SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> Kids Fall 2003, 624 (Jacket)

Viewed 1026 times 
Reviewed by:Mbarkle
photo

 
 
About Mbarklestarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 9/26/02
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/03 8:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Oooh, this is darling, Mary. I've been eyeing this material and I love how it looks sewn up.
10/7/03 9:01 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very Cute! I'll have to look for this fabric. Is it washable?
10/7/03 9:06 PM
Georgene said...
Loooove! Oh it is so much fun to sew for kids this age, so satisfying. (jealous, now saddled with grim gothic 13 yr old DD-no fun to make stuff for, she probably won't wear it)
10/7/03 9:33 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Great looking jacket!! Now you have me itching to go get this fabric! ;-)
10/7/03 9:44 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I'm falling behind in reading your reviews Mary - that's a very cute jacket - your son will love it! Went back through your album a bit...feel free to make one of those Panda Bear shirts for me if you're bored one day...I'll send you my measurements...*lol*
10/7/03 11:57 PM
Pam Z said...
Adorable jacket, Mary!
10/8/03 1:29 AM
Mbarkle said...
Thanks everyone. Debbie, the fabric is washable and it came out absolutely unchanged after I prewashed. Yummy stuff. FYI -- fabric.com has a Malden Mills version that is similar in black, royal blue and moss. It's very soft, but more synthetic looking. Also meant to add that I used a walking foot for this project and to comment that I did not use a serger at all. A great project for those who don't have a serger. Jules, you are not behind in reading, I am behind in posting reviews. I had a summer sewing slump, but have been sewing for myself a lot recently. Need to get some pics and reviews done.
10/8/03 7:47 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh Mary now I must run out and find some of this fabric and make myself a much needed jacket. Do you already have an adult pattern similar to this? If so, please tell what pattern it is, I want one too!
10/8/03 9:04 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Hi Mary, you always make such great things for your children and this is one fantastic coat, is the face of the fabric like ultrsasuede? we have that kind of faux lambskin in a store I usually buy my stuff and it costs over 70 's but it was SOOOO nice, even the hairside was lush and felt very good on skin, but the price was something else!
10/8/03 2:39 PM
Mbarkle said...
Hi Mary, I am planning on using a pattern in the Fall Burda Plus for my jacket. Kwik Sew has jacket and vest patterns that came out this fall designed for these fabrics. Marita, this fabric is soft and nice on both sides (not quite as nice as real ultrasuede though). The regular retail is $25 US, not nearly as expensive. What I would like to find is sherpa backed corduroy, which are featured in Burda Kids and Ottobre this fall. Haven't found any US sources and the European ones are too expensive.
10/8/03 9:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. Tempting to try, but not sure I'm ready for it yet-- I've demoted myself back to Beginner. Also, wonder if my Kenmore could handle the fabric...it can be lethargic when faced with thick layers.
10/12/03 4:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 1879

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 156482-1001

photo
by: thestitche...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now