SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9520 (large dog vest)

14 more reviews
Viewed 185 times 
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo

 
 
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/09 3:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
debbieB said...
Very cute!I make clothes for my dogs all the time and we live in AZ!
1/5/09 3:23 PM
Kim12469 said...
So cute! I make coats for my Staffie Bulls who freeze too! Love your dogs!
1/5/09 3:42 PM
oracle said...
I imagine your Staffie's must be cold in Minnesota with their short hair! Your two look great in their togs. Moses looks like a sweetheart. I've got a Bouvier whose own thick wooliness keeps him toasty in our Ontario winters. It's in the Summer he complains!
1/5/09 5:34 PM
patsijean said...
Cute and practical for short haired dogs. I bet they appreciate their new jackets. If there is a pattern for small or med dogs, I have a sheltie, I may get the pattern. Duncan needs a raincoat.
1/6/09 1:55 AM
Beek said...
Why not sew for your dogs? My dog is my "kid" and I would sew him anything he wants! Darling coats.
1/6/09 10:28 AM
AuntieShel said...
Twenty below?? Sheesh! So, so cute, and love the models. We borrowed a friend's dog coat once and my husband is "suggesting" I make one for our baby. He's a standard poodle and the snow just want to ball up all over him like it does on wool mittens. Thanks for this review, I'll have to check out this pattern. Hope you and your babies keep warm out there in Minnesota.
1/6/09 11:06 AM
tr1c14 said...
Gorgeous dogs, and nice sweaters too! I have this pattern and am planning to make it for a friend's two new adoptees - lab/pittie mixes that the vet thinks will hit 80lb full-grown. It looks to me like there's still a bit of room in moses's sweater, do you think it could fit a slightly bigger girl?
1/6/09 12:27 PM
amy in mpls said...
Hi Tt!c14, These guys are both pits, and i wonder if your friends dogs have more of a lab upperbody it would totally work! Otherwise there are patterns included that dont have the little doggie sleeves, and just a flap velcro closure. I debated doing those because Moses's upper legs are like giant drummies! Good luck!!! they will love whatever you make them!!
1/6/09 3:03 PM
tr1c14 said...
Thanks for the info :-) I'm thinking it could be iffy with the bigger sister because at six months she is already loaded with pit-style muscle and her giant paws just grew even bigger. The smaller one should be fine though. If/when I get these done, I'll be sure to post pictures. Incidentally, patsijean - Kwik Sew 2813 is pretty similar to this one for smaller dogs. I made one a couple years ago for my partner's papillon/misc mutt cross and it turned out quite nicely.
1/7/09 8:51 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
I have two bullmastiffs and a bulldog and last winter they could have used coats .. :) Cute cute models.
7/1/09 6:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 4074

photo
by: moonshae

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review