SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 846 times 
Reviewed by:mars418
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mars418star
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/09 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Oh, this is so pretty. There are so many gifted seamstresses on this site. I hope someone will give you tips to make you like the fit of the top of it better. I just love your fabric choice and the pattern is so cute.
1/16/09 6:25 PM
Beek said...
Very flattering dress!
1/16/09 1:37 PM
CatMukai said...
I didn't notice the gape at first glance but I did notice that this fits you really well! It looks like such a fun dress, too. Great job!
1/16/09 12:32 PM
Karendee said...
Nice dress!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
Jane S said...
wow, you look wonderful in this great dress. It's so feminine and flattering, bravo!
1/16/09 11:02 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks great on you!
1/16/09 9:10 AM
Caitycat said...
This pattern is in my stash - good to know about the bias neckline gape that needs to be stabilised. Looks GREAT apart from that - and honestly, if it was RTW you'd probably accept that small gape anyway!!
1/16/09 2:49 AM
Elona said...
A very pretty and becoming dress, excellent for your figure. I think the gaping that you remark is just a consequence of the V-neck. That diagonial line is exactly what it looks like--it's bias, and bias lines usually have to be stabilized or actually snugged up a bit more than the pattern suggests. There are various techniques for this, and probably most of them are searchable here at pr, using terms like 'bias' or 'bias neckline.'
1/16/09 0:46 AM
Renren said...
Sensational fit and perfect fabric! I may have to head over to Hancock's and see if I can find any. Six yards is a lot of fabric but it is all to good effect.
1/16/09 0:26 AM
sewtime said...
CUTE dress!!
1/15/09 11:22 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful dress, and fits you so well. I love the fabric---very retro! I Beaver coming to your house for lunch June???
1/15/09 10:33 PM
Tiner W said...
I LOVE that dress!
1/15/09 9:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6236

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now