SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7227 (Easy to Sew)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1298 times 
Reviewed by:Evatgirl73
photo

 
 
About Evatgirl73starstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/28/03
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/03 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love what you did with the skirt. It's funny about the overlay "thing". I was in a very chi-chi shop yesterday and the buyer was showing me some skirts she just bought from an up-and-coming NY designer. They all have the overlay "thing". The overlays that she was showing were over straight hemmed skirs, and the point was at the side seam instead of the front. I thought they looked nice, but I think that over a flowy skirt like this pattern, it would almost look like an apron. You did a great job. -Ann
11/22/03 9:12 AM
candyo said...
i have this one cut out somewhere. i too omitted the overlay... just looks stupid w/ it. great job!
11/21/03 7:45 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Thank you for all the nice comments!!! I didn't lower the waist per se, but I did measure the elastic for where I wanted the skirt to sit (I *love* the low-rise cut!). I am 5'8" (yep, it's me in the pic and no I'm not a dancer. But thanks!), and I wanted this skirt to be longer than the envelop view ( so I could wear it w high-heeled boots..!), that's why I added length on both the skirt"body" and the flounces themselves. I'm pretty happy with it, but probably not something I'll wear to say playgroup etc..! Thanks again!
10/1/03 6:16 PM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
I agree with you on the over lay I think it would have been to busy with it. I really like the style and the boots were prefect for the skirt. I wish I had your figure after two kids I just can't get rid of the belly you look so slim and very lady like. I love skirts I am 5'9 so dresses never fit right I think I just might have to make this skirt so I can wear it with my new black boots. I sure hope control top panty hose are on sale somewhere :) again great job and if that's you in the pic great bod
10/1/03 5:15 PM
cindyann said...
Great! Looks wonderful with your boots!
10/1/03 4:28 PM
Pam Z said...
Your skirt looks fabulous on you!
10/1/03 2:14 PM
els said...
Great skirt.
10/1/03 2:11 PM
jlg said...
Great looking skirt. Stylish and a little edgy. Nice pose, also. Are you a dancer?
10/1/03 1:42 PM
Neefer said...
I love this pattern, and your alterations are wonderful! Did you lower the waist or is the pattern for a lowered waist?
10/1/03 12:21 PM
Lou. said...
I love your skirt!
10/1/03 12:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-108

photo
by: annie11

Review