SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Saf-T-Pockets> 2010 (Plenty of Pockets Pants)

Viewed 505 times 
Reviewed by:Miranda
photo

 
 
About Miranda
Member since: 1/17/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/08 0:35 AM
Last Updated:12/8/08 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Has come out really well Miranda :-)
12/9/08 3:17 AM
Miranda said...
Flying Seamstress, I am a serial pant-sewer - always seeking that elusive perfect fit - and have covered a good few pants patterns! I also like Ottobre patterns and have had some success with others, though they've generally needed a bit more work than this one. I think what I liked about this one was that the crotch "rise" bit (does it have a proper name?) was fairly straight up, rather than slanted. Really, all I'm doing is making width adjustments to compensate for the fact that I am in between two sizes and I went to the size bigger. I did have to take a wedge out of the front but this was easy to do. Patti B - I'd be interested to see your thoughts on the pattern when you sew it. I'm planning to make it again shortly in navy, but not sure that is any better to photograph than black!
12/9/08 0:21 AM
Patti B said...
Black is definitely the pits to photograph! I'm glad you like this pattern as I own it but haven't sewn it yet. The owner of Ruthie's Rags fabric shop in Portland said that this is very popular wit.h her clientele with lots of good comments about the fit
12/8/08 10:29 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Black clothing is particularly difficult to photograph so that details show...your pants look like they fit you nicely! If you don't mind sharing, from what other pattern companies have you sewn pants? And can you tell us how the Saf-T-Pockets pattern differs from those? Thanks for the review!
12/8/08 8:53 PM
Miranda said...
Thanks for the nice comments. The picture is inadequate - I need to organise a photo hosting site so that I can post proper photos to reviews. I didn't chose the pattern with travel in mind, just that I really use pockets. This particular pattern doesn't have "hidden" pockets, but a good selection of "regular" pockets.
12/8/08 5:20 PM
Kbenco said...
I have not used any of the Safe T patterns, so it is interesting to hear that this is your best pants pattern, it sounds very useful. I appreciate your very helpful review, but would love to see a bigger picture.
12/8/08 4:11 PM
Nancywin said...
I really like the SafeT Pockets concept, but haven't tried them yet, although I do have one of their jacket patterns. Nice looking pants. Good to know they have a good fit and construction.
12/8/08 9:28 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Did you select this pattern with travel in mind? I some how associate pockets and Safe Pockets pattern with travel wardrobe creation. Places to stash ones valuables while vacationing. They look very nice, and I do like your binding for the waistband idea, which I might have to try.
12/8/08 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101A

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now