SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 844 times 
Reviewed by:mars418
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mars418star
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/09 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
I LOVE that dress!
1/15/09 9:12 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful dress, and fits you so well. I love the fabric---very retro! I Beaver coming to your house for lunch June???
1/15/09 10:33 PM
sewtime said...
CUTE dress!!
1/15/09 11:22 PM
Renren said...
Sensational fit and perfect fabric! I may have to head over to Hancock's and see if I can find any. Six yards is a lot of fabric but it is all to good effect.
1/16/09 0:26 AM
Elona said...
A very pretty and becoming dress, excellent for your figure. I think the gaping that you remark is just a consequence of the V-neck. That diagonial line is exactly what it looks like--it's bias, and bias lines usually have to be stabilized or actually snugged up a bit more than the pattern suggests. There are various techniques for this, and probably most of them are searchable here at pr, using terms like 'bias' or 'bias neckline.'
1/16/09 0:46 AM
Caitycat said...
This pattern is in my stash - good to know about the bias neckline gape that needs to be stabilised. Looks GREAT apart from that - and honestly, if it was RTW you'd probably accept that small gape anyway!!
1/16/09 2:49 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks great on you!
1/16/09 9:10 AM
Jane S said...
wow, you look wonderful in this great dress. It's so feminine and flattering, bravo!
1/16/09 11:02 AM
Karendee said...
Nice dress!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
CatMukai said...
I didn't notice the gape at first glance but I did notice that this fits you really well! It looks like such a fun dress, too. Great job!
1/16/09 12:32 PM
Beek said...
Very flattering dress!
1/16/09 1:37 PM
Christas said...
Oh, this is so pretty. There are so many gifted seamstresses on this site. I hope someone will give you tips to make you like the fit of the top of it better. I just love your fabric choice and the pattern is so cute.
1/16/09 6:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 6459

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
McCall's 5269

photo
by: Victoria B

Review