SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2952 (Blouses)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1892 times 
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews: 125 (patterns: 96)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/03 9:35 AM
Last Updated:11/6/03 11:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dove29 said... (6/13/09 2:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for writing about the sleeve length! I also have long limbs so it's very helpful. I will be doing the short sleeve version next, though. I need short sleeve shirts that fit!
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (11/6/03 6:13 PM) Reply
Thanks, guys!
Gina Marie said... (11/6/03 1:04 PM) Reply
Being of above averga eheight myself I am gratefull for your review !! I have this pattern and I htink its getting cut out tonight !!
Mollykat said... (11/6/03 12:04 PM) Reply
Great looking shirts
lwilsonnh said... (10/5/03 6:17 PM) Reply
Excellent review! Thank you so much for the detailed comments. I'll have to get this pattern.
Evatgirl73 said... (10/5/03 1:20 PM) Reply
Excellent review, very helpful!!! The shirts came out really nice, I especially like the blue "suede" one!
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (10/5/03 10:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for ya'll's nice comments. I had fun yesterday afternoon tearing out pages from the J.Jill, Chico's and Talbot's catalogs for inspirational ideas, incarnations and variations for the blouse! :-)
CarolynGM said... (10/4/03 1:33 PM) Reply
Thank you for an excellent review. I'm also tall and have similar fitting problems. I especially appreciate your fix for underarm "droopiness" which I frequently experience. I will try your technique of lowering the armhole on my next shirt.
Georgene said... (10/4/03 12:59 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tip on the Frankenstein walk: I find that annpying tightness sometimes, I'll have to try your test. Nice job of pattern adjustment, I like your bias cuff trim.
Sherril Miller said... (10/4/03 12:35 PM) Reply
What a wonderful wardrobe staple. Every woman needs a great shirt pattern. KWIK SEW can usually be counted on to sew up a winner. I love the brown suede---and from WW, no less. I have to go get this pattern. I can see shirt jackets in wovens (tencel?) for my "teacher" uniform made with this pattern.
Janet D said... (10/4/03 11:18 AM) Reply
Excellent review. I love the bias pocket & cuff trim - little details add so much character to a basic shirt. Beautiful job!
Mini said... (10/4/03 11:02 AM) Reply
This is a helpful review for taller women. Anyoone who is taller (or shorter) than what the fashion industry considers "average" will have a hard time buying blouses that fit. Cindy, these patterns are drafted for a 5'6" misses' figure. They do need to adjusted for taller or shorter women, but are well worth the small amount of time this takes. I am 5'4" and love the proportions of Kwik Sew. You might consider using your high bust measurement when tracing a size for your shoulders and upper body. Most women with narrow or average shoulders will get a les oversized fit this way.
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (10/4/03 10:34 AM) Reply
CindyK-Go for it! I think any adjustments would be easy to go up or down! I was surprised how much I had to add, so it probably leans more towards petite people.
CindyK said... (10/4/03 9:45 AM) Reply
Great complete review. Love the plaid shirt!! I have this pattern and haven't made it yet. I'm under 5 feet -- with some downsizing, do you think it will work for someone short too?
Julia Graham said... (10/4/03 9:44 AM) Reply
Great review, very thorough. KS patterns are just about perfect, I think. Glad you had such success!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Simplicity 7274

photo
by: iridaea

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details