SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1064 (Deco Vibe Tango Blouses)

Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/08 3:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Differences from the envelope aside, you still have a very pretty blouse! That pink is a great color on you!
12/31/08 3:22 PM
Michelle L said...
I like your blouse a lot, that is a FANTASTIC color on you, and those cuffs are everywhere this season! But I am with you...it's not that I don't like Hot Patterns, it's just that if it's the first time I'm making one of their patterns, it's kind of a crap shoot as to whether what I end up with will bear even the remotest resemblence to what is on the envelope!!! I'm currently taking bets as to whether the kimono dress I have cut out will look at all like the illustration...perhaps if I really suck in and slouch a lot it will....
12/31/08 3:24 PM
Christas said...
The blouse does look very cute on you. Hot pink is definitely your color! Thanks for the heads up about the drafting issues.
12/31/08 4:13 PM
Kbenco said...
The colour is gorgeous on you, and I like the cuffs, but I would be really annoyed at making a blouse that did not look like the illustration! Thanks for the heads up.
12/31/08 5:16 PM
Re Becca said...
I think that it looks good on you the way that you made it. Thank you for sharing, this is very helpful.
12/31/08 5:38 PM
sewtime said...
Love your blouse, and you look a great in it! Your review is very helpful! Fantastic color on you!
12/31/08 6:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like this blouse, especially the color. In order to get rid of those draglines, try doing a sloping shoulder alteration. I'd remove 1/2 inch sloping to zero at the neckline. Pin it first and see if it makes the draglines disappear. Then you can remove the sleeve, made the alteration, add more gathers to the sleeve cap and sew the sleeve back on.
12/31/08 8:00 PM
angie.a said...
The color looks so pretty on you! But that is exactly why I don't sew from HP...I love to look at their illustrations, but I use some other pattern to get the look (hey, if I"m going to have to reinvent the wheel, its nice to have dependable help. Like BWOF.)
12/31/08 8:24 PM
craftylady66 said...
That color is gorgeous on you! Nice job!
12/31/08 8:43 PM
Annette1 said...
You're BEAUTIFUL in this blouse, Louella! Maybe they should put you on the pattern as a "real live illustration" of just how pretty it can be (with considerable tweaking -- ha)! You should fill your closet with this color! I agree with others on unrelaistic pattern illustrations. In fact, I think it's safe to say that's one of my PET PEEVES. If they would even include a picture of the garment on a model and STILL keep their unrealistic illustrations, it would help. I LOVE YOUR BLOUSE! Oh, as for the drag lines: Having Cocker Spaniel shoulders, I end up with draglines on almost EVERYTHING, so I choose to put shoulder pads in almost EVERYTHING, just small ones, but it really helps. Of course, with Sherrill's suggestion, then you don't have to worry about it! Thanks for another GREAT review!
12/31/08 11:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you ladies for your very kind comments! Sherril, thanks for the suggestion. I cannot wait to try that sloping shoulder adjustment....I have other HP's in my stash to try. Anyway, I plan not to buy any more patterns from HP! I have better luck with Burda and from time to time any of the Big 4...
1/1/09 8:06 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your blouse turned out beautifully--in hot pink, it's striking! And I love the sleeves! They're soo in style right now--can't look anywhere without seeing them! You did a great job!
1/2/09 10:20 AM
Karen8320 said...
Louella, from the front this really looks fabulous on you! The color is superb and a great match for the garment that you have come up with, even though it differs from the pattern envelope. I'm sure that not too many people will notice the drag lines that you've identified. I think most people will be mesmerised by a stunning garment.
1/25/09 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now