Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 970 (loose-fitting pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 412 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/09 7:39 PM
Last Updated:1/4/09 8:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Annette, your pants are so well made. It is such a shame they didn't fit like you wanted them to. I STILL think you can cut that waistband off and do a couple of darts in the back. They look MUCH better than you think they do. Thank you for the very thorough and honest review! I think I feel more badly than you do that these pants didn't work out.
1/4/09 7:52 PM
persevering said...
Hi Annette, Thank you for your explanatory review and tip - I hope you use these pants - they look good to me - and I love real pockets that are functional, which yours are. Your work and describing it is inspirational!
1/4/09 8:25 PM
Mermie said...
Annette, your review is excellent, as per usual. I think these pants look nice on you. Oh, and your review is quite funny too! I have read all 12 pocket steps and your tutorial is very helpful.
1/4/09 8:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
These pants look AWESOME!!! I really like the pockets!! Your reviews are always so funny and informative!! I can't BELIEVE Mom called you a WEENIE!! I still think you should take her advice and make the adjustments she suggested!! I'm glad you're going to try them again!!
1/4/09 9:42 PM
HLT said...
Wow! 6:30am huh! I think that the side view proves that they are worth a try...again. Front patch pocket? I call it a coin pocket. Potato/Patata. Believe me I'm no expert in the pants arena! LOL :) Thanks for this very informative review.
1/4/09 11:54 PM
Athene said...
I always think of you as the jacket girl, but you make great pants too. So sorry that you are not completely happy with them. Your review makes me want to buy the pattern - I like the idea of all the pattern pieces (including the pockets) being graded according to size.
1/5/09 1:08 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great pants and review. Especially helpful to me at this point, as I'm trying to "figure out" pants. Very impressive for something made during an all-nighter.
1/5/09 7:51 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I like them. I tend to like pants that come to my waist. I couldn't even begin to suggest alternatives to fixing the problem though. I have this pattern on my to-do list after I lose a few pounds. Great motivator! They are really nice!
1/5/09 8:27 AM
Kay Y said...
I think these look good, and that you would like them SO much more if they were made out of a fabric you liked better! Re the pockets, if you are not using a lightweight fabric for the pocket bags (looks like all your pocket pieces were sewn from fashion fabric) you don't need the pocket facing pieces. If I were making these I'd cut G and H (the lining pieces) out of pocketing or something more lightweight than the fashion fabric, and I would ignore piece F, cutting only E out of the fashion fabric as it's the only one that will show. If you understitch the pocket edge on H after you sew it to the pants front and before you topstitch, the pocketing will never show. Hoping you make a next pair, and good luck with them!
1/5/09 9:21 AM
Robin S said...
The little patch/coin pocket is a "watch" pocket. Prior to wrist watches men carried a pocket watch in that pocket. It was chained to a belt loop or their belt so they wouldn't loose the watch. Of course, in those days women didn't wear pants! LOL! Your pants are great will have to try this pattern.
1/5/09 9:47 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great review! Sorry they're not to your taste after all that work (6 in the morning!)
1/5/09 12:29 PM
Karendee said...
I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but Annette, these pants look great. You are absolutely wrong. I guess I told you, didn't I? You are just used to a darker colored looser fit pant. You could also sew these in denim and have a darling pr. of jeans. They would also look great in a nice wool. Don't give up on these. As usual, I loved the detailed review. Your instructions mixed with excellent pics and humor are a delight to read and learn from.
1/5/09 1:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking pants!
1/5/09 6:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Annette, I do hope you end up really liking your new pants because.... your pants are so much cooler than the one on the pattern envelope and even high end RTW! Believe me, I have seen and tried on pants that do not look as cool as yours! Thanks for another very informative review!
1/7/09 0:18 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, you must have so many pairs of pants in your wardrobe and I love how you keep trying out new patterns. Honestly, these look good. From the side, they look absolutely fantastic! That is most definitely one very smart side view. You've invested a great amount of time getting these finished. Wear them with pride.
1/27/09 1:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

KnipMode Magazine 02-2011-12
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/18/11
Read Review

By Hand London Anna Dress
By Hand London Anna Dress

Details
Price: $23.39
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)
Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 36361-1000
photo
Review by JEF on 2/25/09
Read Review

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us