SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-122 (Saggy Pants)

Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo

 
 
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/09 2:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said... (1/9/09 10:45 AM) Reply
OK, it doesn't appear one can use html in comments--I tried to link the model photo http://www.burdafashion.com/en/burda_World_of_Fashion_12_2008/122_Pants_trousers/1437262-1674744-1674749-1674879.html It looks saggy on her too, which begs the question...did they *intend* to create a low crotch? And why on earth????
nicegirl said... (1/9/09 10:42 AM) Reply
What a disappointment! The pants do have nice details (though when I got the issue I couldn't look past that icky topstitching). It doesn't look like this was operator error--having read your review and going back to look at the photo on the model, it actually appears to be
amy in mpls said... (1/9/09 10:33 AM) Reply
Thank You Kay Y, for your helpful hints and the article for reference. Im determined to try these again. Thanks for the help!
Re Becca said... (1/9/09 10:21 AM) Reply
Very helpful. I am sorry that after all that work you aren't satisfied. I ahve cut a pair of BWOF pants and not sewn them yet, this will make me careful.
squirrellypoo said... (1/9/09 7:54 AM) Reply
Oh that's such a shame. I've made some BWOF front-seamed trousers before with excellent success and I was looking at these to perhaps make in the future. Thanks for the review, even bad reviews are helpful!
Kay Y said... (1/8/09 7:39 PM) Reply
I am wondering if when you took these in, you altered at the CF as well as the side seams? I can't quite figure out how else you could get that extreme flap at the front crotch with a Burda crotch curve. Don't forget, altering the crotch curve by sewing further into the pattern piece makes MORE room for your body, front to back, not less. It's completely counterintuitive but check out the article in Threads from late 2005 - http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/th_122_036.asp.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Pattern Details