SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1405 (Basic Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2974 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/02 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/17/03 4:07 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Your reviews teach me so much about pattern adjustment.
6/17/03 7:01 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Mini, thanks for your thorough review. Lots of good suggestions for fitting dresses in general. I was also wondering if this style would work for me since I have "stomach curvature." Your review answers that question.
12/9/02 11:02 AM
said...
Stephaney, you might look at Burda for linen dresses. I also like some of the current Kwik Sew dresses. I mentioned 3053, which I reviewed, but they have others too that are suitable for linen.KS 2716,2786,and 2982 are a few that have simple lines and should be as easy to sew as the Basic Dress. I haven't tried those 3 yet, but they are recommended for linen. To be honest, I am finding as as I work more with Kwik Sew I am liking them even better than Textile Studio. They just seem to fit me better. Their online catalog is www.kwiksew.com.
5/29/02 11:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm so glad I read your review. I was thinking about making this pattern out of 100% linen but I think I'll pass after reading your review. I'm looking for something to mimic my Eileen Fisher dresses. Some are straignt falling and some a line. Any suggestions? By the way, I just want to say that I always enjoy reading your reviews. They're so thorough. Just what I need!
5/27/02 3:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this in a lightweight knit and was disappointed to find I had just made a sleep shirt!
4/30/02 3:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a terrific, helpful review!
3/30/02 4:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I haven't made this in a knit, so I don't really know. I like to use patterns specifically designed for knits. But from the other people's comments it sounds like it works with the right fabric choice.
3/30/02 12:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, super review! I found this pattern only has enough walking ease in a knit such as matte jersey. In a woven, I add side slits.
3/30/02 11:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, thanks so much for the review. It sounds like this pattern would be perfect for DD#1. She's shaped the same as the pattern, i.e., broad shoulders and narrow hips! Thanks so much.
3/30/02 3:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
the knits I've used have been forgiving, is what I was trying to say! Thanks again for your great review!
3/30/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, your review serves as a model! It is thorough and precise and extremely helpful. I have sewn this pattern, and it has been fine, but with your suggestions it will be so much better the next time I make it! I think the knit fabrics I've used have bee
3/30/02 0:20 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, I cannot thank you enough for reviewing this pattern. I want to make this dress but since it seems very straight forward to sew, I just wanted to see if it fits well at all or not. How do you feel about sewing it in a knit?
3/30/02 0:13 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

More Info