SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1024 Coat (Sandra Betzina Wide Collar Coa)

Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 11:16 AM
Last Updated:1/1/09 1:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Nancy, I totally agree with you about coats being far easier to make than jackets. Your version is beautiful, the details are great. Thanks for a terrific review. Sue
12/30/08 11:26 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fabulous! I love that you've essentially made the reverse of the one in the pattern photo...
12/30/08 11:33 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I tried this on at one of SB workshops and it was a great coat - very flattering. Yours is terrific!
12/30/08 11:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful coat!!!
12/30/08 12:08 PM
blue mooney said...
You inspire me to try a coat again! Love that dramatic collar with the fur. Thanks for the heads-up on the fine points of the pattern.
12/30/08 12:24 PM
Karendee said...
I am so impressed with your fantastiic looking coat.
12/30/08 12:31 PM
marec said...
Nancy, this is so great. I love the fabrics you chose. And, how clever to reverse the pattern photo. I think this will really suit you.
12/30/08 12:42 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! It looks so cozy!
12/30/08 2:09 PM
Birgitte said...
I love this coat- just perfect choice of fabrics and style. You'll look fantastic!
12/30/08 2:37 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - inspires me to get my pattern out and give it a go!!
12/30/08 3:24 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat, I love the fur on the collar.
12/30/08 4:31 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow. I'm wooping it up over this one! You look great! the leopard print is a total eye-catcher without being overstated. The whole coat is stunning. The lining is really classy too.
12/30/08 6:11 PM
Michelle L said...
This is beautiful!! I love your coat!
12/30/08 7:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fun and fabulous!
12/30/08 8:38 PM
ButtonFaith said...
wowwee...what a snappy coat! great job on your first coat!
12/30/08 9:05 PM
Christas said...
Wow!!! What a very classy coat! The inside looks beautiful too!
12/30/08 9:25 PM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat and such a great addition to your endless combinations wardrobe.
12/30/08 10:50 PM
sewtime said...
All I can say is wow!! Everyone else has already said it!! WOW!
12/30/08 11:58 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful, Nancy! As usual, your review is fantastically thorough and very helpful. I am in the middle of a different Vogue coat, but will read Sandra's bagging technique before I get to that point and see if it's helpful for me. Gorgeous coat!
12/31/08 0:03 AM
angie.a said...
Beautiful coat, Nancy!
12/31/08 9:17 AM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I made a raglan-sleeve coat recently, too, and I love the look (and how much easier they are to do). SB's instructions for hemming and bagging the lining are great, I use them on everything now. Great result, wear this one with pride.
12/31/08 9:27 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Your coat is beautiful, nice job. I have this pattern so now I'm inspired to sew it.
12/31/08 12:01 PM
said...
This looks awesome on you! What a gorgeous coat!
1/1/09 2:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rhoda K said...
I always look forward to your reviews and your helpful tips. I agree with all comments above and love your coat!
1/1/09 4:08 PM
Liana said...
Ooh! How chic are you? I love the collar. You look fabulous!
1/1/09 4:20 PM
Annette1 said...
You look so pretty in your new coat, Nancy. I think it's PERFECT. Look how nicely it falls in the picture where you're wearing it open: PERFECT. I'm so glad you included that picture, too, because I'm ALWAYS tempted by this pattern, but I don't care for the real full swing style coats on me, and I was unsure about this one. As I see it on you, now I think I've GOT to have it! The collar frames your face beautifully, and I love your mix of fabrics!
1/1/09 7:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love it! Very, very nice!
1/1/09 7:58 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
1/1/09 11:34 PM
katie lynne said...
Oh my, this is so lovely. You've done beautiful work and selection of fabrics. Your review and comments are very helpful. Thanks so much...
1/5/09 3:17 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great review -- I picked up this pattern the other day based on your review and the tips that you gave. I have never made a coat for myself and this was the one I liked for next winter's coat. Going to work on a muslin and then will go looking for fabric. Thanks again for a thorough review
6/16/09 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-116

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review
New Look 6561

photo
by: Myspirit4

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now