SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3786 (Misses Tops)

47 more reviews
Viewed 917 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/08 11:09 PM
Last Updated:4/9/09 5:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Great job - maybe this recent thread would help? http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=36465
12/24/08 11:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, Terri A. The thread looks useful. I'll try to get to grips with it. Freya
12/25/08 1:16 AM
persevering said...
I think this top is the nicest one I've seen of your creations. The colour is quite becoming and you also look better than in the earlier postings. As you said "a lightweight and/or drapey fabric would be best" - probably quite a thin sheer cotton voile & the fall of the fabric would be most flattering - but then you wouldn't have the coverage you seek. You've done an amazing job with your successful alterations and you look great!
12/25/08 1:33 AM
Larkin said...
What a beautiful fabric choice! I think we're our own worst critics sometimes - your tunic is very pretty. Looks very nice!
12/25/08 2:40 AM
Izzie said...
Great Review and nice top! I have this pattern and I appreciate your warnings about the neckline and princess seams.
12/25/08 3:10 AM
KateS said...
Hi FreyaStark- I think this top is very stylish yet at the same time casual and maybe (?) easy to throw over a pair of jeans and take off (on a camel.....?). Nice, very nice! Feel free to send to me if you don't want!!!
12/25/08 4:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks, KateS. Yes, it's very easy to wear!
12/25/08 5:36 AM
Elke said...
Looks terrific on you. Great choice of fabric, very flattering!
12/25/08 8:32 AM
Jane S said...
Beautiful fabric and wonderful color on you, this looks cool and comfortable. As for fabric fullness, I too have that same adjustment. I think you need to lower the princess seam curve to better fit the curve of your bust. In my Fit for Real People book, this adjustment is explained on page 149.
12/25/08 9:13 AM
Judy Wentz said...
lovely
12/25/08 9:59 AM
JamieLiz said...
This is a really beautiful color and lovely fabric for this pattern. What a nice blouse!
1/11/09 3:44 PM
BJ1400 said...
That's so pretty!
4/9/09 8:30 AM
nicegirl said...
What a pretty top! All those little tucks are such a nice detail and your Liberty lawn is fabulous.
4/9/09 10:25 AM
Irene Q said...
Lovely shirt!! I look forward to your reviews - we have very similar tastes. Looks like you solved most of your fit problems, although you might take in the princess seams a tiny bit above the bust. And I don't think you need quite as much extra room at the hips, either. But only PR people would notice any of that!
4/9/09 11:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute! I want one.
4/10/09 1:02 AM
Mufffet said...
Very very pretty. Love the style and the tucks. This is very like a pattern I had back in the mid seventies with lots of tucks in a front yoke, and the same length and sleeves and collar. Very "folkie!" Love you fabric.
5/30/09 3:46 PM
Homebird said...
I love the first version - and much prefer the sleeves on your version. The gathered lower sleeves would look ridiculous on me!! I am not sure I can copy your alterations but hope it will look as good as yours does.
6/28/09 11:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Lekala Patterns 5772

photo
by: mochimo

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now