Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8545 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 512 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Joy Joy
photo
About Joy Joy
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/17/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/08 7:13 PM
Last Updated:12/30/08 9:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Well worth all your efforts, the coat is awesome! Thank you for a very thoughtful review.
12/30/08 7:25 PM
Winifred said...
Beautiful coat - thanks for such a good review. I do wish the pattern writers would consider those who are at the beginning end of their sewing careers more, and have better and clearer instructions. We cant all afford classes and probably a good number dont know about PR (where you learn a lot !!) We need to spread the word.
12/30/08 7:47 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Just fantastic.
12/30/08 8:26 PM
regine said...
Your cost is stunning and I am very impressed with all the changes you made, it was worth it!!
12/30/08 8:40 PM
Izzie said...
Before I read your review, I looked at your picture and thought, wow, her coat looks way better than the envelope picture...hmmmm no wonder! You had to re do the whole thing! Glad you kept at it, the coat is awesome.
12/30/08 9:37 PM
Christas said...
Your coat looks wonderful! Your efforts have produced excellent results.
12/30/08 9:53 PM
Nancywin said...
I agree that Vogue does not always give you enough bang for your buck. Your coat turned out beautifully and I'm sure it is very warm (and heavy!) You will get a lot of use out of this one.
12/30/08 10:43 PM
Athene said...
Your coat is lovely. I have been very curious about this pattern - and your version is wonderful thanks to all the extra work you did - Vogue instructions and drafting can be a bit disappointing at times.
12/30/08 10:56 PM
sewtime said...
Love your coat!
12/30/08 11:57 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat!
12/31/08 5:37 AM
bebrown said...
Beautiful coat! I've been looking at this pattern particularly the view with the great looking collar but I'm also short -- guess I'll keeping looking. I hate having to reinvent the wheel when I sew.
12/31/08 8:57 AM
Kay Y said...
Your coat is beautiful - good save on the proportions and details! I'm curious to know what sort of stitch you used for the topstitching - is it a blanket stitch? Any chance of more photos??
12/31/08 9:07 AM
Nancy K said...
They really have gotten lazy with their instructions lately. But, you seem to have triumphed and have a great, cozy and warm coat, just as you wanted. Lovely
12/31/08 12:11 PM
katie lynne said...
Ooooh, I want your coat! You've created a splendid coat. Your craftsmanship is impeccable. I LOVE the fabric. I long for a hood/caped collar like this. And I agree with Izzie, your coat is far more stylish and appealing than the envelope's illustration. Thank you for such a marvelous review!
1/5/09 3:10 PM
AMarie said...
I'm so glad you made the version with the attached collar/scarf. That was what attracted me to this pattern since I was looking for a coat with a hood of some sort. That is disappointing and surprising that Vogue didn't provide clearer instructions. If I decide to make this coat, I will take your advice and make a gusset to go under the arm section. Your coat turned out beautiful despite all the obstacles you had to overcome. Thanks for sharing your experience.
3/30/10 8:34 PM
moduff67 said...
I literally have this pattern on my coffee table, ready to cut out tonight in a red/black/grey wool houndstooth check coat fabric I bought from emmaonesock.com. I am SO glad I read your remarks as I am 5'7" and may need to watch that overall length AND the 'lite' instructions. What about buttonholes: does the front edge have enough support? Should I make my own facing and interface it? Lining is out, since it needs to drape. Thanks much to Joy Joy! -Maureen
11/29/10 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used No pattern number
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1801 Misses Dress
photo
Review by ThreadsofF... on 1/21/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us