Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3786 (Misses Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 912 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:4/9/09 5:38 AM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Great job - maybe this recent thread would help? http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=36465
12/24/08 11:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, Terri A. The thread looks useful. I'll try to get to grips with it. Freya
12/25/08 1:16 AM
persevering said...
I think this top is the nicest one I've seen of your creations. The colour is quite becoming and you also look better than in the earlier postings. As you said "a lightweight and/or drapey fabric would be best" - probably quite a thin sheer cotton voile & the fall of the fabric would be most flattering - but then you wouldn't have the coverage you seek. You've done an amazing job with your successful alterations and you look great!
12/25/08 1:33 AM
Larkin said...
What a beautiful fabric choice! I think we're our own worst critics sometimes - your tunic is very pretty. Looks very nice!
12/25/08 2:40 AM
Izzie said...
Great Review and nice top! I have this pattern and I appreciate your warnings about the neckline and princess seams.
12/25/08 3:10 AM
KateS said...
Hi FreyaStark- I think this top is very stylish yet at the same time casual and maybe (?) easy to throw over a pair of jeans and take off (on a camel.....?). Nice, very nice! Feel free to send to me if you don't want!!!
12/25/08 4:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, KateS. Yes, it's very easy to wear!
12/25/08 5:36 AM
Elke said...
Looks terrific on you. Great choice of fabric, very flattering!
12/25/08 8:32 AM
Jane S said...
Beautiful fabric and wonderful color on you, this looks cool and comfortable. As for fabric fullness, I too have that same adjustment. I think you need to lower the princess seam curve to better fit the curve of your bust. In my Fit for Real People book, this adjustment is explained on page 149.
12/25/08 9:13 AM
Judy Wentz said...
lovely
12/25/08 9:59 AM
JamieLiz said...
This is a really beautiful color and lovely fabric for this pattern. What a nice blouse!
1/11/09 3:44 PM
BJ1400 said...
That's so pretty!
4/9/09 8:30 AM
nicegirl said...
What a pretty top! All those little tucks are such a nice detail and your Liberty lawn is fabulous.
4/9/09 10:25 AM
Irene Q said...
Lovely shirt!! I look forward to your reviews - we have very similar tastes. Looks like you solved most of your fit problems, although you might take in the princess seams a tiny bit above the bust. And I don't think you need quite as much extra room at the hips, either. But only PR people would notice any of that!
4/9/09 11:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute! I want one.
4/10/09 1:02 AM
Mufffet said...
Very very pretty. Love the style and the tucks. This is very like a pattern I had back in the mid seventies with lots of tucks in a front yoke, and the same length and sleeves and collar. Very "folkie!" Love you fabric.
5/30/09 3:46 PM
Homebird said...
I love the first version - and much prefer the sleeves on your version. The gathered lower sleeves would look ridiculous on me!! I am not sure I can copy your alterations but hope it will look as good as yours does.
6/28/09 11:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 5941
photo
Review by gotpeace91 on 4/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by catalak on 4/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us