most lovely ones I've seen lately. What a wonderful way to showcase a special handwoven fabric!
12/5/08 10:21 AM
Izzie said...
I can see what you mean about the bulkiness, but on the other hand it really is an interesting and edgy looking jacket. I'm glad you reviewed it since I have a sweater knit that needs a pattern like this one and I'll be pulling out this issue of Threads. Thanks!
12/5/08 11:31 AM
MaryDB said...
That jacket is darling! It's a contemporary take on a mink chub jacket. Wonderful fabric. I bet it looks great on.
12/5/08 11:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Looks great! Very interesting pattern idea, too.
12/5/08 11:51 AM
j222b said...
I like it. But I might like it better with front button or snap or? closure so it doesn't fall open. I'd wear with black or solid color turtleneck and pants. Yum. The Hand loomed fabric is wonderful, too. Pattern might be sort of a Cocoon made famous by Neiman Marcus. Still popular-do a NM search.
12/5/08 1:36 PM
sew42mom said...
Good gracious! It's lovely, and I absolutely love it. Like you, I prefer my jackets to be more fitted, but I love this that I may have to look at what I've got in stash and make my own.
12/5/08 2:14 PM
Angelia74 said...
I think this is a very nice jacket and if it gets cold enough.. who cares about the bulk! as long as lits warm!
12/5/08 2:22 PM
zora said...
I understand what you mean about the bulkiness but I actually like the shape of the jacket. I think it's a great pattern for a fabric like yours.
12/5/08 3:42 PM
cathy hansen said...
It's lovely! And as a weaver, I'm delighted to see handwoven fabric being used!! For anyone else out there with a piece of handwoven in their stash ruminating, DON'T BE AFRAID OF IT!! Especially if you have a serger- it is very forgiving and easy to work with. My favorite patterns are Loes Hinse's jackets- they're simple in form and fit so well- the only change I make is to recreate the front and front facing pieces as one to reduce bulk. Great job Teri- you'll get lots of compliments on your fabulous jacket!!
12/5/08 4:34 PM
tlmck3 said...
I love this jacket. The shape is great--very versatile-- and the fabric is lovely. I'd wear it to death if it were in my closet.
12/5/08 7:05 PM
chacha45 said...
Wear it and I'll bet you fall in love with it. It is beautiful.
12/5/08 8:13 PM
Dee2 said...
It is a beautiful jacket & wonderful use of handwoven fabric. I hope you wear it--I think the more you wear it, the more you will love it!
12/5/08 9:02 PM
Athene said...
The fabric choice is great - its a wonderful jacket.
12/5/08 9:39 PM
HLT said...
WOW! Hand woven fabric! Very nice jacket! Up the fabulosity with a contrasting leather belt!
12/5/08 10:32 PM
jannw said...
I like it..but would you be more comfortable wearing it in a drapier fabric? Seems like you might loose some of the design lines that make it unique. Love the fabric..beautiful
12/5/08 11:47 PM
Sharon1952 said...
The texture of that fabric is to die for!! Nice work.
12/6/08 8:52 AM
Terri K said...
Hi Teri - Great fabric choice - I'll bet this is a cozy third layer for these cold days! I made this jacket out of linen right after I read the article. I had a piece of handkerchief linen with some imperfections - great for playing with. I made no measurement changes and the width overwhelms me. It would be better if I made it around 50" around like I did with the Shapes High Five jacket and I also widened the sleeves. You can see the photos on my Shapes flickr set since it's rectangle based as well.
12/6/08 11:08 AM
Michelle L said...
Your fabric is gorgeous, and the simple lines of the jacket is a great way to show off a hand-woven fabric. I'm afraid if the pattern was more complex, you woudn't see quite so much of the beauty of the fabric. I think it is a fantastic choice. I really like it.
12/6/08 2:35 PM
Izzie said...
The jacket looks great on you! I looked at the Threads article last night and noticed it was written by Linda Lee. I wonder if this is the same pattern as the Plaza jacket? It certainly looks similar.
12/6/08 7:25 PM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful jacket - looks great on you! I'm glad you liked wearing it. I also have a piece of handwoven I purchased from Linda Kubik and haven't decided what to make with it. Thanks for the inspiration!
12/6/08 7:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That style really does suit you. I saw the article and thought that it was a stupid idea trying to fit a female body with rectangles. However, your jacket really turned out great.
12/6/08 8:56 PM
AngieC said...
I love your version of the jacket and it looks perfect with jeans and a turtleneck! I'm searching for my issue right now! Thanks for a great review~
12/6/08 10:00 PM
jannw said...
even better looking on..thanx for showing that picture
12/6/08 10:10 PM
KarmenG said...
I agree with Sherril - I was skeptical about the concept and your review has helped us visualize how great the outcome can be.
12/6/08 11:11 PM
zora said...
I already said that I love the jacket but now I'd like to add that I think it really suits you. It's kinda bulky, yes but in a nice way and fabric and pattern come together quite beautifully. I am tempted to try something similar!
12/7/08 8:02 AM
VtMartha said...
Lovely jacket!
12/7/08 8:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. Love the fabric!
12/7/08 4:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5825
photo
Review by Nancywin on 10/14/09
Read Review

McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6819 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9461 Pattern
Burda 9461 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 8436
photo
Review by Graca on 10/21/12
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us