SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 846 times 
Reviewed by:mars418
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mars418star
TX USA
Member since: 1/2/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/09 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Oh, this is so pretty. There are so many gifted seamstresses on this site. I hope someone will give you tips to make you like the fit of the top of it better. I just love your fabric choice and the pattern is so cute.
1/16/09 6:25 PM
Beek said...
Very flattering dress!
1/16/09 1:37 PM
CatMukai said...
I didn't notice the gape at first glance but I did notice that this fits you really well! It looks like such a fun dress, too. Great job!
1/16/09 12:32 PM
Karendee said...
Nice dress!
1/16/09 12:21 PM
Jane S said...
wow, you look wonderful in this great dress. It's so feminine and flattering, bravo!
1/16/09 11:02 AM
wildberrymom said...
Looks great on you!
1/16/09 9:10 AM
Caitycat said...
This pattern is in my stash - good to know about the bias neckline gape that needs to be stabilised. Looks GREAT apart from that - and honestly, if it was RTW you'd probably accept that small gape anyway!!
1/16/09 2:49 AM
Elona said...
A very pretty and becoming dress, excellent for your figure. I think the gaping that you remark is just a consequence of the V-neck. That diagonial line is exactly what it looks like--it's bias, and bias lines usually have to be stabilized or actually snugged up a bit more than the pattern suggests. There are various techniques for this, and probably most of them are searchable here at pr, using terms like 'bias' or 'bias neckline.'
1/16/09 0:46 AM
Renren said...
Sensational fit and perfect fabric! I may have to head over to Hancock's and see if I can find any. Six yards is a lot of fabric but it is all to good effect.
1/16/09 0:26 AM
sewtime said...
CUTE dress!!
1/15/09 11:22 PM
Ody said...
Wonderful dress, and fits you so well. I love the fabric---very retro! I Beaver coming to your house for lunch June???
1/15/09 10:33 PM
Tiner W said...
I LOVE that dress!
1/15/09 9:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

PR Member's Pattern TanitIsis

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Simplicity 1443

photo
by: fourkid

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info