SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5205 (Boatneck Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2139 times 
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo

 
 
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/03 4:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
This is so pretty! I've been waiting for just the right fabric to make up this view--thanks for the warning on the neck.
10/1/03 5:00 PM
Tee Jay said...
Rhonda, I made this same top in a green boucle, too, but not a nice boucle, mine is a bit scratchy from Jo-Ann's. You're right, I have a hard time telling the front from the back. I always trace my patterns like this onto that gridded interfacing material from J's so I don't ruin the expensive original, also, you may want to go up a size for diff material.
10/1/03 5:58 PM
Tee Jay said...
I meant to also say your top looks very good, just hit the return button too soon.
10/1/03 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
The top looks fantastic. It looks like it was probably worth all the wrestling with the fabric.
10/1/03 6:11 PM
KristenI said...
I also recently got this pattern. I can't wait to make it, but got to finish what I'm working on first. Great review. Thanks!
10/1/03 6:44 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This top really looks great in that pretty boucle. It always makes me feel so much better when someone has the same experience with a pattern as I did. I tried this one last winter in some black boucle with limited stretch from EOS. It was so tight I had to cut the cowl off or risk losing my ears! I will definitely size up on this one. Your review reminded me that I should be trying this one again, this time in a stretchier fabric.
10/1/03 6:48 PM
Diane E said...
Rhonda, your top is very very nice. I love that color and love boucle. I know what you mean about keeping track of the front and the back. Your point is very well taken. I hope Santa Baby gets your hints. Can we help by dropping him a few anonymous electronic nudges?
10/1/03 7:26 PM
AnneM said...
Great review, great top! (Good luck on the serger.) I am interested in the boat-neck version of this pattern, particularly because of that dart on the shoulder.
10/1/03 8:27 PM
Karen Bowers said...
it looks a lot like an eileen fisher sweater i got last winter! good for you!
10/1/03 8:29 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Nice cuddly winter top, Rhonda! I have this pattern, just haven't gotten around to making it up yet. Perhaps if I find something for winter. BTW, I love your reference to Santa Baby... ;}
10/1/03 10:36 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Thanks for all the kind comments, ladies! You all were reading while I was sleeping. LOL Anyway, I should have pointed out that the pattern doesn't seem to give any indication on how much stretch the fabric needs to have, but it should probably have more than 20-25% stretch across the grain. I'm not a stretch expert, unfortunately, so can't really tell exactly how much. Tee Jay, I too trace my patterns, but it seems that everything about this pattern was flimsy from the envelope, the pattern paper and even the instruction sheet is thinner and floppier. For $16 I thought it would all feel more substantial. The final product was worth it; and I do love the fabric. But I'll probably pass on any more sweater knits until I have that serger. ;-)
10/2/03 2:54 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Well, I simply have to try this boucle stuff, even though down here I'll only wear it a few times. Looks cozy - can't wait to see it on you at PR weekend!
10/2/03 12:19 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
The sweater looks great--I love that fabric. Despite the problems you described, it looks like it was worth it.
10/3/03 2:29 PM
SANDI DEVOY said...
I made this in a slinky from CJ and had pretty much the same experience as you did, except that I do have a serger and it is helpfu. But I was disappointed in the sizing, I have used LH patterns before so I thought I could use my usual size:(. I want to try it in a boucle as a boatneck, not a funnel.
10/5/03 11:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Betty, it was worth it. The fabric is really wonderful and perfect for this top. It doesn't photo very well, unfortunately. Sandi, the pix of the model's top on the pattern envelope certainly indicate that the pattern has plenty of ease. I guess the lesson learned here is to flat pattern measure regardless of the picture. ;-)
10/5/03 12:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 20013

photo
by: Dilliander

Review