SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-107 (Flap-pocket jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/08 0:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
elily00 said...
this is such a GORGEOUS jacket! I absolutely love the color! Just the color I was looking for in my wardrobe! Beautiful work :)
12/2/09 7:11 PM
jhansby said...
love it!
12/25/08 6:56 PM
sedonamama said...
Mama Mia! What a jacket! Thank you for sharing. Your review, as always, is elucidating. Your comments are invaluable!
12/14/08 3:33 PM
Dei said...
Outstanding work. I love your pocket alterations...it adds an extra touch. The color is so rich and lovely. Well done.
12/11/08 9:37 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful jacket! Good save with the pocket, and it adds an extra little detail.
12/11/08 11:09 AM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Your jacket looks better than the jacket used with the model. I am really impressed by the professional look of your finished product. Give yourself a pat on the back. You did a supurb job. What a unique look.
12/10/08 11:19 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful - and you do like to choose tricky patterns! Good luck on the button seach :)
12/10/08 10:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Very stylish jacket--and well executed. Like you, I dislike the method they use for constructing the lapel and collar. I always find it confusing. Good to know I'm not alone. Enjoy your jacket and happy button hunting.
12/10/08 10:04 PM
Lisette said...
This is a great looking jacket. As always I enjoy your reviews very much, I love all the details you share.
12/10/08 8:08 PM
Beek said...
Your tailoring is exquisite. I love this color green, it's lively and happy! Great review!
12/10/08 5:24 PM
Amanda S. said...
Okay... WOW! I LOVE it! This was starred in my magazine, so I am super happy to see your review. I love the color as well. Nice "artistic opportunity" - er, I mean save. I would not have thought of that but will file it away for later.
12/10/08 4:38 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Another must-read review. As ALWAYS (Thank you so MUCH) it is chock full of excellent advice and all those little tips that make our sewing lives so much easier. And of course, a thoroughly professional garment that has wonderful designer touches - love your 'artistic opportunity'!
12/10/08 12:21 PM
Teri said...
I really like your jacket, so sophisticated yet fun. Thanks for the wonderful review, I enjoyed reading it.
12/10/08 11:57 AM
Re Becca said...
Yours looks better than Burda's as always! You make this jacket look refined instead of trendy.
12/10/08 11:45 AM
Nancy K said...
What is it about your sewing that I immediately know it's yours before I read the name? The perfect sewing, the colors, I don't know, but I always know it's yours and eagerly read your great reviews. This one is no exception. It's a great review of a beautifully done jacket.
12/10/08 11:25 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful. I considered making this jacket, but was afraid the upper flaps would be to prominent for me. Seeing it on your dressform perhaps I must reconsider. They are a nice design detail. Great review.
12/10/08 10:06 AM
Sheila457 said...
That is such a beautiful jacket and the color is just gorgeous.
12/10/08 9:46 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I liked this jacket when I saw this issue and feel more and more curious to make it. As you say you will wear it " collars turned up and unbuttoned", would be great if we could see the photo of you wearing it like that......just really curious. Such a lovely jacket!
12/10/08 9:39 AM
VtMartha said...
You are such an inspiration to me! I love the styles you pick. Your color choices are wonderful and we have similar fitting issues.
12/10/08 9:06 AM
Sewing Chick said...
What a terrific jacket! You always amaze me with your skill. I may have to dig this issue out.
12/10/08 8:51 AM
emo said...
This looks wonderful! I had just started on this, so this review is extremely helpful.
12/10/08 8:36 AM
marjenann said...
Incredible!! As usual, your garment is breathtaking!! How great that this jacket is seasonless!! Thanks for sharing!!
12/10/08 7:53 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the green! Good luck with the button search!
12/10/08 7:30 AM
svetlana said...
This is beautiful and in one of my favorite colors. The results were definitely worth the effort. The detailing is unique
12/10/08 7:28 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful! And the color is awesome!
12/10/08 6:06 AM
ricstew said...
Wow I like your version! I was looking at that pattern today! We have a mild winter and I think that would be perfect as a work jacket! Project no 3675A :) Good luck in the button hunt!
12/10/08 1:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 3180

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Vogue Patterns 8601

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Buy Now