SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5108 (Piazza Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2954 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/03 3:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great review; good information. Look forward to seeing a picture.
10/7/03 3:08 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Really nice jacket! Love that fabric. So glad you had a good result.
10/7/03 3:45 PM
Georgene said...
Wow that sure does look great! I love the way you used both sides of the fabric. What did you use to interline the facing? (Or did you?) P.S. Did you use shoulder pads, as most people do with LH jackets?
10/7/03 3:51 PM
KristenI said...
Looks so nice! I love the fabric too. Looks like you will get a lot of wear out of it. I'll have to check out Waechter’s Silk Shop!
10/7/03 4:42 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your jacket is spectacular - I LOVE the fabric you chose! You know, this is the only LH jacket pattern that I do not own - guess that will be changing soon....
10/7/03 5:03 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A little off-topic (just a little!): what variety of elephant ears are those behind you? They look almost black - just beautiful!
10/7/03 5:04 PM
jlg said...
Georgene, no interlining and no shoulder pads (although the pattern has shoulder pads, I just hate the things on me in casual jackets.) The pattern pieces are (1) upper collar, (2) under collar, (3) side front, (4) back, (5) sleeve, (6) neck facing and (7) shoulder facing. Gigi, it's only fair; you made me buy the Portofino today. The elephant ears are Black Magic, I think. We have to replace them every year here in Memphis (at least where we have them; I have seen elephant ears overwinter when they are up against a house.)
10/7/03 5:23 PM
jlg said...
That's supposed to be (7) shoulder pads.
10/7/03 5:25 PM
Gigi Louis said...
The Portofino will look fab on you! Think I'll ask DMIL about those elephant ears (she is my gardener).
10/7/03 5:45 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This jacket looks just wonderful on you. The fabric and scale of the jacket both suit you very well. Another beautiful project! You and Gigi are both going to cost me $. Now I want a Piazza jacket AND a Portofino dress :)
10/7/03 6:09 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Wow, I love the fabric in this style, it looks beautiful. I have this pattern, but for some reason, I haven't made it up yet. I'll be tracing it out first chance I get!
10/7/03 6:16 PM
Elona said...
Gosh, it's nice to see this one made up! It looks just great on you. Nice job.
10/7/03 6:21 PM
Skymom said...
Wow! Between you and the Piazza, and Gigi's Portofino, I think I'm going to have to place a LHinse order soon. THis looks even better than the jacket envelope. What an excellent fabric choice.
10/7/03 6:25 PM
Pam Z said...
You look wonderful in your new jacket. Great lines & beautiful fabric. Thanks for the new fabric source.
10/7/03 6:39 PM
Georgene said...
This looks great on you without shoulder pads, it must be the nice heavy structured fabric.
10/7/03 6:59 PM
Irene said...
This is a gorgeous jacket and very helpful review. Your fabric selection makes this a nice jacket to wear over a simple dress, as well as with casual pants.
10/7/03 7:01 PM
Tee Jay said...
So, so cute! I am glad I just bought this pattern. I love the two fabrics. How drapey or not drapey do you think this pattern calls for? I am thinking less drapey would be better.
10/7/03 8:35 PM
jlg said...
Tee Jay, I'm not sure. I think it would work with fabrics that are drapey or not. My fabric had very little drape. Thanks everyone for the encouraging comments.
10/7/03 10:32 PM
Diane E said...
This is a beautiful jacket. The fabric is wonderful! I agree that the jacket is close-fitting. In my initial test of this jacket I tried to get away with the XS and just couldn't. My "real" one will be bigger, even thought my bust measurement is 34" and as you said, the XS indicates 35".
10/7/03 11:13 PM
sewnew said...
the fabric and your jacket look great.
10/8/03 10:04 AM
Neefer said...
Just beautiful!
10/8/03 1:56 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
JLG, this pattern compliments you, the fabric choice was wonderful. I love that garden(green with envy for not having one).
10/8/03 2:25 PM
Janet D said...
Awesome.
10/8/03 11:41 PM
Deepika said...
This is a great review. I will refer to it when I do decide to make this pattern (I've been thinking about it). Love your jacket!
10/9/03 6:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now