SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8352 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 469 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/09 3:39 PM
Last Updated:1/11/09 5:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Pretty dress and great review. I really wanted to like it better without the belt, but I agree with you that it looks better with one....I think it would look okay with flats though. Thanks for the tip about putting the zip in upside down in the side seam..great idea!
1/11/09 4:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice! The belt definitely enhances the style. You look lovely in it.
1/11/09 4:46 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely dress ! It suits you beautifully. Thanks for sharing :)
1/11/09 4:52 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress. I like it with the belt. It looks great on you.
1/11/09 6:43 PM
Renren said...
I've admired the dress shortly after you posted the review, so I must tell you I think it is lovely. I especially love the richness of the blues.
1/11/09 9:24 PM
lynny said...
All 3 versions looks great on you, the belt, as Schnauzer says, enhances the style.
1/12/09 0:27 AM
Christas said...
Great review! Your dress looks lovely!
1/12/09 0:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely, cool looking dresses for the heat!
1/12/09 6:39 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering! Such a pretty color for you. The belt does do something for the dress. You look lovely! Great review w/good tips. Thanks
1/12/09 9:37 AM
Rosebeee said...
I love the lines on that dress! Great fabric choices, they look wonderful!
1/12/09 11:09 AM
Lunchbucket said...
All 3 dresses are very pretty on you. I think it looks best belted too. I like your use of the bias binding for the facings, think I'll try it next time. Thanks for sharing!
1/12/09 5:51 PM
zaubera said...
thanks so much for your review. I just bought this pattern and was reading through the less-than ample instructions (and they are in German...) and getting a bit overwhelmed. I do have some questions, if you have any time. I love your idea of bias-facings instead of lining the whole dress (less fabric and quicker, right!) and was wondering about the interfacing? I am sure that I see something about interfacing for the lining pieces, but there are no pattern pieces for it (argh) which means figuring it out myself. I already have to add my own seam allowance though and don't relish the thought. So anyway, I am assuming that since you didn't line the dress, you also didn't add any interfacing. Is the interfacing necessary? Anyway, thanks for a wonderful review!
3/17/10 12:56 PM
avatrx said...
This is the style dress I've been looking for! I'm 5'10" and would wear this with flat sandals. Lightweight linen hopefully. I wish it would give the bottom diameter. maybe on the burda site?
6/2/11 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now