Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2590 (Claude Montana Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2457 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/03 5:36 PM
Last Updated:10/9/03 5:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Ooo, Nikki! Very cool coat! Great detail on the review, too!
10/9/03 5:44 PM
Tina C said...
Nikki, Great review with helpful comments on techniques you used. The coat is beautiful!
10/9/03 5:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent review and beautiful coat. I have long admired this pattern, so I'm glad to finally see it made up on someone who wears that style so well. And thanks for the warning about narrow-shouldered people.
10/9/03 6:00 PM
Elona said...
Very handsome, Nikki! I haven't seen the Matrix films, but from the photos, I'd say the garments appear to be variants of a traditional priest's cassock, like this one http://www.stannesdamascus.org/c.htm Yours has the severe look, but with the punch of red. Very nice.
10/9/03 6:15 PM
Kris O said...
I'm so happy to read your review! I've read many of your question/comments about this coat on these boards as I've been lurking about and it's great to see your finished project. It's wonderful! Where did you get hair canvas? I've never seen it.
10/9/03 6:25 PM
Nikki said...
Kris O, I've found hair canvas in the interfacings at a number of stores; I'd guess that places that carry suiting type fabrics would be more likely to carry it than Joann. I got lucky, and a store nearby got in a bolt of 72" wide hair canvas for a good price, so I bought a whole lot.
10/9/03 6:33 PM
jlg said...
Nikki, I am so impressed. Your coat is very cool. I love the red fabric.
10/9/03 6:58 PM
Deepika said...
Wow Nikki what a nice coat! And the red really suits you. Thanks for such a helpful review.
10/9/03 7:24 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nikki, that coat is gorgeous. Great review, and I loved the interview! -Ann
10/9/03 8:30 PM
Joos said...
Given the effort, the red coat really looks stunning on you! Thanks for the review.
10/9/03 9:10 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
WOW! That is a beautiful coat, wonderful job!! Very helpful review as well. Again, the coat is outstanding, you should be very proud of yourself!!
10/9/03 9:35 PM
Georgene said...
It came out very beautiful Nikki, how wonderful! I have never attempted anything this complex, with all the pretreating, haircanvas, lining. This is a major piece. Can't wait to see the hat I know you are going to make and wear with this.
10/9/03 10:01 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Fantastic coat, Nikki, and so striking in red - just what you need on a dreary winter's day. You might be interested to know that the same pattern is reviewed in Australian Stitches, a few issues ago, also in a bright red twill. One of the editors made it for her daughter who is living in London.
10/9/03 10:02 PM
Nikki said...
Thanks, everyone! I had actually originally wanted a darker red, but could only find the bright reds in the right weight. Georgene, I just picked up a lovely piece of faux fur the other week and have a hat/scarf/muff ensemble cut out :)
10/9/03 10:21 PM
Irene said...
Beautiful coat, Nikki! You'll be warm and visible on snowy nights near the Charles. Thanks for the thorough review.
10/9/03 11:11 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a fabulous coat you have made, Nikki! I am very happy to see this pattern reviewed, as I bought it a year ago but needed some inspiration to get me started (now I have plenty!)... What is "London shrinking"?
10/10/03 2:43 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Nikki, wonderful!!! it came out so nice, great color and a very good review, now you have a great coat for fall, did you think about putting interlining to it for extra warmth or do you think this will be enough? You do have quite cold winters there if I remember right. Gongrats!!!!
10/10/03 4:18 AM
PattiA said...
Nikki, this is beautiful. But I think you should upgrade your stated skill level to 'Advanced.' Gorgeous, lively color will be fun to wear when the skies are gray.
10/10/03 5:16 AM
monahan said...
Great coat!
10/10/03 7:10 AM
Nikki said...
Marita, this coat is just a fall/spring coat, not heavy enough to wear when it is very cold. Åsa, london shrinking is a way to preshrink wool without washing it - there have been some discussion on the message board describing how to do this, try this link
10/10/03 8:48 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Nikki, you should be so proud, your coat is absolutely stunning!
10/10/03 9:04 AM
Skymom said...
Nikki, you look incredible in that coat--not too happy in the pictures, but very glamourous nonetheless. I love this pattern, and you did such a beautiful job on it. Reshaping the collar was a brilliant idea. Do you think this pattern could be used to make a really warm winter coat? With heavier coating fabric, and maybe a bit of interlining (flannel, perhaps)? I really really need a very warm winter coat, and want something long that will cover most of my clothes. I passed this over because it's a litte more fitted than seemed sensible for a heavy coat.
10/10/03 9:06 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I'm so impressed. This looks great on you, I'm inspired!
10/10/03 9:17 AM
Nikki said...
Skymom, I'm not sure how well the coat would work in a heavy coating fabric, my wool twill was pretty lightweight. Maybe someone who has more experience with coating fabrics will speak up.
10/10/03 11:21 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Wow Nikki! What a breathtaking coat. You did so much work on it. I too have never attempted anything so complex. For Skymom, the pattern recommends ltwt wool coating, felt and twill. Stunning coat Nikki!
10/10/03 5:41 PM
Dale C said...
Oh my! What a wonderful job you've done on that coat! I love it!
10/10/03 10:24 PM
Lisette said...
Just beautiful!!
10/11/03 3:27 PM
Jill Giard said...
Very Matrix! Thanks for the review - I've been eyeing the pattern. Can you enlighten me - London shrink? Do you mean you steamed it? Great review - great coat!
10/13/03 10:54 AM
Jill Giard said...
Oops - please disregard earlier query re: London shrinking! Must read ALL comments...
10/13/03 11:11 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nikki, did you see Simplicity's 5386? It's costumes for Matrix characters with The Coats.
10/13/03 4:02 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Looks complicated. Glad it turned out so well for you. You did a great job!
10/20/03 11:27 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Nikki, I just noticed this review. The coat is stunning! I love the Montana patterns. Your review is very helpful and inspiring too.
11/1/03 11:26 AM
adele said...
Saw the photo and review of this coat a couple of weeks ago and just purchased a pattern of same today. Thanks for the tips!
2/11/04 7:41 PM
xela said...
Although I will never make this coat it is very interesting to read. Nikki is certainly thorough and it is much appreciated. Thank you
6/4/04 9:18 AM
Medeiros said...
Nikki, you're a talented seamstress and have great style. Love the coat. But you should try smiling for the photo! :)
7/6/05 3:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 9772
photo
Review by lsaspacey on 10/22/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 2/19/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3812 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3812 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us