SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-107 (Flap-pocket jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/08 0:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ricstew said...
Wow I like your version! I was looking at that pattern today! We have a mild winter and I think that would be perfect as a work jacket! Project no 3675A :) Good luck in the button hunt!
12/10/08 1:06 AM
senaSews said...
Beautiful! And the color is awesome!
12/10/08 6:06 AM
svetlana said...
This is beautiful and in one of my favorite colors. The results were definitely worth the effort. The detailing is unique
12/10/08 7:28 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the green! Good luck with the button search!
12/10/08 7:30 AM
marjenann said...
Incredible!! As usual, your garment is breathtaking!! How great that this jacket is seasonless!! Thanks for sharing!!
12/10/08 7:53 AM
emo said...
This looks wonderful! I had just started on this, so this review is extremely helpful.
12/10/08 8:36 AM
Sewing Chick said...
What a terrific jacket! You always amaze me with your skill. I may have to dig this issue out.
12/10/08 8:51 AM
VtMartha said...
You are such an inspiration to me! I love the styles you pick. Your color choices are wonderful and we have similar fitting issues.
12/10/08 9:06 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I liked this jacket when I saw this issue and feel more and more curious to make it. As you say you will wear it " collars turned up and unbuttoned", would be great if we could see the photo of you wearing it like that......just really curious. Such a lovely jacket!
12/10/08 9:39 AM
Sheila457 said...
That is such a beautiful jacket and the color is just gorgeous.
12/10/08 9:46 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful. I considered making this jacket, but was afraid the upper flaps would be to prominent for me. Seeing it on your dressform perhaps I must reconsider. They are a nice design detail. Great review.
12/10/08 10:06 AM
Nancy K said...
What is it about your sewing that I immediately know it's yours before I read the name? The perfect sewing, the colors, I don't know, but I always know it's yours and eagerly read your great reviews. This one is no exception. It's a great review of a beautifully done jacket.
12/10/08 11:25 AM
Re Becca said...
Yours looks better than Burda's as always! You make this jacket look refined instead of trendy.
12/10/08 11:45 AM
Teri said...
I really like your jacket, so sophisticated yet fun. Thanks for the wonderful review, I enjoyed reading it.
12/10/08 11:57 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Another must-read review. As ALWAYS (Thank you so MUCH) it is chock full of excellent advice and all those little tips that make our sewing lives so much easier. And of course, a thoroughly professional garment that has wonderful designer touches - love your 'artistic opportunity'!
12/10/08 12:21 PM
Amanda S. said...
Okay... WOW! I LOVE it! This was starred in my magazine, so I am super happy to see your review. I love the color as well. Nice "artistic opportunity" - er, I mean save. I would not have thought of that but will file it away for later.
12/10/08 4:38 PM
Beek said...
Your tailoring is exquisite. I love this color green, it's lively and happy! Great review!
12/10/08 5:24 PM
Lisette said...
This is a great looking jacket. As always I enjoy your reviews very much, I love all the details you share.
12/10/08 8:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Very stylish jacket--and well executed. Like you, I dislike the method they use for constructing the lapel and collar. I always find it confusing. Good to know I'm not alone. Enjoy your jacket and happy button hunting.
12/10/08 10:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful - and you do like to choose tricky patterns! Good luck on the button seach :)
12/10/08 10:04 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Your jacket looks better than the jacket used with the model. I am really impressed by the professional look of your finished product. Give yourself a pat on the back. You did a supurb job. What a unique look.
12/10/08 11:19 PM
crisford said...
Beautiful jacket! Good save with the pocket, and it adds an extra little detail.
12/11/08 11:09 AM
Dei said...
Outstanding work. I love your pocket alterations...it adds an extra touch. The color is so rich and lovely. Well done.
12/11/08 9:37 PM
sedonamama said...
Mama Mia! What a jacket! Thank you for sharing. Your review, as always, is elucidating. Your comments are invaluable!
12/14/08 3:33 PM
jhansby said...
love it!
12/25/08 6:56 PM
elily00 said...
this is such a GORGEOUS jacket! I absolutely love the color! Just the color I was looking for in my wardrobe! Beautiful work :)
12/2/09 7:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8191

photo
by: Cosso

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1003

photo
by: montanachi...

Review