SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4018 (Fast & Easy Dresses)

2 more reviews
Viewed 296 times 
Reviewed by:TalyQ
photo

 
 
About TalyQstar
NA YUGOSLAVIA
Member since: 6/17/04
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/08 4:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The dress is gorgeous and has great lines. It will be beautiful in the green stretch velvet which probably won't be as stretchy as velour. But if you are worried about the neckline, try cutting a size smaller at the neckline only.
12/26/08 5:12 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The dress is gorgeous and has great lines. It will be beautiful in the green stretch velvet which probably won't be as stretchy as velour. But if you are worried about the neckline, try cutting a size smaller at the neckline only.
12/26/08 5:13 AM
CypGrl said...
It looks great on your daughter -- pretty, but comfortable.
12/26/08 9:15 AM
jannw said...
Your description of the fabric and its problems sound like stretch velvet..I still remember my one attempt. I congratulate you on a well done project..looks really nice.
12/26/08 9:29 AM
Rosebeee said...
What a great looking dress!! :D I love the color, and you did a great job with what sounds like very tricky fabric!
12/26/08 10:10 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful, love the fabric you used, I love it in the dress! You daughter look stunning, so do you!
12/26/08 10:17 AM
myrayeretsky said...
This is cute. You may have to stabilize the neckline with fusible bias tape before sewing next time. I love the fabric.
12/26/08 11:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wonderful looking dress!
12/26/08 1:38 PM
Ody said...
I know you had somewhat of a struggle, but the outcome is fabulous. Your dd looks gorgeous in that dress.
12/27/08 2:13 AM
katie lynne said...
Oooooh, very pretty (the dress and your daughter! :-) I'll bet it feels gorgeous to wear. I'm still learning all of the acronyms used here...what does FOE stand for? Thanks for a great review.
12/28/08 6:46 PM
TalyQ said...
FOE is fold-over elastic (usually the shiny binding like elastic on shirts). I do not have a source of it here, but some wonderful friends have supplied me with some of it from the US. It's usually the easiest and nicest neckline finish for knits (but it does have a learning curve =)
12/29/08 2:51 AM
craftylady66 said...
Very prettty. I love the color.
1/1/09 4:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 261

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now