SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1405 (Basic Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2975 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews: 115 (patterns: 57)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 101 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/02 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/17/03 4:07 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said... (6/17/03 7:01 PM) Reply
Your reviews teach me so much about pattern adjustment.
Everyday Sewist said... (12/9/02 11:02 AM) Reply
Mini, thanks for your thorough review. Lots of good suggestions for fitting dresses in general. I was also wondering if this style would work for me since I have "stomach curvature." Your review answers that question.
said... (5/29/02 11:48 PM) Reply
Stephaney, you might look at Burda for linen dresses. I also like some of the current Kwik Sew dresses. I mentioned 3053, which I reviewed, but they have others too that are suitable for linen.KS 2716,2786,and 2982 are a few that have simple lines and should be as easy to sew as the Basic Dress. I haven't tried those 3 yet, but they are recommended for linen. To be honest, I am finding as as I work more with Kwik Sew I am liking them even better than Textile Studio. They just seem to fit me better. Their online catalog is www.kwiksew.com.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (5/27/02 3:09 AM) Reply
I'm so glad I read your review. I was thinking about making this pattern out of 100% linen but I think I'll pass after reading your review. I'm looking for something to mimic my Eileen Fisher dresses. Some are straignt falling and some a line. Any suggestions? By the way, I just want to say that I always enjoy reading your reviews. They're so thorough. Just what I need!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (4/30/02 3:33 PM) Reply
I made this in a lightweight knit and was disappointed to find I had just made a sleep shirt!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 4:17 PM) Reply
What a terrific, helpful review!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 12:34 PM) Reply
Deepika, I haven't made this in a knit, so I don't really know. I like to use patterns specifically designed for knits. But from the other people's comments it sounds like it works with the right fabric choice.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 11:33 AM) Reply
Mini, super review! I found this pattern only has enough walking ease in a knit such as matte jersey. In a woven, I add side slits.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 3:26 AM) Reply
Mini, thanks so much for the review. It sounds like this pattern would be perfect for DD#1. She's shaped the same as the pattern, i.e., broad shoulders and narrow hips! Thanks so much.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 0:21 AM) Reply
the knits I've used have been forgiving, is what I was trying to say! Thanks again for your great review!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 0:20 AM) Reply
Mini, your review serves as a model! It is thorough and precise and extremely helpful. I have sewn this pattern, and it has been fine, but with your suggestions it will be so much better the next time I make it! I think the knit fabrics I've used have bee
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (3/30/02 0:13 AM) Reply
Mini, I cannot thank you enough for reviewing this pattern. I want to make this dress but since it seems very straight forward to sew, I just wanted to see if it fits well at all or not. How do you feel about sewing it in a knit?
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2174

photo
by: sandysewin

Review
Newport Tote Paper Pattern

Newport Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Perfect Pouches Paper Pattern

Perfect Pouches Paper Pattern

Pattern Details