Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6803 (Misses Easy Dresses, Tunics an) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 889 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/08 9:09 PM
Last Updated:12/14/08 2:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinemeadows said...
I'm unable to enlarge your photo at all - no link - but I do think you're on to something about making the front for View C. That is a much more fitted design (comparatively speaking) and should look great on you. Let us know if you do that.
12/13/08 8:46 AM
KateS said...
Hilaryr its a bit hard to see from the thumbnail but I think a drapier fabric would work. Are you able to put a link up to an enlargable photo?
12/13/08 9:29 PM
hilaryr said...
Okay, am now acquainted with Photobucket - this should enlarge now. I think I will try the View C front, even though all the unpicking of stitching and overlocking gives me pause...better than letting the dress languish in the too-hard basket!
12/14/08 2:39 AM
Sheila457 said...
Nice dress and Thanks for the review. I have that pattern and like the way your dress came out.
12/14/08 5:21 AM
maryfrana said...
Thanks for the very thorough and thoughtful review. I love the fabric in the sash. It is very special so I hope you either make another dress for the sash or fix this one to suit you. It actually looks nice in the photo.
12/14/08 8:03 PM
Mary Nanna said...
It looks fantastic! I am sorry you are so disappointed! I have sewn 2 patterns from this season's New Look and although I haven't made your one it looks similar in the way it has been drafted. If you look on the pattern pieces you will see the finished measurements which give the amount of ease. In my patterns there was 10 inches through the waist! This is huge. Normally you would expect about 4 for a semi-fitted garment. This gives you a few options. I solved the situation as you did - with a belt as mandatory. I did put in darts through the bust, even though my neckline also had pleats but I did draft them in, so they didn't pull fabric away from the pleats. Really, this is a lovely dress on you (if the photo is true to likeness). I'm not just being Pattern Review kind. I hope you find something to enjoy in it.
12/14/08 8:10 PM
Theresevp said...
I think it looks very nice on you.
2/11/09 5:41 PM
McQueena said...
I think it looks it great!
2/19/09 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 2674 Big Shirts
photo
Review by Monica R on 12/29/02
Read Review

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5363
photo
Review by slanden99 on 11/3/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us