SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-122 (Saggy Pants)

Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo

 
 
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/09 2:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
OK, it doesn't appear one can use html in comments--I tried to link the model photo http://www.burdafashion.com/en/burda_World_of_Fashion_12_2008/122_Pants_trousers/1437262-1674744-1674749-1674879.html It looks saggy on her too, which begs the question...did they *intend* to create a low crotch? And why on earth????
1/9/09 10:45 AM
nicegirl said...
What a disappointment! The pants do have nice details (though when I got the issue I couldn't look past that icky topstitching). It doesn't look like this was operator error--having read your review and going back to look at the photo on the model, it actually appears to be
amy in mpls said...
Thank You Kay Y, for your helpful hints and the article for reference. Im determined to try these again. Thanks for the help!
1/9/09 10:33 AM
Re Becca said...
Very helpful. I am sorry that after all that work you aren't satisfied. I ahve cut a pair of BWOF pants and not sewn them yet, this will make me careful.
1/9/09 10:21 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Oh that's such a shame. I've made some BWOF front-seamed trousers before with excellent success and I was looking at these to perhaps make in the future. Thanks for the review, even bad reviews are helpful!
1/9/09 7:54 AM
Kay Y said...
I am wondering if when you took these in, you altered at the CF as well as the side seams? I can't quite figure out how else you could get that extreme flap at the front crotch with a Burda crotch curve. Don't forget, altering the crotch curve by sewing further into the pattern piece makes MORE room for your body, front to back, not less. It's completely counterintuitive but check out the article in Threads from late 2005 - http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/th_122_036.asp.
1/8/09 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Kwik Sew 3940

photo
by: Michelle A...

Review

Pattern

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used No Pattern Used

photo
by: Holmar

Review