SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4789 (Maggy London Knit Top)

42 more reviews
Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:mars418
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mars418star
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/09 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mars418 said... (2/24/09 8:18 AM) Reply
Thanks to all for your comments. Karen I don’t mind the blunts comments—they echoed my thoughts once I saw the photos and how I really look in the tops! They just did not fit or feel right. I loved the line drawing and gave the pattern two tries so that’s more than a fair shake! Thanks again!
Karen8320 said... (2/23/09 11:27 PM) Reply
I hope my comment about not wearing the tops in public wasn't too blunt. What I meant was that there are probably many more flattering styles for you than this one.
Karen8320 said... (2/23/09 11:24 PM) Reply
Unfortunately, I'm with Patti B on this one. I wouldn't be wearing either of these tops in public. You've given this pattern your best shot and, you are right, life is too short and there are many other patterns out there to try. It's a shame, really, because the technical drawing has some very flattering aspects to it. Your review, though, is very helpful to everyone else.
wildberrymom said... (2/23/09 12:33 PM) Reply
The red top is flattering (in my view) to you if there were some way of straightening out that front seam (pressing, adjusting the twist, etc.) so that it has a nice drape. Since there appears to be plenty of fabric below the empire and twist it might be possible to redo that seam while pulling slightly so that the end result doesn't appear tight. Perhaps even from the middle down on the that front seam. The neckline and sleeve lines are very flattering on the red top.
wildberrymom said... (2/23/09 12:29 PM) Reply
The red top is flattering (in my view) to you if there were some way of straightening out that front seam (pressing, adjusting the twist, etc.) so that it has a nice drape. Since there appears to be plenty of fabric below the empire and twist it might be possible to redo that seam while pulling slightly so that the end result doesn't appear tight. The neckline and sleeve lines are very flattering.
nglalala said... (2/23/09 11:26 AM) Reply
Both of the tops are really nice! Great job and thanks for the review!
Patti B said... (2/23/09 11:13 AM) Reply
I too appreciate your candor and though I'm in the minority here, I agree with your assessment. It doesn't flatter you and life is too short to wear unbecoming clothes. /grin/ It may be that with a different type of FBA, it might look better? It seems a bit big above and below the bust. I'm glad you posted!
LoriU said... (2/23/09 0:28 AM) Reply
I really appreciate your honest review -- what I love about Pattern Review is that we can see the clothes on real people. I do like your red top, too!
merry-one said... (2/22/09 10:09 PM) Reply
The red one looks nice. I'd wear it, looks better than most RTW.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-04

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 7903

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review