Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1051 (MISSES' PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1004 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Emi1yKate
photo
About Emi1yKatestar
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/08 10:32 PM
Last Updated:12/12/08 10:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heidi Ho said...
Great Looking Pants! This is an amazing pattern and it works well for many different figure types. I have made 3 pairs of pants from it and all have turned out great and fit very nicely and I am 5'11". I am curious about the fabric you used, I have never heard of it before. Where did you get it? I am just finishing off a pair in wool gabardine and wish it had a little stretch..they look great since I also sized down as you did. Your pants really look nice, i will be interested to see what variations you make in the future since I have been thinking about doing the same thing.
12/12/08 11:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice pants. I'm a long time fan of stretch bengaline. Great fabric.
12/13/08 0:18 AM
CypGrl said...
What an interesting review. I don't know anything about stretch bengaline -- probably have worn it and not known what it was -- but I certainly want to find out now. The pants look very nice on you.
12/13/08 1:43 AM
Emi1yKate said...
Hi there Heidi Ho, thanks for your lovely comments! I don't know terribly much about stretch bengaline, only that I have purchased a few ready-to-wear items made from it and liked the fit and feel. I found it in yardage at a shop in Melbourne, Australia called Cleggs and at another of our chain stores over here, called Spotlight. If you google stretch bengaline one of the things that comes up is PR's Debbie Cook's blog- she might be someone to contact for further info!
12/13/08 4:27 AM
crisford said...
Great job! I have made these pants 3 times and love, love, love them! Pants for me used to be so unflattering that they were just something to try to ignore. And I delight in seeing everyone else's raving reviews of this pattern. Hooray! I'm not sure if my review is needed. I plan to upload my photos to my flicker account at http://www.flickr.com/photos/36498457@N00/ The only 2 cents I have to add is that if you want to have the waistband/yoke have a bit of stretch, it needs to be cut on the crossgrain and pattern says otherwise. One other thing is that on the back pockets, it is possible for a tiny bit of lining to peek out, so it's best to choose a lining that matches your fabric.
12/13/08 11:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Every reviewer seems to agree that these pants flatter just about everybody. I bought it in the last Vogue sale, and now have moved it up to be the first thing I make in the new year, after I finish my current stuff and the holidays. Thanks so much for such an informative review! And they looks absolutely super on you!
12/13/08 11:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great pair of pants. I recently made this style with a bwof pattern, the style is wonderful. Looks very good on you.
12/13/08 12:10 PM
Vintage Joan said...
These are fabulous! Great pocket trim. :)
12/13/08 1:39 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Very very flattering on you, the fit on the back is just perfect, I will be definitely trying out this pattern, thanks for the review.
12/14/08 12:48 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Thanks for your great review..left a wee note to that effect on your blog, but as an after thought, I don't think you would be able to use Sandra's fly front method with facings. Great video though, good to have up your sleeve when a waistband is involved.
12/14/08 9:20 PM
Emi1yKate said...
Hi again Mary Nanna. I have used Sandra's fly method adding a facing (for my other alice + olivia pants), but it's true you do have to sort of work out how to attach this yourself, her video doesn't show when to sew it on, she just mentions 'I guess you can put a facing on too if you want'. I was pleased with the result I got when I devised my own application of the facing, it was pretty simple.
12/17/08 4:11 PM
Misafir said...
Sorry, but the picture link provided doesn't seem to show these pants. The ones on your flickr set have front slant pockets, which is not this pant at all. It would be nice to see your version.
4/9/10 5:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 5527
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 3/22/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3340
photo
Review by dvazz on 7/1/05
Read Review

Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5551 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5551 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us