SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 001 (Pete men's teeshirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/7/09 10:05 PM
Last Updated:1/15/09 7:25 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TanyaMT said...
Great shirt! I use this pattern for DH too. Re the wrinkles, it looks like maybe you need to make the body of it slightly bigger around? DH found also the armhole on his was a little bit narrow. He is pretty thin and didn't find this in RTW but it worked on the fit of this for us.
1/7/09 10:24 PM
a.me.s said...
I just printed this pattern out earlier today! I couldn't find the instructions either! I'm glad to see it could be made up without them :) Great job!
1/7/09 10:55 PM
katlew03 said...
I wonder if there is too much fabric in the back shoulder area. It looks like the shirt could be pulled up and about 1/2 inch taken off on the outer section of the back shoulder seam, tapering toward the neck? Perhaps you could try folding it out and see if that is it. Maybe a little more room through the upper back, also, depending on how snug DH likes his shirts. The shirt looks nice, though. I like the fabric. I think I have about 6 yards of it somewhere and didn't think about making DH shirts.
1/7/09 11:04 PM
Blooms said...
Well done on making your man a shirt! I'n no expert, but it does look like he could go up a size in the chest? Maybe some of the wrinkles are from sloping shoulders? And maybe some from too high arm pits? When I do a square shoulder adjustment, I raise the arm-holes, so maybe with a sloping shoulder adjustment you would then lower the armholes by the same amount...that way, no adjustment needs to be made to the sleeve piece, and both problems are corrected at once. But again, I'm no expert...I made my man a Burda t-shirt, with wrinkles, and I haven't tried another yet...I think their men's patterns are broad in the shoulder, so as the extra shoulder length drags off the shoulder, it creates a few wrinkles...not that I've tested this with a modified pattern yet.
1/8/09 1:30 AM
Karen6790 said...
Thanks, all. I reprinted the pattern this morning so I could try the sloped shoulder alteration, and maybe I will taper the pattern so that it's also a little wider in the chest. I'll post the new version when I get it done to compare.
1/8/09 10:27 AM
sewtime said...
Your lucky man, this makes up for the neglect he may have felt while you are sewing!! Very nice!
1/8/09 11:13 AM
daff said...
I think the shirt looks great, even with the wrinkles! He definitely deserves something special for getting you a coverstitch, what a man! :)
1/8/09 11:59 AM
Tiner W said...
This looks absolutely professional. Congrats on your new coverstitch machine! I think I'm jealous!
1/8/09 4:11 PM
Kay Y said...
It fits just like a T shirt - these have very horizontal shoulder seams as a rule, and your BF doesn't. If you want it to fit more smoothly, slope the shoulder seams more, moving the entire armscye down as it seems the fit of the sleeve isn't too bad. Nice job - I also downloaded this pattern for my son. It's a good basic.
1/8/09 7:56 PM
Ody said...
Wow! I never thought of making a t-shirt for my dh, but after seeing you make one---why not??? Great job and enjoyed your review.
1/15/09 9:59 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So glad to see you got it to work! Good job!
1/16/09 11:28 AM
crisford said...
Very nice shirt! Great job fitting and sewing this! I like the dark grey one. He must feel well loved every time he wears these.
1/17/09 11:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Other Two Zip Hipster

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now