SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-117 (8 gores paneled skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 469 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 129 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/09 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Cute skirt! You did a great job on those corners. I have found that I have to alter where you did for swingy skirts to work on my height, so I'll keep that in mind if I ever get around to this one.
1/9/09 4:03 PM
Deepika said...
Wow that skirt is so flattering and so is that top. The photo is so professional. Which pattern did you use for the top?
1/9/09 4:04 PM
21wale said...
Great review. And the skirt looks fabulous.
1/9/09 4:20 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, fantastic skirt! Thats for the altering/zipper tips!
1/9/09 4:40 PM
Lori V said...
Great review and fabulous skirt.
1/9/09 5:38 PM
Vonnevo said...
FABULOUS ! ! Thanks for your wonderful review :))))
1/9/09 5:48 PM
Twinset said...
Deepika: the top is copied from RTW. Someday I might review it. Thanks for the comments!
1/9/09 6:55 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Lovely skirt and I agree this is a really versatile pattern.
1/9/09 8:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful! Terrific work on the corners - your skirt looks perfect!
1/9/09 8:26 PM
Mahler said...
Quelle reussite cette jupe ! You look smashing hot with both skirt and red top. The skirt is really great. Bravo !
1/9/09 8:37 PM
Patti B said...
What a smashing skirt! You did an outstanding job. Sewing away from the corner is a big help when sewing this type of seam. Excellent review.
1/9/09 8:47 PM
bbgrilla said...
This skirt didn't jump out at me in the magazine but you make it look terrific. And THANK YOU for the fantastic corner tutorial. Really helpful!
1/9/09 9:26 PM
Ody said...
This turned into a wow skirt and thanks for the extremely informative review. I am copy pasting this information! Girlfriend, you look gorgeous in that skirt!!!
1/9/09 9:35 PM
TracyB said...
I learned so much from this review. You are the best teacher!
1/10/09 0:37 AM
nfield said...
Thank you for the wonderful review. I too learned very much from your clear instructions. The skirt looks fabulous on you! I must dig that issue out and try it for summer.
1/10/09 1:37 AM
Jali said...
Beautifully made skirt and great review. The skirt looks super on you and thank you for all the useful notes and pictures.
1/10/09 2:39 AM
merteuil said...
Great skirt, great review!
1/10/09 3:34 AM
inkstain said...
Very, very helpful review, and thanks for styling it with the right top, tights and shoes. So often I'm disappointed that the "look" hasn't been achieved in the photo because of lousy styling. And you have the figure to go with this slinky retro look. Many thanks!
1/10/09 4:04 AM
figtree said...
Lovely skirt, I was worried about the corners on this one too, but your tips are very clear and helpful. I wanted to make this but I had a non stretchy fabric in mind, would it work in your opinion? Thanks!
1/10/09 5:02 AM
Catbird said...
Sassy & classy! You look great. Thank you for all the detail in your review.
1/10/09 8:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
You should be singing in this very attractive skirt, jazzbird! Very nice review!
1/10/09 11:40 AM
crisford said...
What a gorgeous skirt! And your review has all sorts of goodies in it--thank you!
1/10/09 12:07 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Lovely skirt! Great to see it in full like yours cause as usual I can't see much in the BWOF model photo.....I also love the idea of a soft denim version of this, thanks for the inspiring review.
1/10/09 4:29 PM
jkaori said...
Fantastic skirt! Thank you for a thorough review!
1/10/09 8:29 PM
ChristineX said...
Great skirt!!
1/13/09 5:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now