SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1024 Coat (Sandra Betzina Wide Collar Coa)

Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 11:16 AM
Last Updated:1/1/09 1:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Nancy, I totally agree with you about coats being far easier to make than jackets. Your version is beautiful, the details are great. Thanks for a terrific review. Sue
12/30/08 11:26 AM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fabulous! I love that you've essentially made the reverse of the one in the pattern photo...
12/30/08 11:33 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I tried this on at one of SB workshops and it was a great coat - very flattering. Yours is terrific!
12/30/08 11:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful coat!!!
12/30/08 12:08 PM
blue mooney said...
You inspire me to try a coat again! Love that dramatic collar with the fur. Thanks for the heads-up on the fine points of the pattern.
12/30/08 12:24 PM
Karendee said...
I am so impressed with your fantastiic looking coat.
12/30/08 12:31 PM
marec said...
Nancy, this is so great. I love the fabrics you chose. And, how clever to reverse the pattern photo. I think this will really suit you.
12/30/08 12:42 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful! It looks so cozy!
12/30/08 2:09 PM
Birgitte said...
I love this coat- just perfect choice of fabrics and style. You'll look fantastic!
12/30/08 2:37 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - inspires me to get my pattern out and give it a go!!
12/30/08 3:24 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat, I love the fur on the collar.
12/30/08 4:31 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow. I'm wooping it up over this one! You look great! the leopard print is a total eye-catcher without being overstated. The whole coat is stunning. The lining is really classy too.
12/30/08 6:11 PM
Michelle L said...
This is beautiful!! I love your coat!
12/30/08 7:31 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fun and fabulous!
12/30/08 8:38 PM
ButtonFaith said...
wowwee...what a snappy coat! great job on your first coat!
12/30/08 9:05 PM
Christas said...
Wow!!! What a very classy coat! The inside looks beautiful too!
12/30/08 9:25 PM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat and such a great addition to your endless combinations wardrobe.
12/30/08 10:50 PM
sewtime said...
All I can say is wow!! Everyone else has already said it!! WOW!
12/30/08 11:58 PM
cindy-lou said...
Beautiful, Nancy! As usual, your review is fantastically thorough and very helpful. I am in the middle of a different Vogue coat, but will read Sandra's bagging technique before I get to that point and see if it's helpful for me. Gorgeous coat!
12/31/08 0:03 AM
angie.a said...
Beautiful coat, Nancy!
12/31/08 9:17 AM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I made a raglan-sleeve coat recently, too, and I love the look (and how much easier they are to do). SB's instructions for hemming and bagging the lining are great, I use them on everything now. Great result, wear this one with pride.
12/31/08 9:27 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Your coat is beautiful, nice job. I have this pattern so now I'm inspired to sew it.
12/31/08 12:01 PM
said...
This looks awesome on you! What a gorgeous coat!
1/1/09 2:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rhoda K said...
I always look forward to your reviews and your helpful tips. I agree with all comments above and love your coat!
1/1/09 4:08 PM
Liana said...
Ooh! How chic are you? I love the collar. You look fabulous!
1/1/09 4:20 PM
Annette1 said...
You look so pretty in your new coat, Nancy. I think it's PERFECT. Look how nicely it falls in the picture where you're wearing it open: PERFECT. I'm so glad you included that picture, too, because I'm ALWAYS tempted by this pattern, but I don't care for the real full swing style coats on me, and I was unsure about this one. As I see it on you, now I think I've GOT to have it! The collar frames your face beautifully, and I love your mix of fabrics!
1/1/09 7:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love it! Very, very nice!
1/1/09 7:58 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
1/1/09 11:34 PM
katie lynne said...
Oh my, this is so lovely. You've done beautiful work and selection of fabrics. Your review and comments are very helpful. Thanks so much...
1/5/09 3:17 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Great review -- I picked up this pattern the other day based on your review and the tips that you gave. I have never made a coat for myself and this was the one I liked for next winter's coat. Going to work on a muslin and then will go looking for fabric. Thanks again for a thorough review
6/16/09 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5882

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Simplicity 5720

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now