SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1405 (Basic Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2974 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/02 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/17/03 4:07 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mini, I cannot thank you enough for reviewing this pattern. I want to make this dress but since it seems very straight forward to sew, I just wanted to see if it fits well at all or not. How do you feel about sewing it in a knit?
3/30/02 0:13 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, your review serves as a model! It is thorough and precise and extremely helpful. I have sewn this pattern, and it has been fine, but with your suggestions it will be so much better the next time I make it! I think the knit fabrics I've used have bee
3/30/02 0:20 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
the knits I've used have been forgiving, is what I was trying to say! Thanks again for your great review!
3/30/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, thanks so much for the review. It sounds like this pattern would be perfect for DD#1. She's shaped the same as the pattern, i.e., broad shoulders and narrow hips! Thanks so much.
3/30/02 3:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, super review! I found this pattern only has enough walking ease in a knit such as matte jersey. In a woven, I add side slits.
3/30/02 11:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I haven't made this in a knit, so I don't really know. I like to use patterns specifically designed for knits. But from the other people's comments it sounds like it works with the right fabric choice.
3/30/02 12:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a terrific, helpful review!
3/30/02 4:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made this in a lightweight knit and was disappointed to find I had just made a sleep shirt!
4/30/02 3:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm so glad I read your review. I was thinking about making this pattern out of 100% linen but I think I'll pass after reading your review. I'm looking for something to mimic my Eileen Fisher dresses. Some are straignt falling and some a line. Any suggestions? By the way, I just want to say that I always enjoy reading your reviews. They're so thorough. Just what I need!
5/27/02 3:09 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Stephaney, you might look at Burda for linen dresses. I also like some of the current Kwik Sew dresses. I mentioned 3053, which I reviewed, but they have others too that are suitable for linen.KS 2716,2786,and 2982 are a few that have simple lines and should be as easy to sew as the Basic Dress. I haven't tried those 3 yet, but they are recommended for linen. To be honest, I am finding as as I work more with Kwik Sew I am liking them even better than Textile Studio. They just seem to fit me better. Their online catalog is www.kwiksew.com.
5/29/02 11:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Mini, thanks for your thorough review. Lots of good suggestions for fitting dresses in general. I was also wondering if this style would work for me since I have "stomach curvature." Your review answers that question.
12/9/02 11:02 AM
CatherineN said...
Your reviews teach me so much about pattern adjustment.
6/17/03 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-2

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now