Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8513 thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2698 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:01 AM
Last Updated:10/9/03 8:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Karla once again what a fun review! The pants look really great and much better than RTW. This is a good pattern but if I had to modify so much as you had to, I think I'll pass. For me neue mode works. Congrats on your new camera!
10/9/03 8:47 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Great review, Karla! Good 're-design', too! I think I made 3 pairs of Burda pants before I caught on to the 'cut a size too big' rule... I have a couple of pairs that I'm going to go back and try again, in a bigger size...
10/9/03 9:02 AM
Elona said...
<> Ahhh, spoken like a mom: The juxtaposition of the real and the ideal! Good-looking kid pants, though. You put a lot into them.
10/9/03 10:02 AM
cindyann said...
Very amusing review! The pants look great, just like the ones I see all the young people wearing. Glad DD likes them.
10/9/03 11:49 AM
Celeste said...
Funny stuff!! Look really nice!!!
10/9/03 12:29 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, lots of work for these pants! Glad she likes them. You would have to go up yet another size for anyone over 25 to wear those! Thanks for another great review.
10/9/03 1:26 PM
Skymom said...
Great review, great pants! Thanks for the tip about going up a size in Burda pants patterns. I was blaming it on not getting to the gym often enough, but if everyone else is going up a size, too, then I think I'll skip the gym and go to lunch instead.
10/9/03 2:03 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Karla, you always make me laugh my head off, very nice fit, congrats!!
10/9/03 2:12 PM
Deepika said...
Skymom too funny :) Yeah go to lunch instead. Karla I just had a thought, did the pattern suggest a stretch fabric? I am saying this because I don't have to go up a size in Burda.
10/9/03 7:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
"I just had a thought, did the pattern suggest a stretch fabric? I am saying this because I don't have to go up a size in Burda." Unfortunately, no. The pattern suggests cotton and denim. I think the go-up-a-size rule of thumb might have to do with the European idea of close-fitting. Any closer and they would be pantyhose.... I haven't found the same problem in more classic, traditional styles, but I always have to lengthen the back. Those continental ladies must like their pants a lot more "up close and personal" than I do.
10/9/03 7:48 PM
Diane E said...
LOL, Karla, now I know, all along I was making pantyhose! Hey, those pants look great and I agree, if your DD is happy and wears those pants over and over, that's more than enough recompense for hours in the sewing room. Great job and of course, a terrific review. Just the crackup (oops, was that a pun ?) I needed this a.m.
10/10/03 11:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Karla -- please write some more reviews! I laughed my head off reading this one. And it was informative too! I've only made one pair of Burda pants, and they were so tight, I wore them once and then gave them to the Salvation Army. You inspire me to try again.
10/10/03 7:35 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Ooooops.....DD is home for the weekend, so I remeasured important parts of her body (how she loves that...). I am now changing my recommendation to "If you are between sizes, go up to the larger one on close-fitting Burda patterns." Apparently, I have been under the illusion that her size has not changed in 3+ years of late-night partying, study-time snacking and no soccer playing. (I'm darned lucky she could get into those pants at all!)
10/11/03 6:52 PM
Latricia said...
very helpful review and i like your take on this pattern. sounds like what i'm looking for - my favorite khakis are from the gap and i think you recreated them. i am definately going to get this pattern and try your ideas - as i have been unable to find a ready pattern with the design you achieved! way to go and thanks!
10/22/03 11:06 AM
tigergirl said...
Great review - I can see why you got the 'funniest reviewer' (ok, maybe that wasn't it exactly but you know what I mean) award
6/1/12 1:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

ModKid Patterns nina nina
photo
Review by Saint Nolt... on 11/5/10
Read Review

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Onion 5038
photo
Review by Sew Little... on 3/6/07
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2331 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2331 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7167 Pattern
Burda 7167 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us