SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4116 (Turban, Headwrap and Caps)

10 more reviews
Viewed 293 times 
Reviewed by:Sofia Lu
photo

 
 
About Sofia Lu
SWEDEN
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/09 4:14 PM
Last Updated:1/24/09 7:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SueV said...
How nice of you to make your sister a hat! Your support will go a long way during her chemo!
1/2/09 4:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute hat!
1/2/09 5:10 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, first of all, I could look at this picture all day! :o)) What a GREAT hat you've made for your sister. I love the cheerful sequins, and I know it will brighten her days to look at that hat. I made Views C and G for my girlfriend who is undergoing chemo and now radiation. :o( She liked the one with the tie in the back the best. One thing I thought I'd just mention: On that one that has the neat twisty thing on it (View C), I first made the hat and just tried it on myself, you know. Then I made the twisty thing, added it and tried it on, and it made it a LOT tighter. However, I was using fleece, AND I lined it in fleece, so see, that could have made a difference. It was so cute though! I found some gray/black herringbone fleece at Wal-Mart, and I had it lined in red. The twisty was also the gray/black material, but I thought it would be cute to make a contrasting twisty, too. At any rate, you should see how cute my girlfriend is with no hair! She's BEAUTIFUL, and I know your sister will be too, but even more so with her new hats! I'll say a prayer for your sister and for you. Oh, yeah, and I thought this was the NEATEST idea: Christas told me when her mom was undergoing chemo, she made her a sweatsuit to wear while she was there, and all over the sweatsuit, she had all of the grandkids' names embroidered in little hearts. I HOPE I'm remembering this story correctly. I thought that was the BEST idea though. She could look at all those hearts and know how much everyone loved her and see all their names right there. :o) Now that I think about it, I think I made View D on this pattern for her, too. I made that one in red fleece, and it turned out real cute too! I added a little snowflake pin to it. You and your sister will have all kinds of fun coming up with cute ideas!
1/2/09 6:34 PM
Elona said...
Adorable hat (and model)! This is one of the all-time best hat patterns any company has ever offered. The range of attractive designs and possibilities in that one envelope, and their adaptability for chemo patients, makes this pattern an absolute winner
1/2/09 9:09 PM
Sofia Lu said...
Thank you for all your comments! Annette1, I got new inspiration now. Thank you! I bought three or four new fabrics today. I'll keep adding photos.
1/3/09 10:33 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What a thoughful gesture for your sister. Support is so vital at a time like this- and actions speak louder than words! I made this hat for a good friend who was undergoing chemo. I used Red sari silk for one and blue terry for the other. They both turned out great. Her doctor wanted to know where she bought them because they were so much better looking than your average chemo cap. Make her a few more- out of love.
1/3/09 10:38 AM
Catbird said...
This photo is completely adorable! The hat is full of good spirit (as is your little model) and is sure to give your sister strength and joy. I wish her well.
1/3/09 8:24 PM
Renren said...
I love your new hats and I'm sure your sister will, too. They are all cute, but I think I especially like the dark one with the bright-colored braid. It has a festive court jester/Mardi Gras feel to it. And what a precious model you have found!
1/24/09 10:09 AM
petro said...
great hats! Well done, they're so original and cheerful, and will surely help during the healing process. best wishes for your sister.
1/24/09 11:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now