Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 840 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:mars418
photo
Friend of PR
About mars418star
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/09 8:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
I LOVE that dress!
1/15/09 9:12 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful dress, and fits you so well. I love the fabric---very retro! I Beaver coming to your house for lunch June???
1/15/09 10:33 PM
sewtime said...
CUTE dress!!
1/15/09 11:22 PM
Renren said...
Sensational fit and perfect fabric! I may have to head over to Hancock's and see if I can find any. Six yards is a lot of fabric but it is all to good effect.
1/16/09 0:26 AM
Elona said...
A very pretty and becoming dress, excellent for your figure. I think the gaping that you remark is just a consequence of the V-neck. That diagonial line is exactly what it looks like--it's bias, and bias lines usually have to be stabilized or actually snugged up a bit more than the pattern suggests. There are various techniques for this, and probably most of them are searchable here at pr, using terms like 'bias' or 'bias neckline.'
1/16/09 0:46 AM
Caitycat said...
This pattern is in my stash - good to know about the bias neckline gape that needs to be stabilised. Looks GREAT apart from that - and honestly, if it was RTW you'd probably accept that small gape anyway!!
1/16/09 2:49 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks great on you!
1/16/09 9:10 AM
Jane S said...
wow, you look wonderful in this great dress. It's so feminine and flattering, bravo!
1/16/09 11:02 AM
Karendee said...
Nice dress!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
CatMukai said...
I didn't notice the gape at first glance but I did notice that this fits you really well! It looks like such a fun dress, too. Great job!
1/16/09 12:32 PM
Beek said...
Very flattering dress!
1/16/09 1:37 PM
Christas said...
Oh, this is so pretty. There are so many gifted seamstresses on this site. I hope someone will give you tips to make you like the fit of the top of it better. I just love your fabric choice and the pattern is so cute.
1/16/09 6:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us