SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2952 (Blouses)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1884 times 
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/03 9:35 AM
Last Updated:11/6/03 11:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said...
Great review, very thorough. KS patterns are just about perfect, I think. Glad you had such success!
10/4/03 9:44 AM
CindyK said...
Great complete review. Love the plaid shirt!! I have this pattern and haven't made it yet. I'm under 5 feet -- with some downsizing, do you think it will work for someone short too?
10/4/03 9:45 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
CindyK-Go for it! I think any adjustments would be easy to go up or down! I was surprised how much I had to add, so it probably leans more towards petite people.
10/4/03 10:34 AM
Mini said...
This is a helpful review for taller women. Anyoone who is taller (or shorter) than what the fashion industry considers "average" will have a hard time buying blouses that fit. Cindy, these patterns are drafted for a 5'6" misses' figure. They do need to adjusted for taller or shorter women, but are well worth the small amount of time this takes. I am 5'4" and love the proportions of Kwik Sew. You might consider using your high bust measurement when tracing a size for your shoulders and upper body. Most women with narrow or average shoulders will get a les oversized fit this way.
10/4/03 11:02 AM
Janet D said...
Excellent review. I love the bias pocket & cuff trim - little details add so much character to a basic shirt. Beautiful job!
10/4/03 11:18 AM
Sherril Miller said...
What a wonderful wardrobe staple. Every woman needs a great shirt pattern. KWIK SEW can usually be counted on to sew up a winner. I love the brown suede---and from WW, no less. I have to go get this pattern. I can see shirt jackets in wovens (tencel?) for my "teacher" uniform made with this pattern.
10/4/03 12:35 PM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the tip on the Frankenstein walk: I find that annpying tightness sometimes, I'll have to try your test. Nice job of pattern adjustment, I like your bias cuff trim.
10/4/03 12:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thank you for an excellent review. I'm also tall and have similar fitting problems. I especially appreciate your fix for underarm "droopiness" which I frequently experience. I will try your technique of lowering the armhole on my next shirt.
10/4/03 1:33 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks for ya'll's nice comments. I had fun yesterday afternoon tearing out pages from the J.Jill, Chico's and Talbot's catalogs for inspirational ideas, incarnations and variations for the blouse! :-)
10/5/03 10:40 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Excellent review, very helpful!!! The shirts came out really nice, I especially like the blue "suede" one!
10/5/03 1:20 PM
lwilsonnh said...
Excellent review! Thank you so much for the detailed comments. I'll have to get this pattern.
10/5/03 6:17 PM
Mollykat said...
Great looking shirts
11/6/03 12:04 PM
Gina Marie said...
Being of above averga eheight myself I am gratefull for your review !! I have this pattern and I htink its getting cut out tonight !!
11/6/03 1:04 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Thanks, guys!
11/6/03 6:13 PM
dove29 said...
Thanks for writing about the sleeve length! I also have long limbs so it's very helpful. I will be doing the short sleeve version next, though. I need short sleeve shirts that fit!
6/13/09 2:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6241

photo
by: Victoria B

Review