Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4116 (Turban, Headwrap and Caps) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 284 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Sofia Lu
photo
About Sofia Lu
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/09 4:14 PM
Last Updated:1/24/09 7:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $11.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.96  List Price: $14.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SueV said...
How nice of you to make your sister a hat! Your support will go a long way during her chemo!
1/2/09 4:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute hat!
1/2/09 5:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, first of all, I could look at this picture all day! :o)) What a GREAT hat you've made for your sister. I love the cheerful sequins, and I know it will brighten her days to look at that hat. I made Views C and G for my girlfriend who is undergoing chemo and now radiation. :o( She liked the one with the tie in the back the best. One thing I thought I'd just mention: On that one that has the neat twisty thing on it (View C), I first made the hat and just tried it on myself, you know. Then I made the twisty thing, added it and tried it on, and it made it a LOT tighter. However, I was using fleece, AND I lined it in fleece, so see, that could have made a difference. It was so cute though! I found some gray/black herringbone fleece at Wal-Mart, and I had it lined in red. The twisty was also the gray/black material, but I thought it would be cute to make a contrasting twisty, too. At any rate, you should see how cute my girlfriend is with no hair! She's BEAUTIFUL, and I know your sister will be too, but even more so with her new hats! I'll say a prayer for your sister and for you. Oh, yeah, and I thought this was the NEATEST idea: Christas told me when her mom was undergoing chemo, she made her a sweatsuit to wear while she was there, and all over the sweatsuit, she had all of the grandkids' names embroidered in little hearts. I HOPE I'm remembering this story correctly. I thought that was the BEST idea though. She could look at all those hearts and know how much everyone loved her and see all their names right there. :o) Now that I think about it, I think I made View D on this pattern for her, too. I made that one in red fleece, and it turned out real cute too! I added a little snowflake pin to it. You and your sister will have all kinds of fun coming up with cute ideas!
1/2/09 6:34 PM
Elona said...
Adorable hat (and model)! This is one of the all-time best hat patterns any company has ever offered. The range of attractive designs and possibilities in that one envelope, and their adaptability for chemo patients, makes this pattern an absolute winner
1/2/09 9:09 PM
Sofia Lu said...
Thank you for all your comments! Annette1, I got new inspiration now. Thank you! I bought three or four new fabrics today. I'll keep adding photos.
1/3/09 10:33 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What a thoughful gesture for your sister. Support is so vital at a time like this- and actions speak louder than words! I made this hat for a good friend who was undergoing chemo. I used Red sari silk for one and blue terry for the other. They both turned out great. Her doctor wanted to know where she bought them because they were so much better looking than your average chemo cap. Make her a few more- out of love.
1/3/09 10:38 AM
Catbird said...
This photo is completely adorable! The hat is full of good spirit (as is your little model) and is sure to give your sister strength and joy. I wish her well.
1/3/09 8:24 PM
Renren said...
I love your new hats and I'm sure your sister will, too. They are all cute, but I think I especially like the dark one with the bright-colored braid. It has a festive court jester/Mardi Gras feel to it. And what a precious model you have found!
1/24/09 10:09 AM
petro said...
great hats! Well done, they're so original and cheerful, and will surely help during the healing process. best wishes for your sister.
1/24/09 11:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 9782 baby layette
photo
Review by mymehigan on 1/10/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2984 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )
Simplicity 2685 Pattern( Size OneSize )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2659
photo
Review by josie e on 11/4/09
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us