SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6803 (Misses Easy Dresses, Tunics an)

24 more reviews
Viewed 905 times 
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo

 
 
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/08 9:09 PM
Last Updated:12/14/08 2:32 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
McQueena said...
I think it looks it great!
2/19/09 11:47 AM
Theresevp said...
I think it looks very nice on you.
2/11/09 5:41 PM
Mary Nanna said...
It looks fantastic! I am sorry you are so disappointed! I have sewn 2 patterns from this season's New Look and although I haven't made your one it looks similar in the way it has been drafted. If you look on the pattern pieces you will see the finished measurements which give the amount of ease. In my patterns there was 10 inches through the waist! This is huge. Normally you would expect about 4 for a semi-fitted garment. This gives you a few options. I solved the situation as you did - with a belt as mandatory. I did put in darts through the bust, even though my neckline also had pleats but I did draft them in, so they didn't pull fabric away from the pleats. Really, this is a lovely dress on you (if the photo is true to likeness). I'm not just being Pattern Review kind. I hope you find something to enjoy in it.
12/14/08 8:10 PM
maryfrana said...
Thanks for the very thorough and thoughtful review. I love the fabric in the sash. It is very special so I hope you either make another dress for the sash or fix this one to suit you. It actually looks nice in the photo.
12/14/08 8:03 PM
Sheila457 said...
Nice dress and Thanks for the review. I have that pattern and like the way your dress came out.
12/14/08 5:21 AM
hilaryr said...
Okay, am now acquainted with Photobucket - this should enlarge now. I think I will try the View C front, even though all the unpicking of stitching and overlocking gives me pause...better than letting the dress languish in the too-hard basket!
12/14/08 2:39 AM
KateS said...
Hilaryr its a bit hard to see from the thumbnail but I think a drapier fabric would work. Are you able to put a link up to an enlargable photo?
12/13/08 9:29 PM
pinemeadows said...
I'm unable to enlarge your photo at all - no link - but I do think you're on to something about making the front for View C. That is a much more fitted design (comparatively speaking) and should look great on you. Let us know if you do that.
12/13/08 8:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Amy Butler 0000

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Kwik Sew 3101

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

More Info
The City Bag

The City Bag

More Info