Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8352 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 459 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/09 3:39 PM
Last Updated:1/11/09 5:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $8.96  List Price: $11.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Pretty dress and great review. I really wanted to like it better without the belt, but I agree with you that it looks better with one....I think it would look okay with flats though. Thanks for the tip about putting the zip in upside down in the side seam..great idea!
1/11/09 4:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice! The belt definitely enhances the style. You look lovely in it.
1/11/09 4:46 PM
Vonnevo said...
Lovely dress ! It suits you beautifully. Thanks for sharing :)
1/11/09 4:52 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress. I like it with the belt. It looks great on you.
1/11/09 6:43 PM
Renren said...
I've admired the dress shortly after you posted the review, so I must tell you I think it is lovely. I especially love the richness of the blues.
1/11/09 9:24 PM
lynny said...
All 3 versions looks great on you, the belt, as Schnauzer says, enhances the style.
1/12/09 0:27 AM
Christas said...
Great review! Your dress looks lovely!
1/12/09 0:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely, cool looking dresses for the heat!
1/12/09 6:39 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Very flattering! Such a pretty color for you. The belt does do something for the dress. You look lovely! Great review w/good tips. Thanks
1/12/09 9:37 AM
Rosebeee said...
I love the lines on that dress! Great fabric choices, they look wonderful!
1/12/09 11:09 AM
Lunchbucket said...
All 3 dresses are very pretty on you. I think it looks best belted too. I like your use of the bias binding for the facings, think I'll try it next time. Thanks for sharing!
1/12/09 5:51 PM
zaubera said...
thanks so much for your review. I just bought this pattern and was reading through the less-than ample instructions (and they are in German...) and getting a bit overwhelmed. I do have some questions, if you have any time. I love your idea of bias-facings instead of lining the whole dress (less fabric and quicker, right!) and was wondering about the interfacing? I am sure that I see something about interfacing for the lining pieces, but there are no pattern pieces for it (argh) which means figuring it out myself. I already have to add my own seam allowance though and don't relish the thought. So anyway, I am assuming that since you didn't line the dress, you also didn't add any interfacing. Is the interfacing necessary? Anyway, thanks for a wonderful review!
3/17/10 12:56 PM
avatrx said...
This is the style dress I've been looking for! I'm 5'10" and would wear this with flat sandals. Lightweight linen hopefully. I wish it would give the bottom diameter. maybe on the burda site?
6/2/11 8:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Violette Field Threads Emmaline Maxi Dress
photo
Review by newmama on 6/23/12
Read Review

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-132
photo
Review by SewingandS... on 1/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us