Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: No Pattern Used (Custom Chair SlipCover) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 428 times 76 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/27/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:2/23/10 6:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ody said...
That chair out of the 70s is probably better made than anything you can buy today. They used better materials and that makes it well worth recovering. You did an exceptional job and I have one I have to do as well. The chair looks great!
12/27/08 9:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking slipcover. Congratulations.
12/27/08 9:49 PM
Steffie said...
Very nice job on the slip cover. These can be sooooo much work. Yours turned out fantastic.
12/29/08 8:42 AM
quathy said...
I'm intimidated by the thought of making new slipcovers, which I desperately need. Your results are wonderful, and very encouraging. Thanks for all the tips!!
12/29/08 11:39 AM
BetsyV said...
Nice work Hatbuddy! I have one of these projects too. It's nice to have someone else go first!
12/29/08 9:47 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a fantastic job with this slipcover. Your chair looks like it's in great shape, so updating it was a great idea. Good job on the ottoman, too.
12/29/08 9:48 PM
sew42mom said...
Wow! You are much more adventurous than me. Your chair looks great - do you have to tuck in very much after sitting in it?
12/30/08 0:31 AM
craftygamma said...
Very nice job. I have done slipcovering and know how difficult it is. Don't plan to do it again....lol.
12/30/08 7:29 AM
craftygamma said...
After reading comments, a tip came to mind. Use small strips of foam (1/4" or 1/2") to push down into your tucked areas. It holds the fabric tight when the furniture is used and you don't have to constantly keep tucking the fabric back in.
12/30/08 7:32 AM
HatBuddy said...
Good Morning Craftygamma, What a really great tip. Thanks
12/30/08 1:32 PM
HatBuddy said...
Hi sew42mom, Thanks for writing! Little or no tucking required. The long ends are tucked deep and the chair cushion fits very tight requiring a firm shove to get it down into the bottom of the chair. I am, however, thinking about shortening the elastic around the chair cushion and/or maybe redoing with a firmer elastic to insure no problems.
12/30/08 1:41 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Thanks so much for the review. I'm about to embark on my first slipcover project, and it's encouraging to see the fabulous results you achieved. I've also been wondering whether or not I'm going to need to put in a zipper to get a snug fit, and I'm thinking that maybe I won't need one if I use elastic in certain spots. Very helpful review. Congrats on your success!
12/31/08 3:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow, awesome job.
12/31/08 9:09 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
You did a terrific job on your slipcovers!!! Thanks for the inspiration. I am curious- how long did it take to make the slipcovers?
1/1/09 4:30 AM
HatBuddy said...
Good Morning Jennifer, I dont exactly know how much time it took me. I didn't keep track. I do know that it took a long time. I work from home and the chair was beside the major traffic pattern so every time I walked by I thought about how to do this or that, worked on it or at least fussed with something or other. A more experienced seamstress would undoubtedly have spent much less time then me. Thanks for your positive feedback :)
1/1/09 12:37 PM
HatBuddy said...
Thank you ladies for your praise and positive feedback. I'm glad you like the slipcovers. It inspires me to keep learning and keep sewing.
1/1/09 12:50 PM
rottendog2 said...
Beautiful! An inspiration to follow.
1/16/09 11:08 PM
HatBuddy said...
Rottendog2 Thanks!
1/19/09 1:06 PM
dove29 said...
Great job with that chair slipcover! I like the color, too.
1/23/09 10:22 PM
pittysmom101 said...
WOW. Great Job, it certainly doesn't look like a beginner did it. I think you can upgrade yourself to a seasoned beginner now!
2/23/10 6:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 8752 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by tess on 11/25/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems 207 Irish Coat
photo
Review by Miss Fairc... on 1/1/11
Read Review

Butterick 5742 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5742 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1661 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1661 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us