Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 40 (Lauren's Dress) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 382 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR
About ssssdebstar
UT USA
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/09 8:12 PM
Last Updated:3/16/09 8:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
Great review, very informative. I would love to see the dress properly, but the thumbnail pic does not enlarge :o(
3/16/09 9:35 PM
Darla in PA said...
The dress turned out very cute! I have a question regarding the sizing. When you say up front measurements, what measurements are you referring to? I was under the impression that this pattern line had you measure a rtw garment with the ease that you preferred and then you use those to seleect your size. Is that what you did? Thanks!
3/17/09 9:51 AM
ssssdeb said...
I used the finished garment measurments and used those to adjust for my daughter's liking. The original finished measurements would have been way too wide on her since I made a size 6 and still had to take it in. Length in size 14 seems about right for her. In RTW she is a standard size 10 in pants and 12-14 in girls tops. Does this help?
3/17/09 5:14 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute outfit! Its a little disconcerting when the sizing is off, especially for beginners and children. I run into the same problem with helping my dd to sew. Now, I just check the pattern and make the alterations and let her sew herself. She is so impatient. Its good to know the the Silhouette line is a hit with teens. My dd is 11 and she likes very few of the children's patterns. Also, she on the opposite end of the sizing spectrum then your dd.So they just my work out for us. Thanks for posting such a great review. Dina
4/5/09 7:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2439 Fleece tops
photo
Review by julesberry on 2/14/06
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4471 Bandeau bikini
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 7/5/08
Read Review

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6603 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us