SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8545 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS)

Viewed 518 times 
Reviewed by:Joy Joy
photo

 
 
About Joy Joy
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/17/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 7:13 PM
Last Updated:12/30/08 9:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Well worth all your efforts, the coat is awesome! Thank you for a very thoughtful review.
12/30/08 7:25 PM
Winifred said...
Beautiful coat - thanks for such a good review. I do wish the pattern writers would consider those who are at the beginning end of their sewing careers more, and have better and clearer instructions. We cant all afford classes and probably a good number dont know about PR (where you learn a lot !!) We need to spread the word.
12/30/08 7:47 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Just fantastic.
12/30/08 8:26 PM
regine said...
Your cost is stunning and I am very impressed with all the changes you made, it was worth it!!
12/30/08 8:40 PM
Izzie said...
Before I read your review, I looked at your picture and thought, wow, her coat looks way better than the envelope picture...hmmmm no wonder! You had to re do the whole thing! Glad you kept at it, the coat is awesome.
12/30/08 9:37 PM
Christas said...
Your coat looks wonderful! Your efforts have produced excellent results.
12/30/08 9:53 PM
Nancywin said...
I agree that Vogue does not always give you enough bang for your buck. Your coat turned out beautifully and I'm sure it is very warm (and heavy!) You will get a lot of use out of this one.
12/30/08 10:43 PM
Athene said...
Your coat is lovely. I have been very curious about this pattern - and your version is wonderful thanks to all the extra work you did - Vogue instructions and drafting can be a bit disappointing at times.
12/30/08 10:56 PM
sewtime said...
Love your coat!
12/30/08 11:57 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat!
12/31/08 5:37 AM
bebrown said...
Beautiful coat! I've been looking at this pattern particularly the view with the great looking collar but I'm also short -- guess I'll keeping looking. I hate having to reinvent the wheel when I sew.
12/31/08 8:57 AM
Kay Y said...
Your coat is beautiful - good save on the proportions and details! I'm curious to know what sort of stitch you used for the topstitching - is it a blanket stitch? Any chance of more photos??
12/31/08 9:07 AM
Nancy K said...
They really have gotten lazy with their instructions lately. But, you seem to have triumphed and have a great, cozy and warm coat, just as you wanted. Lovely
12/31/08 12:11 PM
katie lynne said...
Ooooh, I want your coat! You've created a splendid coat. Your craftsmanship is impeccable. I LOVE the fabric. I long for a hood/caped collar like this. And I agree with Izzie, your coat is far more stylish and appealing than the envelope's illustration. Thank you for such a marvelous review!
1/5/09 3:10 PM
AMarie said...
I'm so glad you made the version with the attached collar/scarf. That was what attracted me to this pattern since I was looking for a coat with a hood of some sort. That is disappointing and surprising that Vogue didn't provide clearer instructions. If I decide to make this coat, I will take your advice and make a gusset to go under the arm section. Your coat turned out beautiful despite all the obstacles you had to overcome. Thanks for sharing your experience.
3/30/10 8:34 PM
moduff67 said...
I literally have this pattern on my coffee table, ready to cut out tonight in a red/black/grey wool houndstooth check coat fabric I bought from emmaonesock.com. I am SO glad I read your remarks as I am 5'7" and may need to watch that overall length AND the 'lite' instructions. What about buttonholes: does the front edge have enough support? Should I make my own facing and interface it? Lining is out, since it needs to drape. Thanks much to Joy Joy! -Maureen
11/29/10 2:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

No Pattern Used Super Super Easy Tissue H

photo
by: jannw

Review
Sew Liberated Growing Up Sew Liberated

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now