SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5108 (Piazza Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2963 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/03 3:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
This is a great review. I will refer to it when I do decide to make this pattern (I've been thinking about it). Love your jacket!
10/9/03 6:35 AM
Janet D said...
Awesome.
10/8/03 11:41 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
JLG, this pattern compliments you, the fabric choice was wonderful. I love that garden(green with envy for not having one).
10/8/03 2:25 PM
Neefer said...
Just beautiful!
10/8/03 1:56 PM
sewnew said...
the fabric and your jacket look great.
10/8/03 10:04 AM
Diane E said...
This is a beautiful jacket. The fabric is wonderful! I agree that the jacket is close-fitting. In my initial test of this jacket I tried to get away with the XS and just couldn't. My "real" one will be bigger, even thought my bust measurement is 34" and as you said, the XS indicates 35".
10/7/03 11:13 PM
jlg said...
Tee Jay, I'm not sure. I think it would work with fabrics that are drapey or not. My fabric had very little drape. Thanks everyone for the encouraging comments.
10/7/03 10:32 PM
Tee Jay said...
So, so cute! I am glad I just bought this pattern. I love the two fabrics. How drapey or not drapey do you think this pattern calls for? I am thinking less drapey would be better.
10/7/03 8:35 PM
Irene said...
This is a gorgeous jacket and very helpful review. Your fabric selection makes this a nice jacket to wear over a simple dress, as well as with casual pants.
10/7/03 7:01 PM
Georgene said...
This looks great on you without shoulder pads, it must be the nice heavy structured fabric.
10/7/03 6:59 PM
Pam Z said...
You look wonderful in your new jacket. Great lines & beautiful fabric. Thanks for the new fabric source.
10/7/03 6:39 PM
Skymom said...
Wow! Between you and the Piazza, and Gigi's Portofino, I think I'm going to have to place a LHinse order soon. THis looks even better than the jacket envelope. What an excellent fabric choice.
10/7/03 6:25 PM
Elona said...
Gosh, it's nice to see this one made up! It looks just great on you. Nice job.
10/7/03 6:21 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Wow, I love the fabric in this style, it looks beautiful. I have this pattern, but for some reason, I haven't made it up yet. I'll be tracing it out first chance I get!
10/7/03 6:16 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This jacket looks just wonderful on you. The fabric and scale of the jacket both suit you very well. Another beautiful project! You and Gigi are both going to cost me $. Now I want a Piazza jacket AND a Portofino dress :)
10/7/03 6:09 PM
Gigi Louis said...
The Portofino will look fab on you! Think I'll ask DMIL about those elephant ears (she is my gardener).
10/7/03 5:45 PM
jlg said...
That's supposed to be (7) shoulder pads.
10/7/03 5:25 PM
jlg said...
Georgene, no interlining and no shoulder pads (although the pattern has shoulder pads, I just hate the things on me in casual jackets.) The pattern pieces are (1) upper collar, (2) under collar, (3) side front, (4) back, (5) sleeve, (6) neck facing and (7) shoulder facing. Gigi, it's only fair; you made me buy the Portofino today. The elephant ears are Black Magic, I think. We have to replace them every year here in Memphis (at least where we have them; I have seen elephant ears overwinter when they are up against a house.)
10/7/03 5:23 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A little off-topic (just a little!): what variety of elephant ears are those behind you? They look almost black - just beautiful!
10/7/03 5:04 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your jacket is spectacular - I LOVE the fabric you chose! You know, this is the only LH jacket pattern that I do not own - guess that will be changing soon....
10/7/03 5:03 PM
KristenI said...
Looks so nice! I love the fabric too. Looks like you will get a lot of wear out of it. I'll have to check out Waechter’s Silk Shop!
10/7/03 4:42 PM
Georgene said...
Wow that sure does look great! I love the way you used both sides of the fabric. What did you use to interline the facing? (Or did you?) P.S. Did you use shoulder pads, as most people do with LH jackets?
10/7/03 3:51 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Really nice jacket! Love that fabric. So glad you had a good result.
10/7/03 3:45 PM
AnneM said...
Great review; good information. Look forward to seeing a picture.
10/7/03 3:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Other Gertie\'s Book

photo
by: ccesarik

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

More Info
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

More Info
Simplicity 1919

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review