Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4018 (Fast & Easy Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 296 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:TalyQ
photo
About TalyQstar
NA YUGOSLAVIA
Member since: 6/17/04
Reviews written: 55
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/08 4:45 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The dress is gorgeous and has great lines. It will be beautiful in the green stretch velvet which probably won't be as stretchy as velour. But if you are worried about the neckline, try cutting a size smaller at the neckline only.
12/26/08 5:12 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The dress is gorgeous and has great lines. It will be beautiful in the green stretch velvet which probably won't be as stretchy as velour. But if you are worried about the neckline, try cutting a size smaller at the neckline only.
12/26/08 5:13 AM
CypGrl said...
It looks great on your daughter -- pretty, but comfortable.
12/26/08 9:15 AM
jannw said...
Your description of the fabric and its problems sound like stretch velvet..I still remember my one attempt. I congratulate you on a well done project..looks really nice.
12/26/08 9:29 AM
Rosebeee said...
What a great looking dress!! :D I love the color, and you did a great job with what sounds like very tricky fabric!
12/26/08 10:10 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful, love the fabric you used, I love it in the dress! You daughter look stunning, so do you!
12/26/08 10:17 AM
myrayeretsky said...
This is cute. You may have to stabilize the neckline with fusible bias tape before sewing next time. I love the fabric.
12/26/08 11:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wonderful looking dress!
12/26/08 1:38 PM
Ody said...
I know you had somewhat of a struggle, but the outcome is fabulous. Your dd looks gorgeous in that dress.
12/27/08 2:13 AM
katie lynne said...
Oooooh, very pretty (the dress and your daughter! :-) I'll bet it feels gorgeous to wear. I'm still learning all of the acronyms used here...what does FOE stand for? Thanks for a great review.
12/28/08 6:46 PM
TalyQ said...
FOE is fold-over elastic (usually the shiny binding like elastic on shirts). I do not have a source of it here, but some wonderful friends have supplied me with some of it from the US. It's usually the easiest and nicest neckline finish for knits (but it does have a learning curve =)
12/29/08 2:51 AM
craftylady66 said...
Very prettty. I love the color.
1/1/09 4:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Butterick 5351
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 6/7/09
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Laurel Laurel
photo
Review by Crystal Pl... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Jalie 2918 Pattern
Jalie 2918 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us