Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 714 (Cross Your Heart or V-Neck Tee) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2299 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/09 3:52 AM
Last Updated:1/4/10 1:33 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Great review and EXTREMELY helpful...THANKS! Can't wait to see your finished top.
1/1/09 10:34 PM
Mermie said...
Thank you Belinda. Great review.
1/1/09 10:51 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the great review - I look forward to seeing the finished top!
1/1/09 11:20 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Thanks for the sizing worksheet AND your valuable opinion on how to use it effectively! I'll be using that in future. Also thanks for your comments on fitting this top - I'm really looking forward to the final garment on you! Cheers and happy sewing!
1/2/09 7:59 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I just know your finished top will be great. Looking forward to seing it.
1/2/09 8:15 AM
JamieLiz said...
Thanks for the "pre" review and introduction (for me at least) to Christine Jonson patterns. Very intriguing!
1/2/09 8:32 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for the sizing worksheet. It's very helpful. Also, your opinion on this pattern is timely as I've been looking at the CJ line from time to time and wondered about them. Waiting to see the finished review and photos.
1/2/09 8:37 AM
Joy Joy said...
Thank you for this review. I have the same body type and I am just beginning in learning how to do a FBA. I have made outerwear mostly and adjustments are not of the same nature. I am an advance sewer, but with Gortex ect. A FBA is brand new for me. I have bookmarked your review as a reference.
1/2/09 9:26 AM
Kay Y said...
Really interesting pattern - I can't wait to see your completed top.
1/2/09 9:46 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks for this review. I have found her patterns to be just too snug in the past, but this is a great pattern and I may just go for it with your great advice.
1/2/09 11:27 AM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review. I JUST bought this pattern and am anxiously awaiting its arrival so I can promptly throw it in the pile and forget I have it. When I later happen upon it, I'll be looking up your review! I'm not very hopeful on the gathered style for me, though. If the bust gathers are high on YOU, then they'll probably be strangling me. I like BOTH views, though, so by hook or by crook, I'll come up with something! Can't wait to see your finished product! :o)
1/2/09 6:14 PM
nancy2001 said...
I just received this pattern this afternoon and am planning to start the other version (the v-neck) tomorrow. Thank you for your very helpful review.
1/2/09 7:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looking forward to seeing your finished garment. I just learned of this pattern and your review is very timely.
1/2/09 10:20 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the pictures of how you did the FBA and lowering the gathers. I would have been stumped by the FBA on that front. Very helpful info for such a new pattern.
1/3/09 4:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
I had the very same problems with this pattern - bust gathers hit way too high, shoulder gathers flattened out even though I stabilized the back shoulder, back neck too high and neckline strangled me (unlike anything I've experienced with other CJ Patterns!) I do not normally need to lower the bust line. I used a stretch velvet and had a terrible time getting the corners to work, even with stabilizer. I will try again with your suggestions & an easier knit - since stretch panne velvet tends to shift badly. I am looking forward to your updates and how the FBA worked out. I did my FBA a little differently. I love CJ patterns and do not normally have any difficulty after doing an FBA.
1/4/09 6:25 PM
Deepika said...
What a great review! I can't wait to see your finished top. The pattern looks promising.
1/24/09 11:00 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for such a great review. I've made a couple of cj patterns that have been too tight. Thanks for the idea re % of stretch. I'm going to try it next time.
6/14/09 6:31 PM
Lynnelle said...
Thank you for writing such a detailed review. I only have one CJ pattern and had OK success with it. Your review has inspired me to take a second look. I can't wait to see your top.
7/4/09 8:52 AM
KBT Sewer said...
Really good review.I've just bought this pattern and have the same fitting problems.Looking forward to seeing your finished top
8/3/09 2:59 PM
taylormade said...
Great pictures and comments
8/7/09 5:56 PM
cindyann said...
This is just a fantastic review!
10/28/09 8:09 AM
Athene said...
You look great in your top. A beautiful fit. But wow, you had to do a lot of work to get there. Thank you for such a thorough review.
1/4/10 1:44 AM
Barbara3 said...
I'm impressed with your persistence. It certainly paid off. Beautiful top that looks like a perfect fit.
1/4/10 2:13 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your top looks perfect. Thank you for your great review.
1/4/10 6:54 AM
Lori V said...
Your top looks great and all your hard work paid off. Thanks for all the information on this pattern.
1/4/10 7:33 AM
mhk3boys said...
I love your top! Thanks for the awesome alteration photos and descriptions!
1/4/10 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Am so glad it all worked out for you and you deserve a star for sticking with it for so long - I think I would have tossed it. However, your end result is beautiful and I guess this pattern can now be one of your TNTs. Thanks for such athorough review
1/4/10 9:40 AM
Barbara3 said...
Sorry, I inadvertently refreshed my computer before going off this page and my comment reposted.
1/4/10 10:53 AM
Patti B said...
Well, the end result was worth it! I am amazed that it took so much fiddling but will save your review for my attempt. Not like the normal CJ pattern IMHO.
1/4/10 11:01 AM
sewbehind said...
A very helpful review, Belinda. Your finished product looks lovely on you. However, all that work to make it work!
1/4/10 11:14 AM
j222b said...
Perfect top. Perfect review!
1/4/10 3:11 PM
Nata said...
Love how you used the circles without getting that dreaded target look. Great job.
1/4/10 4:34 PM
carolhope said...
This review is what Pattern Review is all about! Thank you so much.
1/4/10 6:43 PM
Andi said...
Your finished top looks great. I was surprised you had such difficulty with this top, as it fit me right out of the envelope. I guess we all have different shapes! Thanks for putting together such a detailed review! HAve you tried the other top in this pattern?
1/4/10 8:50 PM
Robin Denning said...
Hi Belinda, your top is wonderfully flattering. I am so glad you wrote such a detailed review. I would like to try this top and it's good to be prepared. A big success!
2/9/10 6:54 PM
heatherst said...
Thanks for your very detailed review. I want to make this top and your review will be very helpful to me.
2/9/10 10:17 PM
A of EC said...
Thank you for such a detailed review! Fabulous sewing, I appriciate your persistence and results and thank you for sharing all the details of how you got there. My DD and I are both DDD cups on small rib cages and I am hoping to do some stylish knit tops for her very trim figure in the next few weeks. Thanks again!
2/15/10 1:43 PM
LucyGoose said...
Thanks so much for the alteration advice - I'd really like to make this top and I think it will come in handy!
2/20/10 11:51 AM
Lou05 said...
Thanks for the terrific job you've done -- with your top and with details of all the changes you had to make. I love your finished product. Now I might be brave enough to try this one since I know I'll have many similar issues. Thank you so much.
5/12/10 2:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Burda 8394 Ensemble
photo
Review by Margaret on 3/19/10
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Mae Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3740
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 3/30/04
Read Review

Simplicity 2197 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2197 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5683 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5683 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us