SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> No Pattern Used (Custom Chair SlipCover)

83 more reviews
Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
United States
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/27/08 8:12 PM
Last Updated:2/23/10 6:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pittysmom101 said...
WOW. Great Job, it certainly doesn't look like a beginner did it. I think you can upgrade yourself to a seasoned beginner now!
2/23/10 6:28 PM
dove29 said...
Great job with that chair slipcover! I like the color, too.
1/23/09 10:22 PM
HatBuddy said...
Rottendog2 Thanks!
1/19/09 1:06 PM
rottendog2 said...
Beautiful! An inspiration to follow.
1/16/09 11:08 PM
HatBuddy said...
Thank you ladies for your praise and positive feedback. I'm glad you like the slipcovers. It inspires me to keep learning and keep sewing.
1/1/09 12:50 PM
HatBuddy said...
Good Morning Jennifer, I dont exactly know how much time it took me. I didn't keep track. I do know that it took a long time. I work from home and the chair was beside the major traffic pattern so every time I walked by I thought about how to do this or that, worked on it or at least fussed with something or other. A more experienced seamstress would undoubtedly have spent much less time then me. Thanks for your positive feedback :)
1/1/09 12:37 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
You did a terrific job on your slipcovers!!! Thanks for the inspiration. I am curious- how long did it take to make the slipcovers?
1/1/09 4:30 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow, awesome job.
12/31/08 9:09 PM
AnnieInNYC said...
Thanks so much for the review. I'm about to embark on my first slipcover project, and it's encouraging to see the fabulous results you achieved. I've also been wondering whether or not I'm going to need to put in a zipper to get a snug fit, and I'm thinking that maybe I won't need one if I use elastic in certain spots. Very helpful review. Congrats on your success!
12/31/08 3:43 PM
HatBuddy said...
Hi sew42mom, Thanks for writing! Little or no tucking required. The long ends are tucked deep and the chair cushion fits very tight requiring a firm shove to get it down into the bottom of the chair. I am, however, thinking about shortening the elastic around the chair cushion and/or maybe redoing with a firmer elastic to insure no problems.
12/30/08 1:41 PM
HatBuddy said...
Good Morning Craftygamma, What a really great tip. Thanks
12/30/08 1:32 PM
craftygamma said...
After reading comments, a tip came to mind. Use small strips of foam (1/4" or 1/2") to push down into your tucked areas. It holds the fabric tight when the furniture is used and you don't have to constantly keep tucking the fabric back in.
12/30/08 7:32 AM
craftygamma said...
Very nice job. I have done slipcovering and know how difficult it is. Don't plan to do it again....lol.
12/30/08 7:29 AM
sew42mom said...
Wow! You are much more adventurous than me. Your chair looks great - do you have to tuck in very much after sitting in it?
12/30/08 0:31 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a fantastic job with this slipcover. Your chair looks like it's in great shape, so updating it was a great idea. Good job on the ottoman, too.
12/29/08 9:48 PM
BetsyV said...
Nice work Hatbuddy! I have one of these projects too. It's nice to have someone else go first!
12/29/08 9:47 PM
quathy said...
I'm intimidated by the thought of making new slipcovers, which I desperately need. Your results are wonderful, and very encouraging. Thanks for all the tips!!
12/29/08 11:39 AM
Steffie said...
Very nice job on the slip cover. These can be sooooo much work. Yours turned out fantastic.
12/29/08 8:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking slipcover. Congratulations.
12/27/08 9:49 PM
Ody said...
That chair out of the 70s is probably better made than anything you can buy today. They used better materials and that makes it well worth recovering. You did an exceptional job and I have one I have to do as well. The chair looks great!
12/27/08 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-115

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info