SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3786 (Misses Tops)

47 more reviews
Viewed 929 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:4/9/09 5:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Homebird said...
I love the first version - and much prefer the sleeves on your version. The gathered lower sleeves would look ridiculous on me!! I am not sure I can copy your alterations but hope it will look as good as yours does.
6/28/09 11:28 AM
Mufffet said...
Very very pretty. Love the style and the tucks. This is very like a pattern I had back in the mid seventies with lots of tucks in a front yoke, and the same length and sleeves and collar. Very "folkie!" Love you fabric.
5/30/09 3:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute! I want one.
4/10/09 1:02 AM
Irene Q said...
Lovely shirt!! I look forward to your reviews - we have very similar tastes. Looks like you solved most of your fit problems, although you might take in the princess seams a tiny bit above the bust. And I don't think you need quite as much extra room at the hips, either. But only PR people would notice any of that!
4/9/09 11:54 AM
nicegirl said...
What a pretty top! All those little tucks are such a nice detail and your Liberty lawn is fabulous.
4/9/09 10:25 AM
BJ1400 said...
That's so pretty!
4/9/09 8:30 AM
JamieLiz said...
This is a really beautiful color and lovely fabric for this pattern. What a nice blouse!
1/11/09 3:44 PM
Judy Wentz said...
lovely
12/25/08 9:59 AM
Jane S said...
Beautiful fabric and wonderful color on you, this looks cool and comfortable. As for fabric fullness, I too have that same adjustment. I think you need to lower the princess seam curve to better fit the curve of your bust. In my Fit for Real People book, this adjustment is explained on page 149.
12/25/08 9:13 AM
Elke said...
Looks terrific on you. Great choice of fabric, very flattering!
12/25/08 8:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, KateS. Yes, it's very easy to wear!
12/25/08 5:36 AM
KateS said...
Hi FreyaStark- I think this top is very stylish yet at the same time casual and maybe (?) easy to throw over a pair of jeans and take off (on a camel.....?). Nice, very nice! Feel free to send to me if you don't want!!!
12/25/08 4:33 AM
Izzie said...
Great Review and nice top! I have this pattern and I appreciate your warnings about the neckline and princess seams.
12/25/08 3:10 AM
Larkin said...
What a beautiful fabric choice! I think we're our own worst critics sometimes - your tunic is very pretty. Looks very nice!
12/25/08 2:40 AM
persevering said...
I think this top is the nicest one I've seen of your creations. The colour is quite becoming and you also look better than in the earlier postings. As you said "a lightweight and/or drapey fabric would be best" - probably quite a thin sheer cotton voile & the fall of the fabric would be most flattering - but then you wouldn't have the coverage you seek. You've done an amazing job with your successful alterations and you look great!
12/25/08 1:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, Terri A. The thread looks useful. I'll try to get to grips with it. Freya
12/25/08 1:16 AM
Terri A said...
Great job - maybe this recent thread would help? http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=36465
12/24/08 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Style 3759

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Simplicity 4238

photo
by: alviana

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now