SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3536 (Misses Knit Tops)

30 more reviews
Viewed 422 times 
Reviewed by:Gelbean
photo

 
 
About Gelbeanstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/08 9:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
I think it's lovely...don't know what you don't like so much...I would never say it's a wadder.
1/7/10 11:10 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
Oh, good gravy, gelbean! I just stumbled on this review after posting mine. I agree with the previous commentors who said "Oh but you look so cute in it!" because yes, you do! But I also see exactly the things I DIDN'T like about mine. It looks like maybe you have the cowl neck turned in a little? because it didn't really drape right? And the ruching, which is what I love, is lower - toward the hips, rather than really around the midriff, which is so forgiving? And you had to add at least twice the elastic called for? And the sleeves have such a tiny length of elastic, it hardly has a design effect? Hmmmm! Well, if you get inspired to try again, you know to shorten it. It's a unique top to have in your wardrobe.
12/31/08 1:09 AM
PrairieTides said...
I think it looks terrific! I just bought this pattern, so I'm glad to read your review. Thanks!
12/29/08 10:53 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think the neckline looks nice on you. The top is a pretty style and stretch velvet is a pretty fabric, but maybe they don't go together? I agree with the earlier comment that it would look very different in a less shiny fabric and I also think that a slightly wider neckline might make a difference, too.
12/14/08 11:18 AM
nancy2001 said...
You look beautiful in teal.
12/14/08 9:48 AM
sewtime said...
I think your new top is so pretty! Beautiful material!
12/13/08 7:26 PM
Christas said...
It looks very pretty on you! When I read your review, I was surprised you didn't like it.
12/13/08 10:21 AM
poplin said...
But the shape really suits your hourglass figure!
12/13/08 9:11 AM
balancin1 said...
Thanks for the review and I'm sorry you didn't like the finished product. Your top is very lovely and also inspired me to try the pattern.
12/13/08 8:36 AM
LornaJay said...
Well, I think it looks stunning! It was the picture which made me look more closely at this review....
12/13/08 8:20 AM
CShelley said...
Thanks for the heads up. I have this pattern in my stash and I'll be sure to shorten it as I'm 5'2". And I think your version is wearable...
12/13/08 8:10 AM
Laurasews said...
Maybe I am crazy, but I love it. I would make more with less shine. My opinion...wear it with pride!
12/12/08 10:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now