Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: Kids Fall 2003, 624 (Jacket) - Type:Toddlers    printable version
Viewed 1026 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Mbarkle
photo
About Mbarklestarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 9/26/02
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/7/03 8:52 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Oooh, this is darling, Mary. I've been eyeing this material and I love how it looks sewn up.
10/7/03 9:01 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very Cute! I'll have to look for this fabric. Is it washable?
10/7/03 9:06 PM
Georgene said...
Loooove! Oh it is so much fun to sew for kids this age, so satisfying. (jealous, now saddled with grim gothic 13 yr old DD-no fun to make stuff for, she probably won't wear it)
10/7/03 9:33 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Great looking jacket!! Now you have me itching to go get this fabric! ;-)
10/7/03 9:44 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I'm falling behind in reading your reviews Mary - that's a very cute jacket - your son will love it! Went back through your album a bit...feel free to make one of those Panda Bear shirts for me if you're bored one day...I'll send you my measurements...*lol*
10/7/03 11:57 PM
Pam Z said...
Adorable jacket, Mary!
10/8/03 1:29 AM
Mbarkle said...
Thanks everyone. Debbie, the fabric is washable and it came out absolutely unchanged after I prewashed. Yummy stuff. FYI -- fabric.com has a Malden Mills version that is similar in black, royal blue and moss. It's very soft, but more synthetic looking. Also meant to add that I used a walking foot for this project and to comment that I did not use a serger at all. A great project for those who don't have a serger. Jules, you are not behind in reading, I am behind in posting reviews. I had a summer sewing slump, but have been sewing for myself a lot recently. Need to get some pics and reviews done.
10/8/03 7:47 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh Mary now I must run out and find some of this fabric and make myself a much needed jacket. Do you already have an adult pattern similar to this? If so, please tell what pattern it is, I want one too!
10/8/03 9:04 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Hi Mary, you always make such great things for your children and this is one fantastic coat, is the face of the fabric like ultrsasuede? we have that kind of faux lambskin in a store I usually buy my stuff and it costs over 70 's but it was SOOOO nice, even the hairside was lush and felt very good on skin, but the price was something else!
10/8/03 2:39 PM
Mbarkle said...
Hi Mary, I am planning on using a pattern in the Fall Burda Plus for my jacket. Kwik Sew has jacket and vest patterns that came out this fall designed for these fabrics. Marita, this fabric is soft and nice on both sides (not quite as nice as real ultrasuede though). The regular retail is $25 US, not nearly as expensive. What I would like to find is sherpa backed corduroy, which are featured in Burda Kids and Ottobre this fall. Haven't found any US sources and the European ones are too expensive.
10/8/03 9:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful. Tempting to try, but not sure I'm ready for it yet-- I've demoted myself back to Beginner. Also, wonder if my Kenmore could handle the fabric...it can be lethargic when faced with thick layers.
10/12/03 4:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6648
photo
Review by Aya on 8/12/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759 Twinset
photo
Review by LiZ on 5/31/04
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9002 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 9002 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us