SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Contest> New Techniques 2008 (Contest 2008)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2321 times 
Reviewed by:Birdie757
photo

 
 
About Birdie757star
MA
Member since: 5/10/07
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 7:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewreal2037 said...
Thank you so much. I can't wait to try this on a project I will be doing this weekend.
1/22/09 6:57 PM
Birdie757 said...
magpie55, samples 1 and two are made from knit interlock with knit ribbing for the neck band. Samples three is made from knit interlock and the neck band is of the same interlock. The 4th sample is a hodge podge of fabric. The shirt is a mystery knit recycled from a dress that I never really liked and the neckband is left over from some white interlock tops I made my 3 year old. I prefer to work with the ribbing, but in reality it is just too hard to find coordinating ribbing.
1/19/09 7:15 AM
magpie55 said...
What a great review, and pictures. I have one question (which you may have mentioned, but I missed) Did you use a similar fabric for the neckband and the shirt fabric? The shirts look great on you. You really deseved to win!!
1/18/09 9:28 PM
Trixie1955 said...
All I can say is, "A-HA! Brilliant!" Thanks for the great lesson. It definitely will be handy.
1/18/09 2:29 PM
Athene said...
Congratulations. Your final t-shirt looks very nice. Explanations and photos were very helpful and informative.
1/18/09 3:38 AM
Birdie757 said...
Thank you all so much for all your kind messages. It really means so much to know that others found my entry to be helpful.
1/14/09 6:56 PM
YvetteO said...
Wow that is a relevation! It makes a V neck so easy. I had given up on V neck facings. Thankyou so much for taking the time to write those instructions.
1/14/09 5:01 PM
Vicky C said...
Terrific review! It's not only very informative but your enthusiasm is definitely catching!! Thank you!
1/14/09 11:17 AM
Sewing Gal said...
Nice job. Great review. Thanks for helping all of us.
1/14/09 10:23 AM
Nancy K said...
A wonderful review and great results. It amazes me that people try a new technique without ever making samples. You have a well executed v neck t shirt for a little extra work that you can now easily repeat.
1/13/09 5:50 PM
mhk3boys said...
I love this technique! The finished shirt looks so great. Your instructions are awesome. I wish the pattern companies had someone as talented as you to write instructions. Or you need to make your own sewing instructions blog or book!
1/13/09 1:06 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Congratulations on winning the New Techniques Contest!
1/11/09 3:07 PM
AnneM said...
Great job, and excellent information in your pictures. Congratulations on your new skill.
1/11/09 11:06 AM
misscoleen said...
Thank you for a great description. The step by step photos really help. Congratulations on mastering this technique. Your top looks great!
1/7/09 6:49 PM
Honeyface said...
I found this extremely helpful. I've been working on V necks and this makes a lot of sense. Thanks!
1/1/09 5:48 PM
Diana M said...
Great work, not only on the actual garment, but in testing ways to sew v-necks and choosing the one that works for YOU!
1/1/09 2:56 PM
wendlesue said...
Very nice work! I love your final garments!
1/1/09 12:19 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Congratulations on mastering the V neck! Your final samples/garments look superb. Very professional! And thanks for sharing so much of the process so others can learn from your experience.
1/1/09 11:54 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You nailed it. Congratulations.
1/1/09 9:26 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Very nice looking top. It suits you perfectly.
1/1/09 7:52 AM
Izzie said...
Congratulations for getting this technique conquered! Your top looks nice and the V neck is indeed flattering on you.
12/31/08 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now