SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5242 (Swishy pleated party dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 725 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/09 1:42 PM
Last Updated:1/1/09 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Wow! Fabulous dress!!
1/1/09 1:45 PM
wendlesue said...
Fabulous color, beautiful dress.
1/1/09 2:33 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely beautiful dress!
1/1/09 2:44 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very pretty dress! I'm making this in spring so am happy to see your detailed review. Thanks!
1/1/09 2:46 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
That is one gorgeous dress -- the color caught my eye, and your review is so helpful! Thanks so much. I also find that sewing cuffs, etc is SO much easier flat - why do instructions always direct us to sew in the round? I mean, I know there are shaping advantages to sewing in the round, but the screw-up possibilities just shoot up exponentially for me, which more than balances it out.
1/1/09 3:54 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful, and it looks like it was great fun to wear. Great review.
1/1/09 4:17 PM
Sewing Chick said...
Thanks for the review! I'm actually sewing this dress now for my daughter. She plans to wear it to work with a cami under it. Your dress is gorgeous!
1/1/09 4:28 PM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous! Love your fabric choice.
1/1/09 5:00 PM
OP Gal said...
Lovely dress. I think the brooch really adds a nice touch. How lucky to find something that worked so well in your costume jewelry "stash." I'd love to see a photo of you wearing the dress.
1/1/09 5:15 PM
marjenann said...
Dazzling!!
1/1/09 5:38 PM
sailor girl said...
really gorgeous and the brooch adds so much to the look
1/1/09 6:10 PM
Tiner W said...
Stunning dress! And I knew it was yours when I saw the photo!
1/1/09 6:26 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is such a pretty dress! I am sure you looked gorgeous in it!
1/1/09 8:43 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful style, and that broach is a perfect touch.
1/2/09 7:18 AM
JamieLiz said...
Beautiful dress, and very helpful review. Thanks so much!
1/2/09 8:25 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful, as always. I bet this looked great on you. I'm with you about sleeveless in the winter.
1/2/09 8:28 AM
Luckylibbet said...
WOW! So beautiful... I can just see you dancing in the moonlight and toasting the New Year in this swishy dress! And of course, a really helpful review to guide all those who want to try it too. Thanks!
1/2/09 8:40 AM
Ellenatlga said...
ooooohh...love the color, love the fabric, love the dress!
1/2/09 9:17 AM
katie lynne said...
Great review and comments, they helped me a lot. Very pretty dress...wish I could see it on you!
1/2/09 8:36 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is a gorgeous dress - hope you had fun wearing it!
1/3/09 11:51 AM
senaSews said...
I love this top, what a wonderful color!
1/5/09 3:30 AM
Annette T. E. said...
I just picked up this pattern yesterday. I am very thankful for the heads up on the sizing, pleats, marking & cuff to sleeve construction. Your dress looks great!
1/13/09 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8552

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: punkmik

Review
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now