Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Saf-T-Pockets: 2010 (Plenty of Pockets Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 484 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Miranda
photo
About Miranda
Member since: 1/17/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/08 0:35 AM
Last Updated:12/8/08 8:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Did you select this pattern with travel in mind? I some how associate pockets and Safe Pockets pattern with travel wardrobe creation. Places to stash ones valuables while vacationing. They look very nice, and I do like your binding for the waistband idea, which I might have to try.
12/8/08 7:57 AM
Nancywin said...
I really like the SafeT Pockets concept, but haven't tried them yet, although I do have one of their jacket patterns. Nice looking pants. Good to know they have a good fit and construction.
12/8/08 9:28 AM
Kbenco said...
I have not used any of the Safe T patterns, so it is interesting to hear that this is your best pants pattern, it sounds very useful. I appreciate your very helpful review, but would love to see a bigger picture.
12/8/08 4:11 PM
Miranda said...
Thanks for the nice comments. The picture is inadequate - I need to organise a photo hosting site so that I can post proper photos to reviews. I didn't chose the pattern with travel in mind, just that I really use pockets. This particular pattern doesn't have "hidden" pockets, but a good selection of "regular" pockets.
12/8/08 5:20 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Black clothing is particularly difficult to photograph so that details show...your pants look like they fit you nicely! If you don't mind sharing, from what other pattern companies have you sewn pants? And can you tell us how the Saf-T-Pockets pattern differs from those? Thanks for the review!
12/8/08 8:53 PM
Patti B said...
Black is definitely the pits to photograph! I'm glad you like this pattern as I own it but haven't sewn it yet. The owner of Ruthie's Rags fabric shop in Portland said that this is very popular wit.h her clientele with lots of good comments about the fit
12/8/08 10:29 PM
Miranda said...
Flying Seamstress, I am a serial pant-sewer - always seeking that elusive perfect fit - and have covered a good few pants patterns! I also like Ottobre patterns and have had some success with others, though they've generally needed a bit more work than this one. I think what I liked about this one was that the crotch "rise" bit (does it have a proper name?) was fairly straight up, rather than slanted. Really, all I'm doing is making width adjustments to compensate for the fact that I am in between two sizes and I went to the size bigger. I did have to take a wedge out of the front but this was easy to do. Patti B - I'd be interested to see your thoughts on the pattern when you sew it. I'm planning to make it again shortly in navy, but not sure that is any better to photograph than black!
12/9/08 0:21 AM
RuthieSews said...
Has come out really well Miranda :-)
12/9/08 3:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us