Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1064 (Deco Vibe Tango Blouses) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 434 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 3:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Differences from the envelope aside, you still have a very pretty blouse! That pink is a great color on you!
12/31/08 3:22 PM
Michelle L said...
I like your blouse a lot, that is a FANTASTIC color on you, and those cuffs are everywhere this season! But I am with you...it's not that I don't like Hot Patterns, it's just that if it's the first time I'm making one of their patterns, it's kind of a crap shoot as to whether what I end up with will bear even the remotest resemblence to what is on the envelope!!! I'm currently taking bets as to whether the kimono dress I have cut out will look at all like the illustration...perhaps if I really suck in and slouch a lot it will....
12/31/08 3:24 PM
Christas said...
The blouse does look very cute on you. Hot pink is definitely your color! Thanks for the heads up about the drafting issues.
12/31/08 4:13 PM
Kbenco said...
The colour is gorgeous on you, and I like the cuffs, but I would be really annoyed at making a blouse that did not look like the illustration! Thanks for the heads up.
12/31/08 5:16 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that it looks good on you the way that you made it. Thank you for sharing, this is very helpful.
12/31/08 5:38 PM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, and you look a great in it! Your review is very helpful! Fantastic color on you!
12/31/08 6:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like this blouse, especially the color. In order to get rid of those draglines, try doing a sloping shoulder alteration. I'd remove 1/2 inch sloping to zero at the neckline. Pin it first and see if it makes the draglines disappear. Then you can remove the sleeve, made the alteration, add more gathers to the sleeve cap and sew the sleeve back on.
12/31/08 8:00 PM
angie.a said...
The color looks so pretty on you! But that is exactly why I don't sew from HP...I love to look at their illustrations, but I use some other pattern to get the look (hey, if I"m going to have to reinvent the wheel, its nice to have dependable help. Like BWOF.)
12/31/08 8:24 PM
craftylady66 said...
That color is gorgeous on you! Nice job!
12/31/08 8:43 PM
Annette1 said...
You're BEAUTIFUL in this blouse, Louella! Maybe they should put you on the pattern as a "real live illustration" of just how pretty it can be (with considerable tweaking -- ha)! You should fill your closet with this color! I agree with others on unrelaistic pattern illustrations. In fact, I think it's safe to say that's one of my PET PEEVES. If they would even include a picture of the garment on a model and STILL keep their unrealistic illustrations, it would help. I LOVE YOUR BLOUSE! Oh, as for the drag lines: Having Cocker Spaniel shoulders, I end up with draglines on almost EVERYTHING, so I choose to put shoulder pads in almost EVERYTHING, just small ones, but it really helps. Of course, with Sherrill's suggestion, then you don't have to worry about it! Thanks for another GREAT review!
12/31/08 11:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you ladies for your very kind comments! Sherril, thanks for the suggestion. I cannot wait to try that sloping shoulder adjustment....I have other HP's in my stash to try. Anyway, I plan not to buy any more patterns from HP! I have better luck with Burda and from time to time any of the Big 4...
1/1/09 8:06 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your blouse turned out beautifully--in hot pink, it's striking! And I love the sleeves! They're soo in style right now--can't look anywhere without seeing them! You did a great job!
1/2/09 10:20 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, from the front this really looks fabulous on you! The color is superb and a great match for the garment that you have come up with, even though it differs from the pattern envelope. I'm sure that not too many people will notice the drag lines that you've identified. I think most people will be mesmerised by a stunning garment.
1/25/09 6:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 8020
photo
Review by CissieW on 11/3/12
Read Review

Burda 7170 Pattern
Burda 7170 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6538 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-14 Pants
photo
Review by Sandi S on 7/13/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us