Online Sewing Class: Understanding Sheer Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-113 (Knit Pleated Top)

15 more reviews
Viewed 499 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews: 79 (patterns: 69)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/08 9:36 PM
Last Updated:12/22/08 9:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said... (1/3/09 10:32 AM) Reply
Hey, CONGRATULATIONS on your first BWOF! Beautiful, beautiful work. I like your idea of making this as a layering piece for winter. Now let's head upstairs and see what stash I can use for this one. Great review, thanks!
Amanda S. said... (12/24/08 10:06 AM) Reply
Very pretty. I liked this top in the magazine, but so far they've all turned out loose. I like your idea of making it more fitted. Thanks!
Heatherrique said... (12/23/08 2:20 PM) Reply
Gorgeous top! Very flattering on you!Congratulations on making your first Burda WOF! Are you hooked yet?
Annette1 said... (12/23/08 1:00 PM) Reply
Dear Little Miss I-Made-The-Smallest-Size: Even though your top turned out a little big, as you say, I think it looks GREAT! And like you said, you can always layer under it if you want to. This is a very cute pattern! That's a great idea, using different colored pencils for your tracing. I recently traced off a pants pattern from an Ottobre magazine that MeggieLuLu and Christa gave me, and I thought, WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG. Of course, I traced off the BIGGEST size and had to add in the hips, OKAY? At any rate, I feel like a whole new tracing world has opened up to me now! Watch out BWOF and Jali, here I come!
figtree said... (12/23/08 9:43 AM) Reply
Very nice, good to see another review of the fit on this one, congrats on your first BWOF, I started with one and haven't looked back!
JDpenelope said... (12/23/08 9:02 AM) Reply
Thanks for this review and it turned out cute, as usual. I have only made one BWOF pattern a long time ago and it was for charity. I actually like adding the seam allowances, too --5/8 " SA's waste too much fabric and 1/4" SA's are a trial for me to serge, so 3/8" is best for me. I agree that you could get a better fit, but this muslin will be very nice for casual wear. You do a nice job with your pleating, too.
Danvillegirl said... (12/23/08 6:57 AM) Reply
Great job!
LornaJay said... (12/23/08 6:15 AM) Reply
Looks good! BWOF is notorious for relatively low necklines. Here in Europe it seems we're used to showing a bit more chest than our trans-Atlantic cousins ;-)
squirrellypoo said... (12/23/08 5:26 AM) Reply
Great job on your first BWOF! I trace all my patterns, too. :)
Sigrid. said... (12/23/08 3:15 AM) Reply
Nice top. Congratulations on sewing your first BWOF. I'm sure you going to like their patterns.
sewtime said... (12/23/08 0:37 AM) Reply
Cute, cute!! Looks great on you!!
Vonnevo said... (12/23/08 0:19 AM) Reply
Welcome to the World of BWOF ! This was an ideal pattern to start with and you have a great result :) Congratulations ! !
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 101

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 101

Pattern Details
My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details