Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Dress Shop: Fitted Pants - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2219 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nancy Peters
photo
About Nancy Peters
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/02 3:25 PM
Last Updated:11/6/04 10:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nancy, they look really good!
3/30/02 3:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nancy, I especially like the fit and placment of the waistband for you! Many patterns put that waistline really high up, which often makes the hips look bigger.
3/30/02 4:27 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Doggone it. I was going to be SO good and not spend any more money on patterns for a while. Good thing that wasn't a New Year's resolution - just a random, momentary thought. I gotta try these...Thanks, Nancy. They look great!
3/30/02 5:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Good going, Nancy, those pants do indeed fit you well! For future reference, they do make washable felt tip makers...big grin..
3/30/02 6:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Nancy, your new pants are terrific and your review has great details. Does this pattern use the "body depth" measurement that DS folks talk about?
3/30/02 11:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nancy, I not only are they good looking pants, you did an excellent job. I think I will try these. I really like the waist band.
3/30/02 11:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nancy the pants are a really good fit for you. Great job.
3/31/02 0:34 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes Diane, it uses the body depth measurement. You stand in a corner, put your butt against one wall, mark the other wall at your front, not including the thigh (mine sticks out a bit). This gives you the depth of your crotch. We came up with 10 1/2" The pants didn't fit quite the way I wanted (too full in the front) so I reduced it 1/4" and here you have the end result.
3/31/02 12:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the compliments! For the waistband, I decided I wanted a facing instead of a waistband. That was easy enough. I just traced the top and pivoted out the darts.I ran into a snafu when I came to the lapped zipper. The facing covered it. With a lot of clipping and fiddling with the fold back, I finally got it to work. Would you believe my perfectionist husband had the audacity to tell me the right side was higher than the left side! Even I couldn't see a big difference. Thank God he doesn't sew! Anyone know of good directions for doing the faced waistband?
3/31/02 12:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wonderful fit, Nancy! Isn't it great to have a pattern that FITS! thanks for posting.
4/3/02 1:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nancy, I like the petersham ribbon facing technique from Power Sewing by Sandra Betzina. It works beautifully every time!
6/14/02 2:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nancy, those are very professional-looking pants, and they flatter your figure beautifully!
6/14/02 5:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you so much Sandra. I made them in this heavy weight cotton/nylon fabric aging in my stash. The fabric would be better for luggage than pants.:) I think if I use a better fabric I will like them even better. And Jane, yes I think I will give that technique a try.
6/14/02 6:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi! I have dress shop and I love the pants fit but I had to fiddle with the other patterns as well. Also, Idid not have good luck with tech support. And the owner was downright rude to me when I asked questions. I had a Canon printer at the time and dress shop would not work with that printer. I rarely use it anymore but it is fun to fool around with.
10/21/02 4:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Norma Hyman said...
Nancy: I'm no expert on Pattern Drafting, but have altered patterns and copied from clothing for 50 years; I am attempting to get into drafting; I recently purchased the "FabricCad" program, and I think it is quite similar to the Pattern Maker program, but more inexpensive (but definitely not "cheap"). I'm still learning the basics of the program and haven't gotten into the drafting portion yet, but hope to soon. Their site is www.FabricCad.com. I am not familiar with Garment Designer - what is their website?
1/13/03 0:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us