SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-117 (8 gores paneled skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC Canada
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews: 70 (patterns: 65)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 137 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/09 3:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said... (1/13/09 5:28 PM) Reply
Great skirt!!
jkaori said... (1/10/09 8:29 PM) Reply
Fantastic skirt! Thank you for a thorough review!
mylittleelephant said... (1/10/09 4:29 PM) Reply
Lovely skirt! Great to see it in full like yours cause as usual I can't see much in the BWOF model photo.....I also love the idea of a soft denim version of this, thanks for the inspiring review.
crisford said... (1/10/09 12:07 PM) Reply
What a gorgeous skirt! And your review has all sorts of goodies in it--thank you!
Heatherrique said... (1/10/09 11:40 AM) Reply
You should be singing in this very attractive skirt, jazzbird! Very nice review!
Catbird said... (1/10/09 8:20 AM) Reply
Sassy & classy! You look great. Thank you for all the detail in your review.
figtree said... (1/10/09 5:02 AM) Reply
Lovely skirt, I was worried about the corners on this one too, but your tips are very clear and helpful. I wanted to make this but I had a non stretchy fabric in mind, would it work in your opinion? Thanks!
inkstain said... (1/10/09 4:04 AM) Reply
Very, very helpful review, and thanks for styling it with the right top, tights and shoes. So often I'm disappointed that the "look" hasn't been achieved in the photo because of lousy styling. And you have the figure to go with this slinky retro look. Many thanks!
merteuil said... (1/10/09 3:34 AM) Reply
Great skirt, great review!
Jali said... (1/10/09 2:39 AM) Reply
Beautifully made skirt and great review. The skirt looks super on you and thank you for all the useful notes and pictures.
nfield said... (1/10/09 1:37 AM) Reply
Thank you for the wonderful review. I too learned very much from your clear instructions. The skirt looks fabulous on you! I must dig that issue out and try it for summer.
TracyB said... (1/10/09 0:37 AM) Reply
I learned so much from this review. You are the best teacher!
Ody said... (1/9/09 9:35 PM) Reply
This turned into a wow skirt and thanks for the extremely informative review. I am copy pasting this information! Girlfriend, you look gorgeous in that skirt!!!
bbgrilla said... (1/9/09 9:26 PM) Reply
This skirt didn't jump out at me in the magazine but you make it look terrific. And THANK YOU for the fantastic corner tutorial. Really helpful!
Patti B said... (1/9/09 8:47 PM) Reply
What a smashing skirt! You did an outstanding job. Sewing away from the corner is a big help when sewing this type of seam. Excellent review.
Mahler said... (1/9/09 8:37 PM) Reply
Quelle reussite cette jupe ! You look smashing hot with both skirt and red top. The skirt is really great. Bravo !
Kay Y said... (1/9/09 8:26 PM) Reply
Beautiful! Terrific work on the corners - your skirt looks perfect!
Allie in Hong Kong said... (1/9/09 8:00 PM) Reply
Lovely skirt and I agree this is a really versatile pattern.
Twinset said... (1/9/09 6:55 PM) Reply
Deepika: the top is copied from RTW. Someday I might review it. Thanks for the comments!
Vonnevo said... (1/9/09 5:48 PM) Reply
FABULOUS ! ! Thanks for your wonderful review :))))
Lori V said... (1/9/09 5:38 PM) Reply
Great review and fabulous skirt.
amy in mpls said... (1/9/09 4:40 PM) Reply
Wow, fantastic skirt! Thats for the altering/zipper tips!
21wale said... (1/9/09 4:20 PM) Reply
Great review. And the skirt looks fabulous.
Deepika said... (1/9/09 4:04 PM) Reply
Wow that skirt is so flattering and so is that top. The photo is so professional. Which pattern did you use for the top?
nicegirl said... (1/9/09 4:03 PM) Reply
Cute skirt! You did a great job on those corners. I have found that I have to alter where you did for swingy skirts to work on my height, so I'll keep that in mind if I ever get around to this one.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 2339

photo
by: Danmar

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Pattern Details