Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 3197 (Start 3 T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2046 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/03 3:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Lisa, this tee looks great on you!
9/26/03 3:42 PM
Sew it seams said...
Very nice fitting t-shirt. It looks very good on you.
9/26/03 6:23 PM
Skye said...
nice fitting T looks very good on you
9/26/03 7:33 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lisa, this was very helpful information. I like the look of the T!
9/27/03 6:30 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Lisa, it looks very nice--not too tight, just fitted. I've found this particular pattern fits very true to size on me, except that the shoulders (not the upper chest) are a bit broad for me. Since you know your shoulders & armholes fit, you might just want to taper out to a larger size (according to your measurements) for the rest of the pattern, for a less fitted look. I also usually have to add a bit of ease to the waist, but I have to do that on all my patterns. The scoop neck on this pattern is not too low, but once I made it in a fabric that stretched out easily, and it got a little droopy (almost too low). Next time I make it, I'll probably just raise the lowest part of the neckline about .5".
9/27/03 6:39 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for the encouragement, ladies! I have bee kinda mulling over this shirt for the last 24 hours, reading some of the other fitted T shirt reviews, and I have a fitting question... Could I eliminate the wrinkles under the arm by adding a dart and rotating it into the armsceye, then easing it in? I remember Marcy Tilton said that a dart 'wants' to go in the armseye of a tshirt; didn't understand that then but I think I see it now. This shirt is a little more noticeable than others I have (it's also the snuggest...) but even RTW has some wrinkles at that point, so maybe it's an adjustment that I need to make?
9/27/03 9:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your Tee looks like it fits very nicely. I like the fitted look, it follows the current fashion trends and has a nice youthful appearance.
9/27/03 5:59 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
I also think the tee looks very nice, and not *too* tight, just nicely fitted!
9/28/03 0:44 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I have some fitting "issues" with the armscye of this pattern too. It's a bit different from other t-shirts I've made. I think that's just the way it's drafted--your top fits just like the model's in the photo. That's interesting what Marcy Tilton said. (BTW, in my comment about making it less fitted, I didn't mean to imply that you "need" to do that. )
9/29/03 10:52 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Well, Betty, despite what everyone says about it being 'fitted' rather than 'snug', I'm kinda of the opinion that, if the seams on my under garments show, the garment could stand a little more ease! (LOL) I know, I'm probably more aware of it than anyone else, but that's what made me say it was snug.... ;)
9/29/03 11:11 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Lisa, great review! Very informative. The t-shirt looks like it has a great shape and style. I like that neckline also. Your question about the wrinkle indicating the need for an armscye dart (eased in) is a good one. My knit tops often have this same wrinkle, so perhaps I'll try the dart on my next Jalie 2005 tee, and see what happens. And of course, I'll report back here on what I find out. ;-)
9/30/03 2:55 AM
Hilary said...
I think your tee looks great! I like the binding treatment of the neckline you described~I use this same technique for the baby clothes I'm making,~they actually suggest using a purchased bias tape(i guess they mean woven) to bind the neck and leg openings of a knit garment! ACK! I agree this method is much more RTW and very easy too!great review, i think i'm gonna have to get this one :o)
9/30/03 1:06 PM
Athene said...
Good review and tips. Thank you
11/6/08 9:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Beautiful Magazine 07-2006
photo
Review by Wendy Hahn on 6/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4738
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 5/20/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us